Top Ten / Children’s Illustrators

It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday and this week is freebie week. I’ve chosen to pick ten of my favourite children’s illustrators. If I had my way, all children’s books would be full of wonderful pictures!

Top Ten / Children's Illustrators
Laura Ellen Anderson
is the amazingly talented illustrator of Witch Wars, Snappy Birthday, the Evil Emperor Penguin, and more! Her illustrations are so whimsical and fun, and I hope to treat myself to more of her books in the future!

Top Ten / Children's Illustrators
Chris Riddell is an inspiring illustrator and is sure to do excellent work as the new Children’s Laureate. If you ever get the chance to go to one of his events and see him draw live, do it! He has illustrated many books, from Neil Gaiman’s The Sleeper and the Spindler and Fortunately, the Milk… to his own stories, the Goth Girl series and Ottoline series – beautiful books sitting on my TBR!

Top Ten / Children's Illustrators
Quentin Blake
is famous for bringing Roald Dahl’s stories to life and has illustrated over 300 books. Even though I never read Roald Dahl as a child, I still feel nostalgic when I look at Quentin Blake’s drawings, especially those of Matilda!

Top Ten / Children's Illustrators
Becka Moor
has illustrated the Violet series written by Harriet Whitehorn, the Royal Babysitters series written by Clementine Beauvais, and more! My favourite illustrations are the little Berties from The Royal Babysitters – they’re so cute!

Top Ten / Children's IllustratorsJoyce Lankester Brisley is one of the first illustrators I remember admiring. I fell in love with her Milly-Molly-Mandy series as a six-year-old young child. Her map of the village and drawings of Milly-Molly-Mandy’s family are still among my favourite illustrations.

Top Ten / Children’s IllustratorsRebecca Cobb creates adorable illustrations, not only in books but also on social media! I adore her pictures for Paper Dolls, written by Julia Donaldson, and her #TwitterAdventCalendar.

Top Ten / Children's IllustratorsJim Kay has been one of my favourite illustrators ever since I read A Monster Calls, written by Patrick Ness, so I was thrilled to discover that he would be working on the new Harry Potter illustrated editions!

Top Ten / Children's IllustratorsNick Sharratt has one of the most recognisable illustration styles. Jacqueline Wilson was my favourite author as a child and when I think about her books, I can’t help but think about Nick Sharratt’s iconic illustrations. They remind me that I loved words and pictures as an 11-year-old as much as I do now.

Top Ten / Children's IllustratorsSarah Horne
illustrates the Sesame Seade series as well as many other books! Sleuth on Skates, written by Clementine Beauvais, was one of the books that got me reading more middle grade novels. Sarah Horne’s inky delights are a big part of why I love the trilogy so much.

Top Ten / Children's IllustratorsLucy Knisley isn’t strictly a children’s illustrator but I loved her non-fiction graphic novel, Relish – My Life in the Kitchen. Her drawings accurately depict what it’s like to grow up – and what it’s like to be a foodie. I cannot wait to read the rest of her books!

Who’s your favourite illustrator?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten / Children’s Illustrators

  1. I love Chris Riddell’s illustrations, especially in his The Edge Chronicles. So lovely. My TTT

  2. One of my favorite illustrators is Carson Ellis! She did all the illustrations for the Wildwood series by Colin Meloy (who happens to be her husband!) I love the series, too!

  3. Great idea for the Top Ten Tuesday freebie! Also, so excited for the illustrated Harry Potter editions!

  4. Too many favorites to name! But here are some: Pauline Baynes, original illustrator of C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia! Also Michael Hague, Arthur Rackham, Eric Carle and the immortal Beatrix Potter. Speaking of Eric Carle, his Museum of Picture Book Art is wonderful — well worth a visit! Visitors often run into Eric Carle himself, as we did some years ago — he was delightful. http://www.carlemuseum.org/

  5. Brett Helquist! He did the illustrations for A Series of Unfortunate Events.

  6. My childhood would not have been complete without Quentin Blake. Such a wonderful topic to choose!

  7. Catherine Rayner! How can you not love Posey? Also Judith Kerr obviously. But Quentin Blake would be up there too.

  8. Gosh I loved this post so much! Quentin Blake, Nick Sharrett and the Milly Molly Mandy series are childhood favourites! Don’t forget Shirley Hughes and Judith Kerr!

    I want to go and reread all my children’s books now :)

    Sarah
    Sarah’s Chapter

Leave a Comment

