Book Review: Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Book Review: Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Series: Wolf By Wolf (#1)
Shelved:
Young adult fiction (historical, fantasy)
Buy: Hive
More: Goodreads

Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them-made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same. Her story begins on a train.

I was invited to a blogger tea earlier this year to meet Ryan Graudin and hear all about her upcoming book. I left feeling super excited to read it, and so I should have – Wolf By Wolf is now one of my favourite books of the year.

Wolf By Wolf is set in 1956, Germany – or, Germania, Capital of the Third Reich. It has been 10 years since the Third Reich and Imperial Japan won the Second World War. As a young child, Yael was experimented on in Auschwitz and she developed the incredible ability to transform her appearance. As a teenager, she is a member of a determined rebel group. Yael is on a mission: to join the famous Axis Tour, a treacherous motorcycle race across the world, from Berlin to Tokyo – with one aim. She must win the race, dance with Hitler at the Victors’ ball – and kill him.

Wolf By Wolf is a clever and impressive combination of alternate history and fantasy. Ryan Graudin clearly did a lot of research, yet it never feels like a history lesson – only one girl’s thrilling attempt to seek revenge on those who destroyed her life. Yael is a brave and intelligent heroine, and one I was supporting all the way. She has five tattooed wolves, each one a memory of someone she has lost. To enter the race, Yael alters her appearance to mimic blonde-haired, blue-eyed Adele Wolfe, the only previous female Victor. I loved discovering Yael’s past and the story behind each of the wolves. Wolf By Wolf seamlessly moves between the Yael’s heartbreaking backstory as a frightened young girl to her exhilarating and dangerous present as she pretends to be Germany’s most famous female rider.

As the race progressed, I was on edge to discover whether Yael would complete her mission, especially as she began to develop relationships with her fellow riders, and make enemies of some. I sat in a tube station and refused to leave until I reached the end because I couldn’t bear to put it down. Wolf By Wolf throws us into the dusty path of a stunning, fast-paced and well-written journey. All I wanted to do upon finishing was tell other people about it. Even if you’re not usually into contemporary historical fiction or fantasy, this will be one book that a lot of people will be talking about this autumn, so don’t miss out. I’ll definitely be picking up her first book, The Walled City, soon!

Published: 20th October 2015 (US) 5th November 2015 (UK)
Publisher: Little, Brown Book for Young Readers (US) Indigo (UK)
Pages: 400
Source: Thank you to the publisher for providing this book for review!

Illumicrate UnboxingIllumicrate Unboxing

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin

  1. That’s book seems so cool! I haven’t read a book with dimmed alternate history points. Great review!

  2. I really want to read this book. It’s nice to know that the author doesn’t make it seem like a history lecture! Nice review :D

  3. […] in the first Illumicrate. We received one of my favourite books of the year, Ryan Graudin’s Wolf By Wolf. It’s an impressive book and one I’m glad that another few hundred people will get to […]

  4. […] Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin A clever and impressive combination of alternate history and fantasy. Yael is brave and intelligent. Wolf By Wolf seamlessly moves between Yael’s heartbreaking backstory to her exhilarating and dangerous present as she pretends to be Germany’s most famous female motorcyclist […]

  5. I cant wait to read this book I have heared so much about this book but I cant seem to find it in stores. this is the first book I have heard of a book like this. thank you so much for reading this comment.

  6. Ooo I recently added this book to my TBR list. Thanks for your review on it!
    P.S. You’ve been nominated for the Book Fangirling Blog Award!! Have fun! (:
    https://pooledink.wordpress.com/2016/01/05/the-book-fangirling-blog-award/

  7. […] Prettybooks’ review: “Wolf By Wolf is a clever and impressive combination of alternate history and fantasy.” […]

  8. I absolutely LOVE this book! It quickly became one of my favourites after reading it with its shape-shifting assassin, WWII setting and intriguing plot! I really loved how seamlessly Ryan Graudin moved between the two time lines as well. Great review!

  9. […] Wolf By Wolf was one of my favourite books of last year so I absolutely had to download Iron to Iron, a novella that takes place before the events of Wolf By Wolf. […]

  10. […] see what’s inside (and see my previous unboxing posts here). We were given Ryan Graudin’s Wolf by Wolf in the first ever Illumicrate and this month Daphne surprised those who have remained subscribed […]

Leave a Comment

