Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Book Review: Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Shelved: Young adult fiction (contemporary, romance)
Buy: Hive
More: Goodreads
Challenge: Hooray! It’s Summer – #5

Morgan Matson is one of my favourite authors and so Since You’ve Been Gone was one of the summer reads I was most looking forward to – and she didn’t let me down. It confirmed that I’d read everything and anything that Morgan Matson writes. Ever.

Since You’ve Been Gone is the perfect YA contemporary novel, especially as it isn’t all about the romance. Emily and Sloane are the best of friends and are incredibly close, so Emily is left lonely and confused when Sloane disappears without a trace. She’s not answering her phone, her house is empty, and no one knows where she is. She’s too embarrassed to tell her family that her best friend has left her. She doesn’t have anyone else, but then Emily discovers a list of tasks that Sloane compiled for her. If she does everything on the list – from dancing until dawn to kissing a stranger – maybe it’ll lead her back to Sloane?

I adored Since You’ve Been Gone because it’s a wonderful combination of friendship, family and romance. Even though the romance with Frank Porter – the boy who offers to help Emily find her best friend and complete the list – is slow and really lovely, it’s not the main focus of the story. It’s all about Emily discovering who she is without the person she’s spent the most time with, and who knows her better than anyone. It’s about doing things that are outside your comfort zone, and making new friends in the process. Emily’s new-found friends make the story what it is, a cosy and wonderful summer trip. And Emily’s relationship with her little brother is a delight. Although some of the things that Sloane has set Emily to do may not seem life-changing, as a fellow introvert, I can see that they would’ve made Emily feel accomplished – I’ve never gone skinny-dipping myself! And as for Frank Porter, I’d go running with him and swap music playlists any time!

Since You’ve Been Gone is another perfect contemporary story from Morgan Matson. If you’re a fan of the genre and you haven’t read one of her books, you’re really missing out.

Published: 6th May 2014 (US) 3rd July 2014 (UK)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 496

Hooray! It's Summer!

24 thoughts on “Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

  1. I’ve started reading this one last night. <3

  2. Since You’ve Been Gone is the prefect summer read. I absolutely adored this book. Emily’s journey and seeing her come into her own and stop living in the shadow of her friend was just beautiful. Morgan Matson is without a doubt a master in contemporary writing.

  3. I loved it, this was my favorite Morgan Matson book!

  4. I haven’t read any of her books, but the more I hear about her the more I totally want to.

  5. I liked it though I felt like the reason Sloane left felt a little.. not as believable. Like I wanted it to be more, maybe it was described too lightly for my taste but the overall growth of the leading character was a good read indeed. It was the first book I read from Morgan Matson and I can’t say I didn’t like it. So maybe I’ll pick up another one of her books soon.

  6. I bought this one, just need to get around to reading it!

  7. Wonderful little review! This book has been on my TBR for too long and it needs to be read soon! This book and Morgan Matson’s work in general sounds so fantastic!

    xoxo, @ Josie’s Book Corner

  8. I love all of Morgan Matsons books, super excited for her new book coming out next year!

  9. I really need to buy this book now. :)

  10. […] saw Pretty Books’ review of this. I’m not completely sold on it, but I might check it out at some […]

  11. […] Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson A wonderful combination of friendship, family and romance. If you’re a fan of YA contemporary and you haven’t read one of her books, you’re really missing out. […]

  12. I recently finished The Unexpected Everything, so I’m really looking forward to reading this. Very helpful review, thanks!

Leave a Comment

