Behold the Pretty Books! / August Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / August Book Haul

Here’s all the books I acquired in August!

I was excited to receive Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger from Andersen Press because I adored both When You Reach Me and Liar & Spy. I also received two wonderful historical novels from Walker Books for review: The Hired Girl (told via the diary of fourteen-year-old Joan, living in Pennsylvania during the summer of 1911) and The Red Shoe (told by six-year-old Matilda, part of an ordinary family living in the Northern Beaches of Sydney during the 1950s). And I received another Penguin English Library classic from Caboodle, this time North and South!

Daphne kindly gave me Night Owls and Look Who’s Back (Berlin, Summer 2011. Adolf Hitler wakes up on a patch of open ground, alive and well). I’m particularly intrigued by Look Who’s Back. I’ve also heard wonderful things about Night Owls and I adore the cover – that gold!

I also acquired Louise O’Neill’s Asking For It, one of the most highly anticipated YA novels of the year. I’m excited (i.e. scared) to read it because her first novel, Only Ever Yours, was incredible – read my review here.

Behold the Pretty Books! / August Book Haul
I ventured onto NetGalley and downloaded James Dawson’s All of the Above, a funny and moving love story about friends, first loves and self-discovery, as well as Tonight the Streets Are Ours and Mosquitoland. Apparently all I want to read is YA contemporary! And lastly, I bought Courtney Summers’ All the Rage. It’s essential and brilliant that rape is talked about in YA, but I do find it one of the most difficult things to read about, so I’ll have to mentally prepare myself before I pick up both All the Rage and Asking For It.

Have you read any of these? Let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

Behold the Pretty Books! / August Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August Book Haul

12 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / August Book Haul

  1. I picked Mosquitoland a few weeks ago, and it’s in my TBR pile waiting for its turn. Looking forward to your review of it!!! If it’s good, I might bump it up in the cue.

  2. I haven’t read any of these but I really want to read Asking For It and Tonight The Streets Are Ours (although, one of the bloggers I follow rated it pretty low so I’m kind of hesitant to start that one). I love your photography by the way!

    • That’s a shame about Tonight The Streets Are Ours! I’ve only heard good things about it and This Song Will Save Your Life. Asking For It is at the very top of the pile. And thank you, Jess!

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings

    Nice finds! “Look Who’s Back” is amazing! :)

  4. Ah, look at all the pretty books! 😍
    Many of these are on my TBR too, great book haul!
    xoxo 💋

  5. Oh, I want that whole stack of books! I’m especially looking forward to a review about Asking For It!

  6. Once Upon a Book

    Look who’s back is a brilliant piece of satire. I put so many people on to it & no ones had a bad word about it!

Leave a Comment

