Illumicrate Unboxing: February

Illumicrate Unboxing: February
I unboxed the first Illumicrate – a bookish subscription box based in the UK – back in November. As it’s a quarterly subscription, February means it’s time for a new crate! I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t received their box yet, so click ‘continue reading’ to see what’s inside.

Illumicrate Unboxing: February
I was especially excited to get my hands on the February box. My book blogger friends and I headed over to Daphne’s (i.e. owner of Illumicrate) house, also known as Illumicastle, to help pack over 200 boxes. We survived the treacherous ordeal (I sustained multiple injuries during the packing process) on pizza and pop music.

Illumicrate Unboxing: FebruaryIllumicrate Unboxing: FebruaryIllumicrate Unboxing: February
I helped pack the gorgeous A Darker Shade of Magic candles – there’s one for all four Londons (red, black, grey and white). I got white and it smells like fresh sheets. Daphne worked closely with Simple Candle Co. to come up with each scent. A Darker Shade of Magic is a book that everyone seems to adore, so it’s high up on my TBR. I also love this stunning bookshelves patterned pencil case  from Elena Illustration (plus her beautiful business card and sticker) and pencils from Pobble and Ping that read:

‘A good book has no ending’
‘Read. Write. Repeat.’
‘I’d rather be reading’

Illumicrate Unboxing: February
As well as these lovely goodies, we also received fun bookmarks from Beedoo – a must for anyone with a OTP.  They design lots of other amazing bookmarks (including an adorable BB-8 one), so definitely check them out. I collect bookmarks and so I’m always happy to receive more!

Illumicrate Unboxing: FebruaryIllumicrate Unboxing: FebruaryIllumicrate Unboxing: February
Of course, the main feature in any bookish subscription box is the book. This month we received Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch, one of Daphne’s favourite fantasy novels. It’s one I’ve been hearing a lot about on Twitter. Susan promises ‘epic action, really high stakes, diverse lead characters, a huge world, and tense (tense!) romance(s)’. Hurrah! It also came with a bookplate signed by the author.

Illumicrate Unboxing: February
We also got a few pretty extras in this box, including an exclusive Truthwitch bookmark designed by Daydreaming Designs, The It Girl tote bag (not pictured – long story!), The Dark Days Club bookmarks and badges, The It Girl bookmark, a lemonade recipe from My Life Next Door, and a message to Illumicrate subscribers from Susan Dennard.

Illumicrate Unboxing: February

And that it! February was another excellent month for Illumicrate, full of fab bookish goodies. The next Illumicrate will be shipping in May and I hope that we’ll get to be IllumiInterns once again. Head over to the website and my first Illumicrate post to find out more. Sign up to the newsletter to be notified when the next box is available to buy! You can also find Illumicrate over on Twitter and Instagram.

11 thoughts on “Illumicrate Unboxing: February

  1. This is a great box!!!! I’m already 95% certain of joining.

    Katie | http://www.bookabie.co.uk

  2. This box was so cool! I wish I got this month!

  3. Illumicrate looks awesome! Truthwitch looks so good and candles are my fave <3

    Great pics!

  4. Thank you for the wonderful feedback. You have taken some beautiful pictures.

  5. tumbling into wonderland

    These look so cute! I am really tempted!

  6. […] το Uppercase, το The Bookish Drop, το Bookriot, to Fairyloot, to The Bookworm Box, το Illumicrate, The Best Damn Book […]

  7. […] unboxed the previous Illumicrates – a bookish subscription box based in the UK – back in February and November. As it’s a quarterly subscription, May means it’s time for a new crate! I don’t […]

  8. […] το Uppercase, το The Bookish Drop, το Bookriot, to Fairyloot, to The Bookworm Box, το Illumicrate, The Best Damn Book […]

Leave a Comment

