Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul
Here are the books I acquired in October!

I went on a mini book shopping spree for Books Are My Bag – an amazing nationwide campaign to celebrate bookshops – and bought Chris Riddell’s Goth Girl and the Wuthering Fright. I attended an event with Chris Riddell and Emily Gravett at Waterstones Piccadilly, and it was lovely to hear how they both started out. I also bought Draw It! Colour It! Creatures, featuring many of my favourite children’s illustrators. And lastly, I bought a copy of Waterstones’ spooky October rediscovered classic, We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

I attended a brilliant Regency Tea at Walker Books and heard from three fascinating authors: Nat Luurtsema, Alison Goodman & Richard Kurti. We were given copies of Maladapted, Hour of the Bees, 20 Questions for Gloria and The Dark Days Club. I’m also particularly excited to read Nat’s hilarious story, Goldfish.

I was also sent a few books for review: Six of Crows and This Raging Light,  both highly recommended to me. And I borrowed Harper and the Scarlet Umbrella from Jim. It looks adorable, illustrated by the lovely Laura Ellen Anderson!

Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul
From NetGalley, I downloaded Beautiful Broken Things, A Little Life, Number 11 and Fortune Smiles. I’ve been intrigued by A LittleLife  since it was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and I’ve heard amazing things about Beautiful Broken Things from early reviewers.

I can’t wait to get stuck in! Have you read any of these?

Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul

19 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul

  1. Wow I LOVE that cover of We Have Always Lived In The Castle! :)

  2. Beautiful book haul, the spine the the Dark Days Club is really pretty!

  3. What wonderful books! They all look like ultimate treasure to a book hoarder (like me)

  4. I’ve not read any of them, but they sure look gorgeous!

  5. All of these books look beautiful! I downloaded Beautiful Broken Things from Netgalley too, and I’m really excited to read it. It sounds right up my street – I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for sharing these, Stacey ♥

    ~Denise @ The Bibliolater

  6. We Have Always Lived in the Castle may very well be my favorite book of all time. It’s such a great read! Nice haul. :D

  7. Oh I want to read ‘Six of Crows’. Seems that everyone is reading it hahaha

  8. Oooohh, I have always wanted to read «We have always lived in the Castle»! Will definitely put it on my shopping list!!

  9. Pretty books indeed! The only book on your list I’ve heard of is Six of Crows, but they all look very good! I look forward to hearing your thoughts. :-)
    -Amy

Leave a Comment

