Read To Kill a Mockingbird for the 2015 Classics Challenge!

To Kill a Mockingbird

If you’ve not yet decided which classic to read for the 2015 Classics Challenge in June (or July, if you’re a quick reader!), join me in reading Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird!

I first read To Kill a Mockingbird in August 2010, so I’m looking forward to coming back to it nearly five years later. It was one of the few classics I had read at that point (although I was doing well that summer, having also just read A Clockwork Orange and The Great Gatsby). I’ll also finally be watching the adaptation starring Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch and Mary Badham as Scout.

5 Reasons to Read To Kill a Mockingbird

1. Read it ahead of Go Set a Watchman, the newly discovered novel also written by Harper Lee, due to be published 14th July 2015. It’s set 20 years after the events in To Kill a Mockingbird even though it was written in the mid-1950s, before the first book. Go Set a Watchman is a novel that everyone will be talking about this summer, so join in!

2. Read it for Jean Louise “Scout” Finch, the incredible narrator of To Kill a Mockingbird. Scout retells the events as an adult, reflecting upon them as experienced as a young child, between the ages of 6 and 8. “Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing”.

3. Read it because racism and class prejudice still occur today, so the messages in To Kill a Mockingbird are as pertinent as ever.

4. Read it for a classic coming-of-age story as Scout, her older brother Jem and friend Dill discover more about the people and the world around them.

5. Read it because it’s Taylor Swift’s favourite book (okay, maybe this one’s just for me!).

(If want to start the book straight away, PRH is currently running an ‘official’ To Kill a Mockingbird re-read here).

Will you be re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird or reading it for the first time?

2015 Classics Challenge

tkam4

tkam2 tkam3 tkam5 tkam6

26 thoughts on “Read To Kill a Mockingbird for the 2015 Classics Challenge!

  1. Great photos! I’d love to participate in your 2015 Classics Challenge. I probably won’t be able to do it throughout the year, but I sure will try it out next month :)

  2. […] Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (Re-Read) ★★★★★ • […]

  3. Just started this yesterday! It’s a reread for me too.
    My dad loves Taylor Swift and TKMB, so I’m going to tell him it’s her favourite book too.
    That edition is too beautiful.

  4. I absolutely love this book! And that edition is super lovely!

  5. What a beautiful edition! I’ve just started reading it as part of my debut novels challenge so shall combine. So excited to revisit Maycomb – I saw the stage show last year in Regent’s Park and it was amazing!

  6. Nice blog, Stacey. Great photos!! I finally got round to reading the book last September. Great story. The character, Atticus Finch is inspiring and his courage and principles are what everyone of us must try to emulate and uphold. Incidentally I posted an article on my blog after reading the book. http://lifang-leehong.blogspot.com/2014_09_01_archive.html

  7. I had no idea it was Taylor Swift’s favorite book! That’s really cool haha. I’ll definitely be rereading it, and I can’t wait to read the sequel in July!

  8. I just bought this book with the intentions to re-read a few months ago. I just pulled it out of a draw for my June TBR. I am so excited to read this book again. I know I loved in in high school. I think it will be so interesting to go back with a different mind and intellectual experience.

  9. You have such a gorgeous edition of the book!
    I’ve been thinking of doing a re-read of this since I found out that the sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird was discovered and coming out this year. I remember reading this in high school for a project on racism and prejudice that I was doing and I loved this book. I’m excited to go back to this 10+ years later :)

  10. I love this edition of the novel! It’s beautiful! I plan to read it for the first time this summer & I’m super excited, I’ve heard so many great things about this book!

  11. I’m not sure how I forgot to mention that I’m in — but I’m in. I actually wrote a brief note at my place a couple weeks ago. I’m also taking part in your Classics Challenge. Here’s my post on that (if you’re curious.) :)

  12. I really need to reread this. I haven’t read it since high school. And that edition is beautiful!

Leave a Comment

