Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul

I went to quite a lot of bookshops and bookish events in July, so here’s the latest book haul:

John Diamond by Leon Garfield
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Vivian Versus America by Katie Coyle
This Book is Gay by James Dawson
Hollow Pike by James Dawson
Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
The Templeton Twins Have an Idea by Ellis Weiner and illustrated by Jeremy Holmes
Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (UK Special Collector’s Edition)
Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley
The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (eBook)
The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (eBook)

You may know that #BookshopCrawl took place as part of Independent Booksellers Week last month and even thought I couldn’t participate, I did visit a few bookshops that day. Blackwell’s Charing Cross unfortunately has had to relocate, but that did mean they had an amazing 50% ‘move our stock’ sale. You’ll be pleased to know that I couldn’t go too crazy because I had to leave to meet my family for lunch. But before I left, I couldn’t resist two Vintage Children’s Classics editions: Little Women and John Diamond. I also bought The Templeton Twins Have an Idea because I added it to my wishlist two years ago. I was drawn to the cover and Lemony Snicket-style storyline. I also visited the wonderful Gosh! Comics the same day and picked up Relish: My Life in the Kitchen, which I’ve already read. It’s a perfect combination of books + illustrations + food. I’m looking forward to picking up her upcoming graphic memoir, An Age of License: A Travelogue. Rainbow Rowell came to visit the UK (I wrote about her event as part of the Landline blog tour) and so I picked up this special collector’s edition of Fangirl from Waterstones Piccadilly to get signed. It’s beautiful and I posted a few photos of it on Tumblr.

I also attended the UK’s first Young Adult Literature Convention (YALC) and purchased Vivian Versus America even though I haven’t yet read the first book, Vivian Versus the Apocalypse – I will do, promise! I donated a book to the book swap and picked up James Dawson’s Hollow Pike in return – I now have all his books! A few of my friends will be happy that I’ll finally get around to reading it. We were also given This Book is Gay and Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List at the Blogger Brunch. It was an incredibly fun convention, but the best part was meeting up with all my bookish friends.

I’m also a member of Caboodle because I received a few National Book Tokens gift cards this year and I got to claim a free book – Wuthering Heights. It’s now my second Penguin English Library edition; I also bought Two on a Tower in June. I’ve never read it, so it’s another one to add to my 2014 Classics Challenge. I was also given Elizabeth is Missing by a colleague after I said that I kept seeing it everywhere, and Finnikin of the Rock by a friend because it’s our August book club choice.

Lastly, a friend of mine pointed out that The Cuckoo’s Calling and its sequel were incredibly cheap on Kindle, so I thought I’d downloaded those because I bought the hardback of the physical book when it was revealed that J.K. Rowling was the author, but I still haven’t read it. It’s much too large to take with me on my commute to work, so I thought the eBook might be more of an incentive to finally pick it up!

Phew! I would like to add that I got most of these books in the first week and a half in July… I’ve been rather good since, but we’ll see how long that lasts.

Which books did you get in July?

Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul
Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul
(I’m sorry that these photos have awful colouring – this is what happens when I can’t take photos during daylight!)

14 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / July Book Haul

  1. I bought the Cuckoo’s Calling and The Goldfinch yesterday to see what all the fuss is about. Currently flying through the classics at the minute, most are free on kindle so handy out!

  2. A great haul – obviously I love the new World of Stories editions. That edition of Wuthering Heights is lovely. I have my own edition that is also appealing to the eye, although yours is grabbing my attention more! Lastly, I’ve been wondering about The Templeton Twins Have an Idea after featuring it in a cover art post of mine not too long ago – I’d love to know your thoughts!
    :-)

  3. I finished The Cuckoo’s Calling recently and really enjoyed it! I’m reading the Silkworm now and that’s really good so far, too!

    P.S I LOVE that edition of Fangirl!

  4. Love your editions of Wuthering Heights and Fangirl!

  5. Great book haul!! I’ve been wanting to read Elizabeth is missing, let me know your thoughts.

  6. Fangirl surprised me with how much I like dit. I’m not usually a fan of books written in that style (I’m one of the few who can’t seem to get really stuck in to John Green) but I LOVED Fangirl. Possibly because I’ve read a fair amount of fanfic myself and can recognise some of the things she’s drawn on but still, I found myself really really liking it.

  7. Ohh I love your edition of Fangirl! I really enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling but I’ve yet to start The Silkworm – heard really good things though so I’m excited to dive in soon! x

Leave a Comment

