Book Review: One by Sarah Crossan

Book Review: One by Sarah Crossan

Shelved: Young adult fiction (contemporary)
Buy: Hive
More: Goodreads

I read Apple and Rain, my first novel by Sarah Crossan, last year. It was then that I discovered she had a knack for beautiful contemporary writing. I was particularly excited about reading One, although I wasn’t prepared for how amazing it actually was. I may have been a little apprehensive had I known that it was written in free verse, but it would have been a tragedy if I decided not to read it. Although One is written as a collection of short poems, you can read it either as poetry or as a standard novel, with each poem acting as a new chapter. This is how I read it. I found myself going back to certain passages and re-reading them because they were so poignant.

But let me start from the beginning. One is the wonderful story of sixteen-year-old twins, Grace and Tippi. They’re best friends as well as sisters – and they’re conjoined. As if life isn’t difficult enough, they must leave their sheltered homeschooled world and step into a school full of curious students and constant stares and whispers. It is difficult not to become emotionally invested in the twins as soon as we meet them; we want to protect them from everyone else. And yet it’s a joy to see them make new friends – especially fellow students Yasmeen and Jon – and discover who they are, not just as twins, but as individual girls.

One only takes a few hours to read and in that time you’ll come to know both Grace and Tippi well – and watch them as they make the most difficult decision of their lives. But they don’t just have each other to think about because their younger sister Dragon has her own struggles, too. Sarah Crossan’s intense story is relatable and heartbreaking. It is elevated by her sensational writing, where every word is carefully considered and owns its place on the page. It’s like nothing you’ve ever read before.

One is a wonderfully moving and breathtaking story of love, identity and sisterhood  – this is one young adult contemporary novel you need to read this year!

Published: 26th August 2015 (UK) 15th September 2015 (US)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books (UK) Greenwillow Books (US)
Pages: 448

Book Review: One by Sarah Crossan

Book Review: One by Sarah CrossanBook Review: One by Sarah CrossanBook Review: One by Sarah CrossanBook Review: One by Sarah CrossanBook Review: One by Sarah CrossanBook Review: One by Sarah Crossan

16 thoughts on “Book Review: One by Sarah Crossan

  1. Ooooh it sounds really good. I might have to check it out!

  2. Wow! This sounds amazing. Crossan is tackling a difficult subject matter. I don’t think I have ever read anything from the perspective of a conjoined twin.

    Reading books that aren’t written in continuous prose is such an interesting experience. The one that comes to mind is Crank, by Ellen Hopkins. That was the first book of its kind I’ve read. Poetry is such an interesting form to explore tricky subject matter.

  3. Not only does this book look absolutely stunning, but the story within it sounds so great. Thank you for the lovely review!

  4. tumbling into wonderland

    I read this book a couple of months ago and found it stunning. It was definitely one of my best summer reads.

  5. […] saw Pretty Books’ review of this the other day. This seems like quite an interesting book, as it is written in free […]

  6. Very excited to read this and I love the character names! Tippi and Dragon!

  7. This is far from my type of genre but I have been really inspired from this post to read this book. Thank you prettybooks

  8. […] One by Sarah Crossan One is about sixteen-year-old twins, Grace and Tippi. Best friends as well as sisters – and conjoined. A wonderfully moving and breathtaking story of love, identity and sisterhood, this is one young adult novel you need to read. […]

  9. […] & narrated by Stephanie Cannon I thought the audiobook version of One was beautifully done. As the story is written in prose, I wasn’t sure how it would work, but it was just as emotional the second […]

  10. […] Come Apart by Sarah Crossan & Brian Conaghan One is one of my favourite novels ever (seriously, read it). Like One, We Come Apart is told in free […]

Leave a Comment

