Top Ten / Popular Books on My TBR

Top Ten / Popular Books on My TBR
It’s Top Ten Tuesday and today’s topic is Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read. I thought I’d change it a little – I looked at my Goodreads ‘to read’ shelf (physical books sitting on my to be read (TBR) pile) and picked out the ten most popular books, sorted by the number of ratings each book had.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett (1,219,071 ratings)
I picked this up secondhand after watching the movie adaptation. I knew it was a popular book, but I’m surprised it’s the most popular out of 310 books!

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (1,034,651)
I bought Gone Girl nearly two years ago along with Sharp Objects and Dark Places. I meant to read it before the movie adaptation, but obviously that went out of the window. I still want to even though I know the twist!

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (983,097)
One day I will start my A Song of Ice and Fire box set. One day.

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez (461,624)
Perhaps a perfect choice for the 2015 Classics Challenge?

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards (459,201)
Another one I picked up from a secondhand bookshop – and one my mum would probably love.

Divine Secrets Of The Ya Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells (417,610)
I am surprised this is one of the most read books on my TBR because I was only vaguely aware of it before I bought it. I was swayed by the Southern setting!

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare (362,597)
I’ve heard a lot of excellent things about The Infernal Devices series, even from people who didn’t enjoy The Mortal Instruments. And it’s set in London!

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer (339,222)
A book that combines my love of books with my interest in the Second World War. I really ought to read this one soon.

Atonement by Ian McEwan (303,873)
Another book I picked up secondhand after seeing the adaptation. I remember discovering my copy on a book stall that my university ran during the week.

A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith (252,989)
And lastly, a book that’s high up on my classics list – a young adult, coming-of-age classic that I hope to read this year.

Have you read any of these?

Top Ten / Popular Books on My TBRTop Ten / Popular Books on My TBR

37 thoughts on “Top Ten / Popular Books on My TBR

  1. Clockwork is good. I love it far more than the Mortal Instruments, and even those I enjoyed for what they were. There are parallels to A Tale of Two Cities :)

    Atonement, The Help, and Guernsey are fantastic! Great historical fiction.

    I wish you luck with George RR Martin! And I was not a fan of 100 Years of Solitude, but I also read it in college for a class I wasn’t too enthused about, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. I’d suggest creating a family tree when reading – it’ll be helpful.

  2. I hated Atonement so much, so much. I read it before watching the movie and urgh, I have the worst memories of that book. I think it was the style, just urgh.

    I liked the first Game of Thrones book. It’s loooong but it’s fun and has a lot of action, it’s a cool read.

  3. Seconding Natalia here – Atonement is not good. I tried to hard to finish it but in the end I just couldn’t do it. I still need to read The Help. I recommend Gone Girl strongly! It’s pretty fab.

    • I cannot remember much about the Atonement movie adaptation at all… ! I’m not actually sure it’s one I’ll ever get round to reading. I’ll definitely read Gone Girl though.

  4. A Tree Grows In Brooklyn was just perfect ! It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think, and it’s now one of my favourite books. Hope you’ll love it too !

  5. I read the first book in the Song of Ice and Fire series (A Game of Thrones) a few years back before all the hype and was seriously enthralled with it. I read it while on holiday in Malaysia (strange holiday reading material) and was so hooked. Then, it completely flew out the window and I haven’t continued with the series to this day. I plan to though.

    • It’s just such a huge time investment… so I’m reluctant to begin even though I’d like to. I feel like I’d have to read the series quite close together so I don’t forget anything.

  6. I vouch for A Game of Thrones (the entire Asoiaf series in fact) and A Hundred Years of Solitude. Don’t know anything about the rest.

  7. The only book I’ve read from your stack is The Help, but I absolutely loved it! I haven’t seen the movie so I wouldn’t know how it compares, but I’m guessing that if you liked the movie you would really enjoy the book. It’s one of my personal favorites. :)

  8. I’ve read GoT, The Help, The Potato one, Gone Girl, and The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. The only one I didn’t like was the Potato book hahah. I just did not care about the characters at all. It felt bland and just not well put together to me. I know people who rave about it, though. If you were going to read any of these (from the ones that I’ve read), I’d say start with The Memory Keeper’s Daughter OR The Help. I read TMKD in about four hours, it was so good.

    • Oh no! I feel like The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is one of the books I’m likely to enjoy the most, but there’s some pretty great ones up there.

  9. I read the Help a while ago and really, really enjoyed! I also have A Tree Grows in Brooklyn on my TBR and need to read it very soon.

  10. I feel the need to stand up for Atonement. I think I’m one of the few people to really love it!

  11. I’ve read ‘The Help’ and ‘The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society’ and enjoyed them both. The second one especially.

  12. I enjoyed reading both The Help and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/07/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-hyped-books-ive.html

  13. I keep seeing Game of Thrones on everyone’s lists! I can’t bring myself to finish reading the first book though… I also want to try reading The Help, as I really enjoyed the movie.

  14. Love Clockwork Angel! You won’t be disappointed with the series. Mind checking out my last post at charmedchristy.wordpress.com XO

  15. Great choices! Clockwork Angel is fantastic! I love all of Cassandra Clare books. I have read all the Song of Ice and Fire books and they are all worth the time and effort.

  16. I’ve read Game of Thrones, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, and 100 Years of Solitude. I loved both GoT and Ya-Ya for very different reasons, and I read them at very different times in my life, but I can honestly say that they’re both great. However, I despised 100 Years with a passion that made me want to get back the time I wasted reading it along with the money I spent buying it. It is the reason I hate magical realism and no longer trust those lists of the top books everyone should read. I also wonder if the people who say it’s the greatest book ever have actually read it or just want to come off as intelligent and well-read.

  17. I am reading the Song of Ice and Fire series (GoT) and I am completely in love. It keeps you hooked from the first page!

  18. I’ve read Gone Girl, The Help and GoT. Gone Girl is AMAZING. The Help was a wonderful read too. And GoT…brilliant! I’m in fact on the fourth book of ASOIAF series :) Hope you enjoy the books!

Leave a Comment

