#BookADayUK September | Week Two

#BookADayUK September | Week Two
I participated in #BookADayUK in June and after a little break, I thought I’d participate again in September. This month it’s hosted by We Love This Book. I’ve also been tweeting and posting a new photo on Tumblr every day, so here’s a recap of the second week! Clicking on each image takes you to the Tumblr post.

#BookADayUK September | Week Two

8th: Favourite literary dinner party
I’m terrible at picking characters to invite to fictional dinner parties, so I’ve chosen one of my favourite books featuring FOOD. Obviously I picked a book about cannibals. Matt Whyman’s The Savages is ‘dark humour at its best and I cannot imagine I’ll ever come across a book like it again’, I said in my book review. OH WAIT. I now have the SEQUEL, American Savage. I’m looking forward to devouring it.

#BookADayUK September | Week Two

9th: Your literary crush
I’ve now read all three books: Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door & Isla and the Happily Ever After, but I have to say that Etienne St. Clair is still my absolute favourite boy!

twoboys

10th: A book that gave you hope
I said in my review of Two Boys Kissing: ‘We have come far – during David Levithan’s Every Day event, where he also read a passage from Two Boys Kissing, he said he wouldn’t have been able to write it ten years ago – but we’ve not come far enough.’ But the fact that he was talking about this book at Waterstones Piccadilly, one of the largest bookshops in Europe, gives me hope that things will continue to change for the better.

#BookADayUK September | Week Two
11th: Best book recommended by a librarian
A Series of Unfortunate Events was recommended to me by our school librarian and I continued to read the series over the next few years, even after I had left school and started sixth form college.

#BookADayUK September | Week Two

12th: Favourite Austen Brontë character
I read Pride and Prejudice for the first time three and a half years ago and I actually cannot remember how I felt about the characters! I haven’t even watched my two DVD adaptations – clearly a re-read and TV marathon is in order. I’ve picked my favourite Charlotte Brontë character instead. It’s been two years since I first read Jane Eyre, but I still get excited talking about it and I still think Jane is a wonderful character – independent, honest, blunt and dignified.

#BookADayUK September | Week Two

13th: Favourite Roald Dahl character
It’s Roald Dahl Day today! Of COURSE I had to pick Matilda. I’m still working my way through my Roald Dahl box set but Matilda is my favourite character so far. “I’m wondering what to read next.” Matilda said. “I’ve finished all the children’s books”.

Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul

14th: The fictional character who is most like you
I said in my book review that if you’re reading Fangirl, you’re probably already a bit like Cath. I think a lot of people in the book community can see themselves in Cath, even if we’re not like her completely!

#BookADay September | Week One
Check out posts from week one.

5 thoughts on “#BookADayUK September | Week Two

  1. Etienne! Jane! Fangirl! *flails*

  2. Matilda is also my favourite Roald Dahl character, and book for that matter. I look forward to seeing your thoughts on other Roald Dahl books in the future… I didn’t actually do anything for Roald Dahl day itself, but I am putting up a post day spotlighting a few of my favourite Roald Dahl reads.
    :-)

  3. Anna and the French kiss is an awesome book. I loved it.

    I’ve nominated you for the Lovely Blog Award.
    http://amshuman.wordpress.com/2014/09/20/one-lovely-blog-award/

Leave a Comment

