A Trip to Bath

I booked a trip to Bath after reading a blogpost on A Lady in London very late one night. It’s easy as a Londoner to never leave because we have everything on our doorstep, but sometimes it’s wonderful to get away and go somewhere that’s a little (or a lot!) less busy.

I woke up at 6am and headed to London Paddington station to catch my train to Bath. It’s only an hour and a half away so it can be done in a day, but I chose to stay for one night in a lovely little B&B only a short walk from everything. It was my first time visiting Bath and although I had been told that it was a tiny city, I wasn’t aware exactly how tiny. I’ll usually get lost wherever I go, so I was surprised to discover that even I was able to navigate my way around the city without Google Maps – quite a feat for me! It’s impossible to get lost because you’ll accidentally come across the Roman Baths or the Abbey and instantly recognise where you are.

I loved visiting the historic sites, walking the cobbled streets, browsing the charming shops, and treating myself to delicious food, including some salted caramel fudge. As it’s such a beautiful place, it’s best to go on a sunny day so you can roam the streets, but there’s plenty to do inside if it’s cold and rainy, as it was on the second day for me. I suppose you’re wondering where the literary part of my trip is – check back soon for posts on two delightful bookshop, Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights and Topping & Company!

A Trip to BathA Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath
A Trip to Bath

Visited:
Pulteney Bridge
Roman Baths
No. 1 Royal Crescent
The Royal Crescent
The Circus
Bath Abbey
The Fudge Kitchen
Sally Lunn’s Historic Eating House
Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights (post coming soon)
Topping & Company Bookshop (post coming soon)

21 thoughts on “A Trip to Bath

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings

    Lovely pictures! I’m very jealous of your visit to Mr. B’s and look forward to seeing *lots* of pictures of books!

  2. That looks so warm and cozy! Waiting for the bookstore pictures :)

  3. This please looks absolutely gorgeous! And is that houses on a bridge I see?! 😱
    I want to visit this place now! (And England in general)

  4. I LOVE Bath – it’s one of my favourite places to escape to! Mr B’s is such a lovely indie shop as well, I’m looking forward to your post on what you found there!

  5. I really like Bath too, it is so lovely! Did you eat the cake at Sally Lunn’s? Supposed to be delicious.

  6. Bath is lovely! I was there for a day and managed to see everything. I really wanted to have proper tea but there was no time. I’d love to go again and see more of that.

  7. I visited Bath two years ago, everything was so pretty. Did you not manage to fit in the Jane Austen museum?

  8. Which b&b did you stay in? I’m going to England next year and I need all the recommendations I can get!

  9. […] and Company (posts about these bookshops coming soon!). Read about the rest of my trip to Bath here. I was also sent a few books for review: My Secret Rockstar Boyfriend & The Lie Tree from […]

  10. […] visited Bath recently (find out more about that here) and no trip is complete without checking out the local bookshops. I first heard about Mr B’s […]

  11. I live and study in Bath and it really is a beautiful and tiny city! It’s such a great city to have a wander around in, visit some historical sites, sip some tea and buy some books. I’m so glad you enjoyed your visit!
    Did you visit the Waterstones? It has wonderful table displays and one of my lecturers told me it was one of the best Waterstones for children’s and YA literature in the country. Although, I have to say, Mr B’s comes up trumps when it comes to bookstores in Bath.

    • I would have loved to live and study there! I did visit Waterstones and even though I love the chain (and it did have an excellent children’s section), it was exciting visiting some indie bookshops.

  12. dreamingthroughliterature

    Looks like such a fun little trip!

  13. […] been a little while since I wrote about my trip to Bath and blogged about my visit to Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights. Now I’m back with […]

Leave a Comment

