Top Ten / Books People Have Been Telling Me to READ RIGHT NOW!

I participate in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week the theme is Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read. I’m always surrounded by bookish people, mainly book bloggers and publishing people (and sometimes they tend to be both!), but also booksellers and librarians. It means I get to hear about a lot of books. Here’s a list of books that these people have been telling me to read right now – I’ve picked a mix of books on my wishlist and books on my bookshelves (or Kindle), but just haven’t gotten round to reading yet (much to my friends’ despair). Click the book’s title to find out more about the book on Gooreads.

Top Ten / Books People Have Been Telling Me to READ RIGHT NOW!

Solitaire by Alice Oseman, especially around YALC when everyone was scrabbling to get a copy! Lucy, Debbie, Caitlin have been telling me to read it since and have all said it’s one of their favourite books of the year so far, which is very high praise indeed.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo because even though my friends know I’m not much of a fantasy reader, they think I’ll like this. After starting the Throne of Glass series and really enjoying it, I’m looking forward to giving this one a shot! Charlie in particular has been nudging me about it.

Wonder by R.J. Palacio is probably the middle grade novel that has been recommended to me the most. I finally got my own copy a couple of months ago, so I can’t wait to read it. I feel like the only one in the world who hasn’t.

Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison, which is another YA contemporary novel that everyone has been talking about. I’ve been promised that I’ll laugh out loud!

Far From You by Tess Sharpe is one I’ve borrowed from Debbie and still haven’t read (sorry Debbie!). It’s very high up on my TBR though!

Top Ten / Books People Have Been Telling Me to READ RIGHT NOW!

Lockwood & Co: The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud is one I’ve had on my Kindle since last October. I’m usually not one for paranormal entities, but there’s just something about ghosts that I love… My book blogger friends (who read all sorts of different genres) have all been telling me to read it. Perhaps I’ll read it in October as the sequel will be out then too!

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson because she’s one of my favourite authors (I loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and Second Chance Summer) and so people are surprised that I haven’t read her third novel yet. I’m surprised at myself too.

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell, which people aren’t necessarily telling me to read ‘RIGHT NOW’ since it’s not yet published, but I saw that my friend Anna was reading (and really enjoying) it, and there’s been a few quite excellent comments about it on Twitter so far. It’s the perfect excuse to buy this beautiful book. I also have tickets to see David Mitchell talk about it in a few months.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab, which is another YA fantasy novel that people have been raving about, particularly Caitlin and Daphne. I don’t like to miss out on excellent things, so I’ll give this one a go too.

The Scapegoat by Daphne du Maurier, which is the newest addition to the list! I was chatting to my friends Colette and Kate last week and they both said this should be the Daphne du Maurier novel that I read next, since I’ve already read Rebecca.

Have you read any of these? Which one should I READ RIGHT NOW?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten / Books People Have Been Telling Me to READ RIGHT NOW!

  1. I highly recommend Shadow and Bone. I’m not much of a fantasy reader, but I absolutely adored Shadow and Bone and quickly read the rest of the series. I hope you enjoy these books if you do get around to reading them.

  2. I love Wonder! I read it last year, as part of a shadowing scheme for the Carnegie Medal, and loved ot enough to buy my own copy. I recommended it to loads of my friends, and they all loved it too…I wish I could go back and read it again for the first time!

  3. You should definitely read Wonder although I cried buckets when I did so I’d really recommend a huge pack of Kleenex. LOL!

  4. Ooh yes definitely read Solitaire, Stacey! Lobsters is also really, really good! Caitlin and Daphne have also made me really want to read Vicious. Soon, hopefully!

    I hope you get to read some of these soon!

  5. I’ve been told to read Shadow and Bone as well! The covers for that trilogy are so beautiful! I’ve heard a lot about Vicious as well. I hope you enjoy all of the books when you get a chance to read them Stacey!

  6. I haven’t read Wonder either but everyone says it’s so wonderful (no pun intended) and Solitaire has been praised everywhere. More books to add to the TBR list.
    My TTT

  7. I haven’t read any of these but most of them are on my TBR and a few have also been recommended to me too, so I totally agree with every single one of your choices. Only problem now, what do I read first?!
    Great list! Enjoy reading :)

  8. I haven’t read any of the books you have mentioned but a lot of them are on my TBR list! (Shadow and Bone, Wonder, Since You’ve Been Gone, and The Bone Clocks!)

    My TTT

  9. Wonder is such a good read, I loved it a lot! xo

  10. I’ve read a couple on this list but the one I’d like to shout from the rooftops for more people to read (meaning you!) is Far From You. Read that one! :)

  11. Solitaire really have high praises and I’m looking forward to reading it too!

  12. I loved Wonder! I read it and last year and recommend to everyone. It certainly tugs at your heartstrings!
    I’ve had Shadow and Bone on my Kindle for what seems like forever. Maybe I should get around to reading that!

  13. […] Top Ten / Books People Have Been Telling Me to READ RIGHT NOW! […]

Leave a Comment

