#BookADayUK September | Week Four

#BookADayUK September | Week Four
I participated in #BookADayUK in June and after a little break, I thought I’d participate again in September. This month it’s hosted by We Love This Book. I’ve also been tweeting and posting a new photo on Tumblr every day, so here’s a recap of the last week! Clicking on each image takes you to the Tumblr post.

#BookADayUK September | Week Four

22nd: Best book recommended by a bookseller
I actually don’t think I’ve ever asked a bookseller for a recommendation! But I did make my next John Wyndham purchase The Midwich Cuckoos after a bookseller recommended it while I was buying The Day of the Triffids and The Chrysalids.

#BookADayUK September | Week Four

23rd: Favourite prize-winning book
Ketchup Clouds is one of my favourite books of the year so far and it won the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2013. It’s an example of superb storytelling and a novel that encapsulates beautiful writing. Ketchup Clouds draws you in straight away and doesn’t let go until you are finally given some answers.

#BookADayUK September | Week Four

24th: Book set in the 1920s
I haven’t read many books set in the 1920s, so I picked The Diviners by Libba Bray, which I’m finally going to read next month.

#BookADayUK September | Week Four

25th: A book recommended by your parents
I’m not too sure how it started, but my mother was on a North Korea kick two years ago. She asked me to find her a new book to read and I came across Nothing to Envy. After reading it, she told me I had to read it too!

26th: Favourite poetry collection
Unfortunately I very rarely read poetry and so I don’t have a selection for this!

#BookADayUK September | Week Four#BookADayUK September | Week Four

27th: A book set in your favourite country to visit
Wanderlove and The Sea Sisters made me want to pack up and head off to countries on my wishlist, like the USA, Italy and Australia. Although these books aren’t really set in those places, they made me want to travel!

#BookADayUK September | Week Four

28th: Literary troublemaker
I don’t have a favourite, but Mary-Mary is a lovely collection of witty and charming stories about Mary-Mary’s mischievous adventures.

#BookADayUK September | Week Four

29th: The book that made you question everything
It just felt strange to think that The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy device is really just an early version of reading Wikipedia on a Kindle.

#BookADayUK September | Week Four
30th: The best book you read this month
If you’re a fan of YA contemporary, especially UKYA, you’ll want to pick up Lobsters! It’s hilarious and honest. I don’t often laugh out loud, but I had to try to stop myself laughing on public transport. If you enjoyed Trouble, you’ll love this.

#BookADay September | Week One
Check out posts from week one, week two and week three.

2 thoughts on “#BookADayUK September | Week Four

  1. Hi!
    I found your blog and I loved it! I’m from Brazil, and I was looking for a review of Attachments, I bought this last week and arrived today. I’m very happy that I found a good (very good) review of it! The others that I’ve found was just … just
    I really liked your blog, and I’ll keep reading yours reviews … Keep like this!
    xoxo :*

    PS.: I liked this post too … lol

Leave a Comment

