Top Ten / Classics I Want to Read (Part 2)

2015 Classics Challenge
It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday! Today is a ‘freebie’ topic, so we can post what we like. As I’m participating in the 2015 Classics Challenge, I thought I’d write a sequel to my original Top Ten / Classics I Want to Read post, written six months ago. I’ve only read one of the classics from that list since then, but that doesn’t stop me from adding more to my wishlist! Here’s another ten classics that I want to read. If you want to read any of these too, perhaps join the challenge?

Top Ten / Classics I Want to Read (Part 2)

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (1818) because you voted for it to be my first classic of the year and as a satire of Gothic literature, it does sound quite fun!

Villette by Charlotte Bronte (1853) because I adored Jane Eyre and would like to read more books written by her.

Dracula by Bram Stoker (1897) because a few of my friends have been chatting about it on Twitter and it sounds more enjoyable than I assumed it would be. What’s this I hear about a child protagonist? Sold!

A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett (1905) because I enjoyed The Secret Garden, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this. I also need to re-watch the adaptation, which I remember going to see in the cinema!

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf (1927) because Laura sent it to me as a gift and I’ve never read anything by Virginia Woolf.

Top Ten / Classics I Want to Read (Part 2)

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (1939) because I enjoyed Of Mice and Men and need to read more by John Steinbeck!

Nancy and Plum by Betty MacDonald (1952) because it’s one of the most recent Vintage Children’s Classics and it sounds just wonderful and charming, particularly to around Christmastime. ‘Big snowflakes fluttered slowly through the air like white feathers and made all of Heavenly Valley smooth and white and quiet and beautiful’.

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken (1962) because I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this children’s classic, and there will be a BBC adaptation later this year.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson (1962) because who wouldn’t be intrigued by a book with a character called ‘Merricat’?

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey (1962) because I’ve wanted to read this modern classic since studying Sociology.

I particularly want to read more modern classics and Gothic literature. Here’s to another year of discovering wonderful classics!

 

33 thoughts on “Top Ten / Classics I Want to Read (Part 2)

  1. What a great collection of classics! I remember reading and rereading The Grapes of Wrath as a teenager. Something about it really grabbed me. I also love East of Eden, have you read that one?

    Ken Kesey is from Oregon, same as me, so I always felt under pressure to read and enjoy his books. Thankfully I did. I still have another book by him on my shelf unread somewhere though…

  2. I’d like to read A Little Princess. I cried my eyes out every single time I watched the film so I’d love to read the original text. Great list! I’d like to read more classics this year.

  3. I hope you enjoy Dracula! It’s a really good example of Gothic fiction at its best!!

  4. Ahhh northanger abbey, So much love for it. I also have charlotte bronte’s “Shirley” sitting on my shelves coming up shortly- as a huge fan of Jane Eyre, I’m very excited to read more of her work
    I’ve also got We Have Always Lived in a Castle waiting for me too! : D that exact edition haha

  5. Fab picks! Wolves of Willoughby Chase is in my ten recommendations for the challenge today, hope you love that one – I’m fairly sure you will. I’m definitely tempted by Northanger, and maybe Grapes.

  6. I read The Little Princess when I was nine years old and I still remember it. It’s a very good book. Northanger Abbey is my least favourite of Austen’s work, I don’t know why I didn’t like it even though I adore her.
    Anyway you should add Lolita if you haven’t read it. xx

    • I’m sorry to hear that Northanger Abbey is your least favourite! What’s your favourite? And Lolita is definitely on my list too. I first heard about it around 8-9 years ago when my friend was reading it for class.

  7. Lots of GREAT books in there!! Enjoy!!

  8. I think you will like To The Lighthouse. I don’t know how much patience you have with slow, stream of consciousness writing, but most of what Virginia Woolf wrote give this impression of lushness, like a jungle of words. I love it! Really curious what you’ll make of it. Enjoy your list, it looks wonderful!

  9. Great list! This year I want to read more Charles Dickens. Right now I’m reading Great Expectations and I LOVE it, and I read A Tale of Two Cities over the summer. Have you read any of his other novels or writing?

  10. Your books have such beautiful covers Stacey! I read Northanger Abbey when I was in University, but I feel like my memory is quite fuzzy on that now, so I’m going to have to read it again. I didn’t get a chance to finish One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest in High School, so I probably should add that to my reading list. Have you seen the movie? Will you be reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall for your Classics Challenge by any chance? Enjoy all your books!

    • I hope you get to re-read both! I haven’t seen or read much about One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest really. I’m not sure which other classics I’ll be reading this year but I do own The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and would like to read more from the Brontes!

  11. great list! I wish I had thought of that. :O
    MY TOP TEN TUESDAY!

  12. I too have One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest on my TBR list and is one that I’ve really wanted to get to! It’s hard though as some of the topics aren’t exactly enticing and sometimes it keeps getting pushed down the list. I’m with ya to change that this year!

    Here is my list today :) http://busybrunettesbookshelf.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-books-i-want-to-reread.html

  13. I read The Wolves of Willoughby Chase when I was quite young not realising it was deemed a classic – I can’t remember much about it but I do remember enjoying it! Didn’t realise there’s going to be a BBC adaptation of it, I’ll keep my eye out for that.

  14. I cheated and read the Val McDermid version of Northanger Abby which is re-written in a modern day setting rather than the Gothic setting of Austen’s. It was part of a project on re-writing Austen novels to encourage more readers of her stories. I do need to read the original, though; it’s just not the same!

  15. Great topic choice for freebie week! I love the film adaptation for A Little Princess, makes me cry every single time! I really want to read Dracula too, should really have added that to my classic challenge too!
    Happy reading! :)

  16. Such a great list of classics. I’m planning to get to the last 2 Jane Austens that I haven’t read, and definitely some more Virginia Woolf, having only read Mrs Dalloway.

Leave a Comment

