Books Are For Life | The Re-Read Challenge 2015

Re-Read Challenge
Is it ludicrous to buy and keep books if I’m not going to re-read them? I love re-reading, but I don’t do it as often as I think I should (I’ve re-read 3 books this year). I used to be an avid re-reader when I was a young teenager, but when you’re a blogger – for this is the main reason! – you find out about a lot of books and consequentially buy, borrow and accept a lot of books, meaning that it’s difficult to find time to read books you’ve already read. I have books I’ve bought and borrowed, books I’m reading for work, and books I’ve accepted for review. But I really miss reading my favourite books and it’s easy to forget why they became a favourite in the first place.

Thank you Laura @ Scribbles and Wanderlust for telling me about this challenge, hosted by Hannah @ So Obsessed With and Kelly @ Belle of the Literati. It’s common for bloggers to mostly review newly published books, yet there’s a whole wonderful world of older books just waiting to be talked about. It’s one of the reasons why I’ve enjoyed reading classics (even though I haven’t read as many this year): I’ve loved talking about books that so many people have read before. If you wish you were able to re-read your older books, join in and stop feeling guilty about it! If you would like to blog about books you’ve re-read, but don’t want to write a typical review, Hannah and Kelly have put together fun questions you can answer each time:

WHEN I First Read
WHAT I Remember
WHY I Wanted to Re-Read
HOW I Felt After Re-Reading
WOULD I Re-Read Again

Easy! I can’t commit to a specific number of books (too much pressure!), but here’s a selection from the 669 books I’ve read, that I’d love to re-read:

The Milly-Molly-Mandy Storybook by Joyce-Lancaster Brisley (read aged 6)
Book of Shadows by Cate Tiernan (read aged 13)
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot (read aged 13)
The Girl from the Sea by James Aldridge (read aged 14)
Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman (read aged 16)
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (read aged 16)
The Time-Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (read many times, but first aged 16)
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (read aged 17)
Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy (read aged 17-18)
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (read aged 22)
Paper Towns by John Green (read aged 22)
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (read aged 23)
The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (read aged 24)

Visit the RE-READ tag to see which books I’ve read for the challenge.

16 thoughts on “Books Are For Life | The Re-Read Challenge 2015

  1. Yay! Glad to see you joining this challenge! (Great video, too. The best books are the ones you want to read over and over.)

    I haven’t read Time Traveler’s Wife in a very long time. Maybe that should be added to my ReRead2016 list ;)

    • The Time Traveler’s Wife is among the books I’ve re-read the most, but it’s been a VERY long time since I last re-read it! I’m a little nervous…

      Thanks again for telling me about the challenge :)

  2. Looks like a fun challenge!

  3. Love this post and totally agree with it. I have such a lot of books that I want to read for the first time that I feel like it’s somehow a waste of time to re-read ones I’ve already read. But I might well take the plunge and take this challenge in 2015!

  4. I love this idea! I love re-reads too but I have felt the pressure from blogging to keep doing new ones!

  5. […] I came to find out about the Re-Read Challenge from The Pretty Books I was immediately excited to take part, already having re-read quite a few books this year […]

  6. Definitely going to be re-reading books next year, I think because I’ll be too busy with a new job/city/life to actually buy and read new books constantly! I won’t be signing up officially but I’m definitely making it a resolution to re-read at least one or two books a month!

  7. The Time Traveler’s Wife is a book I return to year after year… Having said that I didn’t actually get round to it this year. Also, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a book I’m eager to reread.

    I’m a big rereader and I love it when fellow book lovers reread books as opposed to them just sitting gathering dust. Good luck!
    :-)

  8. […] Dahl and Agatha Christie to Charles Dickens and Charlotte Brontë, and I’ve signed up to the Re-Read Challenge, hosted by So Obsessed With and Belle of the Literati. From the British Books Challenge to the […]

  9. […] Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult was purchased from Waterstones, a rare occurrence because I hadn’t yet developed an affinity for bookshops, so only bought books online, and it quickly became my favourite Picoult novel. It’s one of the many books I want to read as part of the Re-Read Challenge! […]

  10. […] Published: 11th July 1960 Rating: ★★★★★ Challenge: Classics Challenge – #6 / Re-Read Challenge – #1 Buy: Hive More: […]

Leave a Comment

