Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul

Here’s most of the books I acquired over the past two months!

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient by Harriet Whitehorn and illustrated Becka Moor
Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher
The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard
Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
The Time In Between: A Memoir of Hunger and Hope by Nancy Tucker
Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates
My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins
Thirteen at Dinner, The ABC Murders & Funerals are Fatal by Agatha Christie
Us by David Nicholls

I know it looks like I went on a crazy book-buying spree, but actually I just have very kind friends (although I did buy books for Books Are My Bag!). Laura gave me a lovely old 1970s edition of a collection of three Agatha Christie novels as a gift because she stayed at my house over the summer, and she sent me To the Lighthouse because I mentioned I hadn’t read any books by Virginia Woolf. I stayed at Kate’s house for #DisneyWeekend (we watched 5 movies!) and she gave me Afterworlds (I’m intrigued that it’s about publishing!), Violet and the Pearl of the Orient (a beautifully illustrated and charming middle grade novel) and Everyday Sexism (an important book that we’ve all heard a lot about this year).

Jim gave me The Perfectionists, which I’m intrigued by even though I haven’t read Pretty Little Liars. Charlie invited me to a screening of This Is Where I Leave You a comedy about a dysfunctional family, where we received a copy of the book – and her housemate Beth gave me her spare copy of Ketchup Clouds – one of my favourite YA books. I won a copy of Us by David Nicholls, which I’m sharing with Daphne because we both desperately wanted it! I started it on the train back home and can’t wait to continue reading. I also received The Time In Between from Icon Books, where I used to work, which is a memoir of a young girl dealing with eating disorders. I adore the cover and cannot wait to see a finished copy.

Lastly, I did buy a book! I couldn’t resist pre-ordering My True Love Gave to Me, which is a collection of YA Christmas short stories edited by Stephanie Perkins. I’m most excited about her story and Rainbow Rowell’s, but I’ll be saving this for December.

Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul
Unspeakable
by Abbie Rushton
Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
Quarter Past Two On A Wednesday Afternoon by Linda Newbery
Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter
Unlocked: The Christmas Collection by Various
Frozen Charlotte by Alex Bell
Sleepless by Lou Morgan

I also downloaded a few eBooks for review. They are all contemporary novels, which appears to be my favourite at the moment. I’ve already read Belzhar, which I thoroughly enjoyed and you can read my review here. I haven’t yet read The Rosie Project but I’m more inclined to now that I can jump straight to the sequel, The Rosie Effect. Charlie recommended Unspeakable, about Megan, who hasn’t spoken in months. I was also attracted to Quarter Past Two On A Wednesday Afternoon because of the title and Every Ugly Word because of the cover, both very different books but both ones I’m looking forward to reading. And lastly, I bought two eBooks in the new YA crime fiction line, Red Eye: Frozen Charlotte and Sleepless, plus a Christmas novellas eBook, ready for December! The Red Eye books are not officially published until next year but are 59p on Kindle at the moment to introduce people to the new series.

Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul
Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul
I also blogged about my Books Are My Bag bookshop haul a couple of weeks ago!

bambhaul18

11 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / September & October Book Haul

  1. The US version of My True Love Gave To Me looks gorgeous! I just got the UK version and it’s lovely and pretty but I need the US one on my shelf too! Also, I love the illustrated cover of Violet and the Pearl of the Orient! Happy reading, Stacey!

  2. Can’t wait to hear what you think about Us.. I have read Starter For Ten and One Day now, and I’m intrigued as to what Us is like. I will hopefully read it soon. :)

  3. Oooh, will definitely pick up Everyday Sexism! Thanks for posting!

  4. You always take such lovely pictures of you books!

  5. Wow – great stack! I would love to read ‘Us’.

Leave a Comment

