Pretty Books Deserve Pretty Bookmarks

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty Bookmarks
I haven’t counted but I think I must have over 100 bookmarks – I’m never without one! I thought I’d share a few of my favourites below. (Plus there’s a sneak peek of some of the books I’ll be reading next month).

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksThis one is my oldest bookmark. I bought it at school aged around 10-12 when some of the older children were selling homemade goodies to raise money. It’s in pretty good condition considering! See, teachers weren’t lying about lamination…

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty Bookmarks
Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksThis is my favourite bookmark size. Daunt Books bookmarks are among my favourites – I love the illustration of Daunt Books, Marylebone. Unfortunately I do not use The Book Depository any more, but when I did, I’d always look forward to receiving a bookmark along with my book. They hosted a bookmark design competition last year and so some really lovely ones are available at the moment.


Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksPretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksWhen I visit somewhere, I tend to buy a bookmark as a souvenir (and some foodie treats!). I’m always on the lookout for these beautiful leather-style ones. They’re among the cheapest souvenirs you can buy, but the most useful! I bought these from the Tower of London, the Bodleian Library in Oxford, Shakespeare’s Globe, Canterbury Cathedral, and Hampton Court Palace.

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksPretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksI also bought two ‘old books’ bookmarks from the Bodleian Library gift shop (it was a great shop!) and the other from the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, of his painting Almond Blossom (1890).
Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksPretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksI bought this Harry Potter one on Etsy a few years ago, created by Sam Skyler. It came with a colored tassel which is somewhere in my drawer!

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksPretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksI’d seen this metal one on Tumblr and loved the idea of it, so I had to buy it when I came across it in the Wellcome Collection/Blackwell’s shop. I have to admit, it’s pretty heavy and so I haven’t used it properly yet! I think this will be one for a very large book…

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty BookmarksAnd lastly, here’s a few beautiful ones with ribbons that I’ve received as gifts. I’m more likely to just use these ones at home so I don’t damage them!

Pretty Books Deserve Pretty Bookmarks

What are some of your favourite bookmarks?

22 thoughts on “Pretty Books Deserve Pretty Bookmarks

  1. Ah, they’re all so gorgeous! I need to invest and look around for some beautiful bookmarks such as these!

  2. Your bookmarks are so gorgeous Stacey! The Harry Potter one is gorgeous :) A friend of mine has some beautiful bookmarks in her store if you want to check them out as well :) https://www.etsy.com/shop/SugarmintsArtstore?section_id=16697672&ref=shopsection_leftnav_1

  3. They’re all so pretty! The Harry Potter one has to be my favourite though :)

  4. Where do you buy your bookmarks? I’m currently using receipts or anything I can find around the house :/

  5. wow! :) What a collection! :) I have only 4 or 5 bookmarks

  6. Your bookmarks are all so lovely, Stacey! I have hundreds but I still seem to never have one handy! I then get in to the bad habit of stuffing my book down somewhere when I’m not using it to keep my place. I’m dreadful!

  7. Liking the metal one :-) my bookmarks are mostly kid made!!! I’m also planning on reading station eleven & really looking forward to it :-)

  8. Such gorgeous book marks!

  9. oh, i love each one of them <3
    I think I need to take out my ones and see how many I have ;)

  10. I am quite jealous of the lovely lady dresses as bookmarks! :) Going to go through my own bookmarks and try to be grateful of the ones I own…. :) But thank you for posting these lovelies. :)

  11. What a wonderful collection. I have many bookmarks too.

  12. These bookmarks are gorgeous, I am getting total bookmark envy!

Leave a Comment

