#BookADayUK | Week One

#BookADay | Week One
The Borough Press is encouraging everyone to tweet a #BookADayUK all throughout June to celebrate Independent Booksellers Week, which begins 28th June. I’ve really enjoyed tweeting and posting a new photo on Tumblr every day, so here’s a recap of the first week! Clicking on each image takes you to the Tumblr post.

#BookADay | Week One#BookADay | Week One1st. Favourite book from childhood.
I have so many favourite childhood books, from Enid Blyton to Jacqueline Wilson, but many of them have been taken to my mum’s house, so I only have one to show you. I adored the St. Clare’s (and Malory Towers) series, although I’m pretty sure I originally listened to the audiobooks (on tape!).

#BookADay | Week One #BookADay | Week One2nd. Best bargain.
I found The Secret History in a used bookshop for only 50p, which I was rather pleased with. I’m planning to read it this month and it’ll be my first Donna Tartt.

#BookADay | Week One3rd. One with a blue cover.
All right, so it’s not all blue, but the back is blue and the spine is blue and it’s all just so beautiful. Here’s my review of I Capture the Castle.

#BookADay | Week One4th. Least favourite book by favourite author.
Chamber of Secrets is probably my least favourite Harry Potter book (although, when I re-read it or watch the movie, I’m always surprised to find that I enjoy it more than I think!). If you’re wondering, my favourite book (and movie) is Prisoner of Azkaban.

#BookADay | Week One5th. Doesn’t belong to me.
I borrowed this copy of Far From You from my friend Debbie, who is a fellow book blogger!

#BookADay | Week One6th. The one I always give as a gift.
I actually rarely give books as gifts because I know how difficult it is to get it right. But if I were to, I’d probably give a beautiful edition of something, like one of these copies of Jane Eyre.

#BookADay | Week One7th. Forgot I owned it.
As much as I love eBooks, I often forgot that I have them. Fire Spell is one of the many books I probably would have read by now if I could actually see it on my bookshelves!

#BookADay | Week One8th. Have more than one copy.
I ended up with multiple copies of John Green’s books. I actually wrote a blogpost about my Abundance of John Green earlier this year for Alaska Young Day.

#BookADay

8 thoughts on “#BookADayUK | Week One

  1. Those are such gorgeous editions of Harry Potter!

  2. I want your Marauder’s Map mug…

    You chose some great books for each day! I’m looking forward to seeing Future Classic and One I Reread Most Often.

  3. I love The Secret History. I have three copies of it! The writing is really beautiful.

  4. […] I LOVE her photography and seeing all the books together is just so lovely! Check out week one, here, and week two, […]

  5. […] out posts from week one and week […]

Leave a Comment

