Books On My TBR

Books On My TBR
Here’s some of the books that are on my current TBR!

I like to keep books that are at the very top of my TBR (‘to be read’ list) on my desk. This was made easier when I was given these lovely bookends that say ‘SO MANY BOOKS. SO LITTLE TIME’ for my birthday. On my desk at the moment, I have a few that I’ve borrowed from friends: We All Looked Up, My Heart and Other Black Holes, Friends With Boys and Cowgirl. I’ll be reading Friends With Boys first because I’m in the mood for a quick read. I borrowed this contemporary YA graphic novel from Debbie a few months ago! I’ll also pick up We All Looked Up, as it’s our next book club book.

I aimed to read only adult books in March, but I didn’t get to read as many as I hoped, so I’ve still got Life After Life and The Miniaturist left. I also bought All the Light We Cannot See this week. I want to get to this soon because I’ve been looking for it for a while, but I couldn’t find the edition I wanted – it’s just been published in the usual paperback size, so I snapped it up. I also bought Only Ever Yours because it recently won the YA Book Prize and it was one of the few books I didn’t already own!

I was also sent Patrick Ness’ new book, The Rest of Us Just Live Here, and so of course it went straight on the ‘to read soon’ pile. And lastly, I’ll be reading The Yellow-Wall Paper for the 2015 Classics Challenge. It’s my April classic and so I’m a little behind, but I’ll catch up!

Books On My TBR

I’ve also tried to make sure I don’t forget about the books sitting on my Kindle! I’ve picked out a bunch of books that I acquired from NetGalley that I want to read and review soon, so I can work on being a Good Blogger. I’m so excited to read all of the books I’ve chosen, so I’m not too sure which one I’m going to read next. The Girl on the Train was one of the adult books I was going to read in March and I’m desperate to see how it’s sold two million copies around the world already.

I’m looking forward to getting stuck into the high standard of YA published this year, particularly Simons vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, The Last Leaves Falling, All the Bright Places and The Accident Season. I downloaded The DUFF because it’s recently been adapted and I really, really must read Half Bad so I can see what everyone’s been talking about!

Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you thought! Which books should I read first?

Books On My TBR
Books On My TBRBooks On My TBRBooks On My TBRBooks On My TBR

32 thoughts on “Books On My TBR

  1. I cannot recommend All the Light We Cannot See and Life After Life highly enough! Both were in my top 5 books last year, with All the Light being my absolute favourite. They’re both books which I read in a day because I just literally could not put them down!

    All the Light We Cannot see is beautifully written. It reminded me a little of The Book Thief in the way it made me feel, and in how well it managed to capture the horror and sadness of WW2. The characters are incredibly compelling and the plot is just beautiful.

    I absolutely loved the concept of Life After Life. I’m really into 20th century history so I liked that Atkinson was able to use the main character of Ursula as a vehicle for exploring so many different aspects of this turbulent century. There’s a section set during the blitz which I think is one of the two best pieces of fiction I’ve ever read set during that period. (The other is in The Night Watch by Sarah Waters.)

    I also read The Miniaturist, although I must admit I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to. It was generally okay, but I found the plot kind of unsatisfying.

    Apologies for the really long comment, I just really love the first two books! :)

    -Laura

    • Don’t apologise at all – I love long comments! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I’m particularly excited about All the Light We Cannot See as it sounds like just my sort of book. I bought The Miniaturist and Life After Life based on recommendations really, so it’ll be interesting to see what I think!

  2. I cannot wait for Patrick Ness’s Rest of Us Just Live Here to release. I know its going to be a great book.

  3. Jim from YA Yeah Yeah

    You need the simply gorgeous Simon Vs to be near the top of your TBR, although The Accident Season is rather spellbinding, and I think you’ll really enjoy Cowgirl! Great post. :)

  4. helengracebookface

    I’ve been reading through your blog and I think it’s great! The photos you take are really good too, I’d love to be able to take photos that good. As a new blogger, I’m struggling to get my blog up and running and I’d love to one day (maybe, hopefully) have a blog as interesting as this one. Do you have any advice for new book bloggers??

  5. You have some pretty good books on your TBR coming up. I can’t wait for Patrick Ness’s new book; I requested it but was sadly denied so I will definitely be looking forward to your review on it. Lovely photos! :)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  6. Definitely read Life After Life! The concept is fascinating and the writing is spot on. It’s a book I continue to think about after having finished it months ago.

  7. I just literally whimpered at your copy of The Rest of us just Live Here. I want it so much!

  8. The girl on the train is great. Such an unreliable character but done so well. Very engaging.

  9. I haven’t read any of these, but several are on my list. I look forward to your opinions. Especially about Half Bad!

  10. All the Light We Cannot See is exceptional – worthy of all the praise it has attracted. It’s a book you’ll want to savour though, so make sure you have some time to devote to it.

    I really enjoyed The Miniaturist but I suspect it was because I was about the only person in the world that hadn’t been exposed to the hype. It caught my eye in the book shop, I bought it and read it straightaway, knowing nothing about it. It was good to read it without expectations – I can see why some people expected something more/ different.

    • Thank you for letting me know about All the Light We Cannot See. I think I’ll be saving that one for a weekend where I can dedicate all my attention to it. I’m mainly picking up The Miniaturist because of hype and recommendations, so hopefully I won’t be let down. I don’t really have any expectations as such, although I’m looking forward to reading about the Amsterdam setting.

  11. Those bookends are SO CUTE. SO FREAKING CUTE. And accurate. I need them.

  12. I really want to read most of these books! I’ve read ‘The Yellow Wall-Paper’ it is a great example of a short story! :) Have fun!

  13. I DNF Life After Life :/ It’s a great concept, and I was really excited after hearing great things, but I just got stuck about a third of the way through. I do intend on giving it another try at some point though, and best of luck to you!

  14. All the Bright Places was so good!! I read it on my kindle and loved it, and my friend is currently reading The Miniaturist, so I am probably going to read that after her. Also, I love the style of your blog, and I would love to have some tips with mine. I have just started a blog, and I would love to properly learn how to get a good layout and content etc. Anyways love your blog!

    • I’m REALLY looking forward to All the Bright Places. It’s the sort of YA contemporary I’m in the mood for lately. I’m glad to hear you enjoy it.

      As for my blog layout, I really love it but I didn’t really do much to it. I just bought a premium theme and changed the header and colours (because I’ve pretty much always had blue since I began this blog in 2011). I think Top Ten Tuesday posts are great to start off with if you’re stuck for content, I really love those. I also do book hauls and book reviews. But I also just do something when it pops into my head!

      • Thanks so much! I’m not yet struggling with book post ideas, but I think I might definitely use the Top Ten Tuesday idea soon, thankyou!

  15. I just finished reading days ago Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, it was a cute & clever read. Wish you enjoyable readings!

Leave a Comment

