#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

12th April is UKYA Day! Hurrah! It’s hosted by the lovely Lucy @ Queen of Contemporary and she is encouraging bloggers and vloggers to celebrate with her. If it’s not obvious, UKYA is young adult literature written by authors who are from or currently live in the UK. To celebrate, I thought I’d pair UKYA books with songs from Taylor Swift’s 1989. I cannot take credit for this idea, unfortunately, as it’s been done by a few people including the amazing Elena @ Novel Sounds, but I haven’t seen anyone do it just for UKYA – do let me know if you have!

taylorukya10

WELCOME TO NEW YORK / JESSIE HEARTS NYC by Keris Stainton

It’s a new soundtrack
I could dance to this beat, forevermore.
The lights are so bright
But they never blind me.
Welcome to New York
It’s been waiting for you.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

BLANK SPACE / HEART-SHAPED BRUISE by Tanya Byrne

“They’ll tell you I’m insane
But I got a blank space baby
And I’ll write your name.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

STYLE / FLIRTY DANCING by Jenny McLachlan

“You got that long hair, slicked back, white t-shirt
And I got that good girl faith and a tight little skirt
And when we go crashing down, we come back every time.
Cause we never go out of style
We never go out of style.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

ALL YOU HAD TO DO WAS STAY / APPLE AND RAIN by Sarah Crossan

“Calling me up, but I don’t know what to say
I’ve been picking up the pieces of the mess you made.
People like you always want back the love they pushed aside
But people like me are gone forever
When you say goodbye.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

SHAKE IT OFF / GEEK GIRL by Holly Smale

“And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off, shake it off.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

I WISH YOU WOULD / KETCHUP CLOUDS by Annabel Pitcher

“I wish you we could go back
And remember what we were fighting for
I wish you know that I miss you too much to be mad any more
Wish you were right here, right now, it’s all good, I wish you would.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA
BAD BLOOD / SEVEN DAYS by Eve Ainsworth

“Did you think we’d be fine?
Still got scars on my back from your knife
So don’t think it’s in the past
These kind of wounds they last and they last.
Now did you think it all through?
All these things will catch up to you
And time can heal but this won’t
So if you come in my way, just don’t.”

 

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

WILDEST DREAMS / TROUBLE by Non Pratt

“I said “No one has to know what we do,”
His hands are in my hair, his clothes are in my room
And his voice is a familiar sound, nothing lasts forever.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

HOW YOU GET THE GIRL / LOBSTERS by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

“Tell her how you must’ve lost your mind
When you left her all alone
And never told her why.
And that’s how it works
That’s how you lost the girl.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

THIS LOVE / HOW I LIVE NOW by Meg Rosoff

“In silent screams,
In wildest dreams
I never dreamed of this.

This love is good, this love is bad
This love is alive back from the dead
These hands had to let it go free
And this love came back to me.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

I KNOW PLACES / THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO by Patrick Ness

“They got their cages, they got their boxes, and guns
They are the hunters, we are the foxes and we run.
I know places we won’t be found and they’ll be chasing their tails trying to track us down

Cause I know places we can hide.”

#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

NEW ROMANTICS / CODE NAME VERITY by Elizabeth Wein

“Cause baby I could build a castle
Out of all the bricks they threw at me
And every day it’s like battle
But every night with us is like a dream.”

Do you have any great UKYA + Taylor Swift suggestions? There must be books that match perfectly with Wonderland & Clean out there! Find out more about UKYADay here.

UKYA Day

8 thoughts on “#UKYADay: Taylor Swift Meets UKYA

  1. This is such a great post! I loved seeing how you match each song with a book and singing to each bit of lyrics haha

  2. I love your UKYA posts. It makes me want to ditch all things commercially American and fly over there and read all the great books. 7 Days, Apple & Rain, and Flirty Dancing look so good! Guess I’ll just have to wait for US rights to snatch them up (like with Geek Girl) in two years…

  3. I know I said this on Twitter, but this is SUCH a fab post, and you have so many of my favourite books here! (And Laura, I haven’t read 7 Days yet but think you’d love Apple & Rain and Flirty Dancing – you should definitely head over here to get them. :) )

  4. This is such a great idea! As an American I don’t always get to see as many of the great books by UK authors so it’s nice to have UKYA Day for some good recomendations. I’ll definitely have to check out some of these (assuming I can get my hands on them here)!

Leave a Comment

