#BookADayUK | Week Three

#BookADayUK | Week Three

The Borough Press is encouraging everyone to tweet a #BookADayUK (please note the hashtag change) all throughout June to celebrate Independent Booksellers Week, which begins 28th June. I’ve really enjoyed tweeting and posting a new photo on Tumblr every day, so here’s a recap of the third week! Clicking on each image takes you to the Tumblr post.

#BookADayUK | Week Three
16. Can’t believe more people haven’t read.

Children? Teenagers? Adults? It doesn’t matter – more people should read Clémentine Beauvais’ Sesame Seade Mysteries. It’s such a brilliantly smart and witty series, beautifully illustrated. You can read my review of the first book, Sleuth on Skates, here.

#BookADayUK | Week Three
17. Future classic.
It might seem obvious, but many people don’t think Harry Potter will stand the test of time, while I can’t imagine it not being a children’s classic.


#BookADayUK | Week Three
18. Bought on a recommendation.

I bought Girl With a White Dog after my friend Jim recommended it to everyone he knew!

#BookADayUK | Week Three

19. Still can’t stop talking about it.
I’ve been taking about middle grade a lot this year, but Liar & Spy is still one of my favourite middle grade mystery novels. I need to purchase my own copy because I borrowed it from the library.

#BookADayUK | Week Three
20. Favourite cover.
Okay, it’s actually impossible for me to pick a favourite cover. Impossible. After all, I started Pretty Books because I love so many different book covers and editions, new and old. But one of my favourite covers so far this year is for Dead Man’s Cove, which still manages give across that old children’s adventure-mystery feel, despite being a modern novel.

#BookADayUK | Week Three#BookADayUK | Week Three
21. Summer read.
I think Anna and the French Kiss will always be one of my favourite summer reads!

#BookADayUK | Week Three#BookADayUK | Week Three
22. Out of print.
I couldn’t track down this ‘Secrets & Lies’ edition of Resistance in bookshops because it’s out of print (or at least out of stock), so I had to buy it secondhand, but luckily it arrived in perfect condition!

#BookADayUK | Week Three

#BookADayUK

Check out posts from week one and week two.

2 thoughts on “#BookADayUK | Week Three

  1. How will Harry Potter not stand the test of time? That’s crazy talk! You have lots of people like me who will make their kids read them, they won’t get a choice, they will be HP fans lol

Leave a Comment

