Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

Here are the books I bought (and a few books I borrowed from friends) in May and June (so far):

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume
Forever by Judy Blume
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
A Drowned Maiden’s Hair by Laura Amy Schlitz
Say Her Name by James Dawson
Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens
It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison
Love, Lies and Lemon Pies by Katy Cannon
Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
The Skeleton Cupboard: Stories from a Clinical Psychologist by Tanya Byron (eBook)

It’s been a busy time for book events lately, which inevitably means I buy more books! I’d only read Summer Sisters by Judy Blume, but when it was announced that she would be visiting the UK, I knew I couldn’t miss out. It’s not every day that you get to go to an event with one of the pioneers of young adult literature! (A write-up of the event is hopefully coming soon). I’ve since read Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret (review coming soon) and really quite enjoyed it. I couldn’t resist these beautiful new US editions.

I attended the opening of the new Foyles Charing Cross bookshop (it’s beautiful, by the way). I’m all about nostalgia and I want to be able to say in 50 years that I was there when it opened, and be able to talk about the books that I bought: Burial Rites (it had been on my wishlist since last September!), It’s Kind of a Funny Story (I’ve been wanting to read it since Ned Vizzini passed away) and A Drowned Maiden’s Hair (the cover had caught my eye several times before).

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

I also attended two lovely book launches, one for Robin Stevens’ Murder Most Unladylike, where I had a great time taking photographs – you can read Robin’s blogpost about it here – and James Dawson’s Say Her Name. I love publishing events and book launches are among my favourites to attend because they’re full of books, authors, treats and friends. My friend Jim also gave me this super awesome mug!

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

Two of my wonderful book blogging friends loaned me books (again). Jim loaned me Love, Lies and Lemon Pies (it sounds like a really fun read) and Lobsters (and same here). Debbie loaned me Jodi Picoult’s new novel, Leaving Time, described as ‘ her most gripping mystery since House Rules‘, which is one of my favourites. And lastly, I downloaded The Skeleton Cupboard, a digital review copy, about the author’s ‘account of her years of training as a clinical psychologist, when trainees find themselves in the toughest placements of their careers‘. I studied sociology, but took quite a few psychology courses at university and always found them fascinating, so I can’t wait to read this.

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

I also have a few non-bookish photographs for you! I headed to Paperchase yesterday to purchase new stationery for when I start my new job next month. (I know I don’t need to buy my own stationery, but you know, any excuse). I’m not sure why (unless it’s something to do with all the blue), but I’ve always been drawn to nautical designs and in this case, I got a bit carried away…

Have you read any of these?

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul
Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul
Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul
Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

6 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / May & June Book Haul

  1. I read It’s Kind of a Funny Story a while back. Slightly disappointed; I thought it was poorly structured. Interested to see what you think.

  2. Love the stationary! I wish we had Paperchase in America; we have similar stores but I always love the cards my friend sends me from the UK! I’m also v interested in Murder Most Unladylike and Love, Lies, and Lemon Pies- hadn’t heard of that one before your post! I looked it up and it sounds adorable. Plus “for fans of Louise Rennison” doesn’t hurt. Great post, I’ll be checking out more of your blog! Love to find UK books I haven’t heard of.

    • I really love Paperchase, but it’s always a terrible idea to go in because you won’t just see ONE thing you like! Murder Most Unladylike was just published this month while Love, Lies, and Lemon Pies was published last month, so they’re both brand new. I hope you enjoy them both when you manage to track down copies. And thanks so much for following, Morgan!

  3. I cant get over how fabulous your photos are! Lobsters and Love,Lies and Lemon Pies are two of my favourite contemporaries of this year, so I really hope you like them. Also, that stationary is adorable. I can spend so much money in Paperchase!

Leave a Comment

