Things to Do in Copenhagen (Part 2)

Last month, I had a wonderful time with fellow blogger Debbie, visiting the beautiful city of Copenhagen in Denmark. Here’s part two of ten things we enjoyed and would suggest you give a go too – read part one here

A post shared by Stacey (@prettybooks) on


Go on… a canal tour
I’ve been on canal tours in Bruges and Amsterdam, so it was a ‘must do’ for me in Copenhagen! It’s a great way to explore the city, especially if you’re exhausted. You can just sit there and soak up the sun and sights (in my case, a little too much sun – I got burned!). We passed The Little Mermaid statue, the Black Diamond (Royal Library), Nyhavn and lots more.

A post shared by Stacey (@prettybooks) on


Eat at… Höst, Granola and the Andersen Bakery
If you’re not a foodie, look away now. One of the best things about going on holiday, in my opinion, is eating lots of food. We treated ourselves to a stunning Nordic tasting menu at Höst (six fancy dishes, from lobster sauce and venison to lemon & thyme juice and beer ice cream), ate an amazing ‘sweet plate’ breakfast at Granola (including a mini cinnamon snail and chocolate spread) and had delicious hot chocolate & cakes at the Andersen Bakery. I wish I could do it all over again!

A post shared by Stacey (@prettybooks) on


Visit… the National Museum
The National Museum is a bright and airy (free) museum! I enjoyed visiting the toys exhibition, wandering around old dollhouses and vintage toys, and exploring the modern history of Denmark. There’s an impressive amount of museums in Copenhagen and sadly we couldn’t visit them all. We also took a trip to Christiansborg Palace and visited the royal kitchens and palace ruins, but unfortunately the lift to the tower was broken so we didn’t get to go up. VisitCopenhagen.com is a superb resource that I found immensely helpful when planning our trip.

A post shared by Stacey (@prettybooks) on


Eat at… Slice of San Francisco
All right, so it’s not Danish, but it serves the most amazing cheesecake in Copenhagen. It’s owned by San Franciscan Miriam, who bakes all the cheesecakes herself. She also makes an incredible chicken burrito, which we shared before tucking into creamy cheesecake – I had cherry and cinnamon compote and Debbie had blueberry-rose. It was a lovely place to relax before heading to the Tivoli Gardens. But trust me, don’t go on a spinning ride straight after! Check out scandinaviastandard.com for a longer review and more mouth-watering photos.

A post shared by Stacey (@prettybooks) on


Visit… Christiania

If you’re on a budget, simply walking around the streets of Copenhagen is a treat in itself. Christiania was a neighbourhood that I was told I must visit, and I’m glad we did. It’s Copenhagen’s famous freetown, super quirky and chilled – possibly due to there being hash dealers everywhere! That’s not to say it’s legal, however. It was fascinating to walk around, but you need to follow the rules, such as not taking photos inside the community or running (it causes panic!). Despite this, we felt safe exploring the area.

A post shared by Stacey (@prettybooks) on


I loved Copenhagen so much and would definitely go back. You can never have too many cinnamon snails.

8 thoughts on “Things to Do in Copenhagen (Part 2)

  1. The pictures are beautiful. Hopefully I’ll be able to visit Copenhagen soon and see everything for myself

  2. WOW! Your pictures are so good! Makes me want to go there right now :) Thanks for sharing!

  3. Aw, Stacey I loved this post! I’m sure that sunburn was worth it ;) As for the foodie stuff, I couldn’t agree more. The best thing about travel (apart from being in a new city and exploring) is trying new food. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I miss the food I had in England and Germany now that I’m back in the US. Our stuff is just too processed!

  4. So glad you had such a great time!! I need to track down that book cafe next time I go back – looks amazing!

Leave a Comment

