On Pretty Books in March

I love reading other bloggers’ monthly wrap-up posts. I’ll admit, I don’t check Bloglovin’ every day – or even every week – so these posts encourage me to read more blogposts because they’re all linked to in one place! Here’s what was on Pretty Books in March.

Okay, this year really needs to stop going so fast. I feel like it’s nearly 2015 and I’m not quite ready for that. Again, I didn’t read as many books as I hoped to this month (Goodreads tells me I’m five books behind schedule, but I’m hoping to finish two more this weekend).

Books Read in March
Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
The Key to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Just One Day by Gayle Forman
Just One Year by Gayle Forman
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett*
The BFG by Roald Dahl*

I have read 20/100 books so far this year!

The BFG

Favourite Book Read in March
I only gave one book 5* last month – The BFG by Roald Dahl, although I really enjoyed all of the books I read and gave the majority of them 4*. I finally got the chance to read Skulduggery Pleasant, which is one I wouldn’t have picked up on my own before, but I really like it. I became curious after seeing loads of my friends talking about it on Twitter. But The BFG was just wonderful. I had an inkling I’d love it as I’m familiar with the animation (which I really wanted to re-watch, but I only own it on VHS!), but I wasn’t 100% sure as it seems like it’s one of the more whimsical stories. I adored both Sophie and the Big Friendly Giant! I shall post my thoughts once I’ve read two more Roald Dahl books. I’m thinking that The Witches might be next, but we’ll see. I’m also happy that I read two more classics towards my challenge. I have no idea which one I’ll pick this month! I expect it’ll be fiction rather than children’s though.

On Pretty Books in February
Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)
Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)
Book Reviews: Suite Scarlett & The Key to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson
Book Review: Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher
Books for Book Lovers: In Pictures

Sesame Seade

Currently Reading
I’ve just finished Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan, which I thought was beautiful and thought-provoking. I’ve just started Gargoyles Gone AWOL, sequel to Sleuth on Skates (my favourite book last month), and then I’ll read the third book, Scam on the Cam. They’re just what I need this weekend.

April Radar

On My Radar
Some of my friends set up a book club called #aryaclub (Adults Read YA, plus a fun Game of Thrones reference as a bonus) and this month we’ll be reading both Glaze by Kim Curran and Dead Man’s Cove by Lauren St. John. I also thought I’d give shojo manga a shot, so I ordered Ouran High School Host Club (recommended by Priscilla) and added Fruits Basket and Cardcaptor Sakura to my wishlist. I don’t believe I’ve read manga before, so it should be interesting!

Risa Rodil

On Pretty Books the Tumblr
I discovered Risa Rodil’s wonderful Tumblr, where she posts her amazing art and typography posters, like this one illustrating one of my favourite quotes from The Fault in Our Stars. I posted the news that Bloomsbury UK are publishing new Harry Potter covers later this year, that The Maze Runner trailer was finally released, and a video showing this awesome pop-up guide to Westeros. I also love these inspiring quotes from children’s literature. I was glad to see that blogpost on 25 Books for Book Lovers also seemed to go down quite well on Tumblr!

Beyond the Books
It was my birthday last month and my family and I headed to Canterbury for the day. I’d never been before, but it’s so pretty and actually quite close to London, so I definitely want to go back. We spent most of our time sitting/walking around in the sun, at Canterbury Cathedral or on the riverboat tours. As expected, I got a few lovely bookish presents for my birthday, including National Book Tokens and Tired of London, Tired of Life. I also received chocolate, Veronica Mars Seasons 2-3 and lots of lovely Lush products. I also treated myself to the Game of Thrones Seasons 1-3 box set as I want to re-watch them all while S4 is on.

At work, we’ve all been preparing for the London Book Fair next week, which I always enjoy. I work for a small company so it’s helpful to walk around the fair, seeing what all the other publishers are doing, and attending seminars. At the beginning of the month, I went to the theatre with Caitlin to see The Final Revelation of Sherlock Holmes, which I actually quite enjoyed! I had no idea as to whether I would because I only know Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock…

I also went to Drink, Shop, Do with Jim, Caitlin, Debbie and Daphne as it was their Speakeasy night, with readings from wonderful authors: James Dawson, Tanya Byrne, Non Pratt, Tom Pollock, Tom Easton and Sophie Lovett. It was a fun night involving baby otters with hats on and an overturned bin in Whitechapel… And I also went to a panel on children’s classics, which was brilliant and I’m hoping I’ll be able to type up my notes for a blogpost at some point!

Tell me about your month!

You can also sign up to receive a monthly email containing a selection of posts from Pretty Books on Tumblr and WordPress!

Leave a Comment

