Top Ten / 2017 Books I’m Excited About

Top Ten / 2017 Books I'm Excited About
It doesn’t feel like that long ago that I was writing about the top ten young adult and middle grade novels I was excited about for 2016. Here another ten that I’m looking forward to this year!

FEBRUARY
All About Mia 
by Lisa Williamson
I adored The Art of Being Normal – about teenagers David Piper and Leo Denton – and All About Mia is one I’ll definitely be picking up very soon! A brilliant look into the mind of a teenager stuck in the middle.

MARCH
Forever Geek by Holly Smale
It’s almost time for the final book in the Geek Girl series. It’s been four years (I can’t quite believe it) since I picked up the first book. In many ways, my life’s quite different to how it was in early 2013, and this series has been with me the whole way!

MAY
Release by Patrick Ness
Of course the new Patrick Ness had to be on my list! Inspired by Mrs Dalloway and Judy Blume’s Forever, Release is one day in the life of Adam Thorn, 17. It’s a big day. Things go wrong. It’s intense, and all the while, weirdness approaches…


Truth or Dare by Non Pratt
I’m a huge fan of Non Pratt! As well as being a Twitter buddy, I loved her novels Trouble, Remix and Unboxed and so, of course, I’ll be reading Truth or Dare as soon as I can. Told in a dual narrative voice, Truth or Dare is about teenagers Claire and Sef.

JUNE
The Name They Gave Us by Emery Lord
In 2016 I read When We Collided and it instantly became one of my favourite books of the year. I still haven’t picked up Emery Lord’s previous books (please make me do it this year!), but I’ll definitely be reading The Name They Gave Us. A vibrant, compelling story of love, loss, faith, and friendship.

AUGUST
Freshers by Lucy Ivison & Tom Ellen
I cannot wait for yet another amazingly hilariously and realistic contemporary novel from my favourite duo. In the meantime, I’m tempted to re-read Lobsters and Never Evers, but this has the potential to be my favourite yet. Freshers follows two protagonists through that tumultuous first year of university.

SEPTEMBER
Inviticus by Ryan Graudin
Wolf By Wolf
is one of my favourite books – about Yael, who is on a mission to join the famous Axis Tour, a treacherous motorcycle race across the world – and so I’m excited to see what Ryan Graudin does next. Time flies when you’re plundering history.

Solutions and Other Problems
by Allie Brosh
Hyperbole and a Half made me laugh out loud. Although it tackles depression, it’s not depressing. I’m excited to see if Allie can do the same in Solutions and Other Problems.

The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James
After enjoying The Next Together, I’m looking forward to Lauren James’ next novel, set in space. Can you fall in love with someone you’ve never met, never even spoken to – someone who is light years away?

?
Fall Boys & Dizzy in Paradise by Jandy Nelson
I thought The Sky is Everywhere was an incredible story (and it’s one of the few books that has made me cry). I also enjoyed I’ll Give You the Sun, so Fall Boys & Dizzy in Paradise (an intriguing title) was always going to make the list. Nelson follows a trio of siblings—two boys and a girl—whose father disappeared years earlier under mysterious circumstances. 

And lastly, I haven’t included the fantastic YA contemporary novels A Quiet Kind of Thunder or Wing Jones because I’ve read (and loved) them already – definitely put them on your TBR!

Are any of these on your 2017 wishlist?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten / 2017 Books I’m Excited About

  1. I didn’t know that Allie Brosh was releasing a second book!!! That has made me very very excited :-D

  2. Argh they all have such gorgeous covers! I think the book I’m most looking forward to this year is Caraval but luckily I don’t have to wait long!

  3. I forgot about the new Allie Brosh…I think it was meant to be out last year? Because I remember including it on a list but not this year’s!

  4. I’ve only heard of Forever Geek from your list, and I can’t wait to read it! The series is so adorable, and I almost don’t want it to end! I hope you enjoy all these reads!☺️

  5. I’m so excited about Freshers! I had no idea it was coming out this year – would have definitely made it to my most anticipated reads of 2017 post had I known!

  6. I cannot wait for Truth or Dare, or for All About Mia. I’m also so excited for Margo and Me by Juno Dawson. It comes out in February!

  7. Really looking forward to the final Geek Girl (though also sad it’s the last one!) and Truth or Dare sounds brilliant!

  8. I’m really looking forward to Fall boys & dizzy in Paradise too😃

  9. I thought The Art of Being Normal was a great book too. I’m looking forward to seeing how All About Mia measures up! I’ve started to make my way (very slowly) through Patrick Ness’s books so I’m loooking forward to adding another book to my tbr list in May!

Leave a Comment

