Top Ten / Books I Read at University (While I Was Supposed to Be Writing Essays)

Top Ten / Books I Read at University (While I Was Supposed to Be Writing Essays)
It’s a Top Ten Tuesday ‘freebie’ week and I thought I’d talk about the books I read at university. I don’t mean for university, but the books I read while I was meant to be writing my university essays. I have shelves on Goodreads dedicated to what I read at certain points in my life. Here’s ten books from my ‘read in university’ shelf.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is one of my absolute favourite novels. I read it during the summer break between my first and second year of university. I was a member of a few online communities and it kept popping up as a ‘must read’. I borrowed it from the library and read it in one sitting.

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld was discovered in a secondhand bookshop for only 20p. I read it before I started enjoy young adult contemporary fiction, so I’m looking forward to seeing what I think of it now!

The Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson was raced through during my second year at university. I read the second book on the way to the university library and I didn’t stop reading when I got there – I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next in Lisbeth Salander’s story!

Watching the English by Kate Fox was read during my second year at university as part of my ‘Sociology of Everyday Life’ course, an anthropological analysis of English behaviour, like an early Very British Problems!

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult was purchased from Waterstones, a rare occurrence because I hadn’t yet developed an affinity for bookshops, so only bought books online, and it quickly became my favourite Picoult novel. It’s one of the many books I want to read as part of the Re-Read Challenge!

Yes Man by Danny Wallace was bought because I loved the idea of saying ‘yes’ more. I was excited about starting my first internship at the publisher, after my second year at university, because I also enjoyed two of his other books, Friends Like These and Join Me.

The Missing by Jane Casey was acquired at the aforementioned publisher during my internship. It wasn’t until my third year at university, when I was really sick, that I started it. I felt guilty because I wasn’t doing my work but instead was reading a gripping mystery – about two children who go missing sixteen years apart – in less than two days.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald was one of the first classics I had read since school. I read it on a train, on the way home during a freezing February afternoon, surprised at how engaging, colourful and readable it was.

A Prisoner of Birth by Jeffrey Archer is a crime thriller borrowed from my mum. I read it shortly after I had left university, loving the fact that I could curl up with an exciting book whenever I wanted to!

High Fidelity by Nick Hornby was read a month before I graduated. Between the ages of 15 and 21, I loved music even more than I loved books. Here’s an exclusive snippet from an old High Fidelity review: “It’s interesting to read about people who understand the importance of music; those who relate it to every aspect of their lives, search for old demos or new acoustics, constantly recommend people music, and shake their heads at people who just don’t get it.”

(I noticed there are only two young adult novels and no children’s novels in this list. Oh how my reading has changed!).


Have you read any of these?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten / Books I Read at University (While I Was Supposed to Be Writing Essays)

  1. I have read some, The Great Gatsby, The Book Thief, both of which I loved. Some good choices worth exploring, thanks for the list.

  2. I’ve read the first book in the Millenium Trilogy, but I really have to get around to reading the other two. I loved the way the mystery kept me glued to the page despite the fact that the book was rather lengthy. This is such a great topic- and a good idea! I should make a Goodreads shelf like that when I go to college.

    • Thank you, Holly! just found it helpful to separate all the books rather than a general ‘read’ shelf – and because I’m so forgetful!

      I actually enjoyed the second and third book even more than the first.

  3. Love your topic! So awesome to see ‘Yes Man’ pop up on a list! I loved that book. I read Danny’s collab novel ‘Are You Dave Gorman?’ and loved it and then went on to find everything else he’d ever written. Such a funny book!
    My TTT

  4. I recently read The Great Gatsby and although I struggled with it first time round (probably because I read it on the train and wasnt concentrating fully because I’m too much of a people watcher!) I read it a second time and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’ve just downloaded the Book Thief onto my kindle so will give that a whirl next

  5. I rarely read books in university because as soon as I picked one up I felt like I should be reading for school instead! Not that I ever ending up studying instead anyways… I love The Book Thief and The Great Gatsby!

  6. I have the worst habit of reading books instead of doing my assignments and studying for exams [which is happening right now and I have exams next week, oops].

  7. Nineteen Minutes will definitely be a book I have to pick up :)

  8. The Book Thief is one of my favourites too! I love Nineteen Minutes as well, one of my favourites of Jodi Picoult’s novels.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/19/top-ten-tuesdays-5/

  9. It’s great to see how your reading tastes have changed, Stacey. I haven’t actually read any of these, but I keep meaning to read The Book Thief and The Great Gatsby. Lovely post!

  10. What amazing choices. I love The Book Thief, Yes Man and High Fidelity! x

  11. Great list! I also often read when I should be doing other things…. like cleaning house or cooking dinner. I made my list on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015.” Here’s my TTT. Happy reading!

  12. Reading cool books instead of writing essays is so much more fun!!

    The following is a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/05/top-ten-tuesday-sexy-male-characters-in.html

  13. I’ve read The Book Thief on my last year of college & it was worth every minute. I’m glad I gave up on essays for a while for that book!
    Great choices you have there :)

  14. The Book Thief > Writing essayes, let’s be honest.
    I read High Fidelity so many years ago, and personally didn’t enjoy it, but did like the music aspects of the book, and still has one of my favourite quotes:
    “Have you got any soul?” a woman asks the next afternoon. That depends, I feel like saying; some days yes, some days no. A few days ago I was right out; now I’ve got loads, too much, more than I can handle. I wish I could spread it a bit more evenly, I want to tell her, get a better balance, but I can’t seem to get it sorted. I can see she wouldn’t be interested in my internal stock control problems though, so I simply point to where I keep the soul I have, right by the exit, just next to the blues.

Leave a Comment

