Book Reviews: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow & The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine

Book Review: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow & The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine


Series: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow (#1-2)
Shelved:
Children’s fiction (mystery)
Buy: Hive
More: Goodreads

I’m a big fan of middle grade mysteries, so The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow was pretty high on my TBR. I’ve always enjoyed ornate department stores. I love taking my time, carefully discovering the delights each floor has to offer (I must admit, the food hall is a firm favourite). Sinclair’s, a luxury department store in London’s Piccadilly, is the perfect setting for Sophie Taylor’s story.

Sophie is an orphan and young employee at Sinclair’s, determined to track down the violent thief who’s stolen a priceless clockwork sparrow from the store. But an even bigger mystery emerges while on her adventures, accompanied by new best friends Lillian, Billy and Joe. And The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth takes us out of the extravagance that is Sinclair’s and onto the impoverished and grimy streets of early 1900s East End of London, where danger lurks around every corner – particularly the formidable Baron’s Boys, villains we’re introduced to in the first book.

Book Review: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow & The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine WoodfineKatherine Woodfine’s series is an utter delight, with its intricate Edwardian setting and colourful characters. I loved devouring stories of bonbons and iced buns, beautiful dresses and hats – and even the rich, snobby customers! The incredible setting mixed with our brave and intelligent protagonists make for two marvellous stories. I loved accompanying Sophie and Lil as they cracked codes, duped debutantes, and solved conundrums, secrets and puzzles – not bad for a day’s work! And we meet many more lovable – and even odious – characters along the way.

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow series is perfect for fans of Enid Blyton and Murder Most Unladylike. Stay tuned for The Mystery of the Painted Dragon – I’m looking forward to spending more time at Sinclair’s!

Published: June 2015 & February 2016
Publisher: Egmont

Behold the Pretty Books! / January & February Book Haul (Part 2)Book Review: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow & The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine

13 thoughts on “Book Reviews: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow & The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine

  1. I ought to read more middle grades books. All I do is stare at them whenever I find one in stores. =p I love the setting of this one.

  2. Abby | ThePandaBookBlog.wordpress.com

    I, too,am in love with middle grade books! I find them amusing and it literally takes me back to my childhood. Great review! Hoping to hear more from you soon! :)

  3. I have the first one in the series, and it’s on my To Buy in England GR shelf (yes, I made a shelf) for when I’m back in June. It looks so delightful and I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  4. I miss middle grade mysteries! Adult mysteries nowadays only contain murders or abductions. Bring back cookie thieves LOL!

  5. I haven’t read a mystery novel in ages! :o you’ve just put me right back in the mood! :D

  6. These books look so good. I will have to check them out. I just discovered your site. I work in a small, school library in Montgomery, Alabama. I’m just getting started in the blogging world and am enjoying reading about all of the good literature out there both old and new.

  7. […] it properly next year, but it’s one you won’t want to miss! Sporty girls ftw! The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine I loved accompanying Sophie and Lil as they cracked codes, duped debutantes, […]

Leave a Comment

