Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)I posted February & March Book Haul (Part 1) last week, where I shared the books I bought over the past two months, but here are the books I received for review, books received as gifts and books I borrowed.

Gargoyles Gone AWOL by Clémentine Beauvais
Scam on the Cam by Clémentine Beauvais
By Any Other Name by Laura Jarratt
Severed Heads, Broken Hearts by Robyn Scheider
The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Boys Don’t Knit by T.S. Easton
The Madness by Alison Rattle
The End of the World as We Know It by Iva-Marie Palmer
Little Women by Louisa May Allcott
Tired of London, Tired of Life: One Thing to Do a Day in London by Tom Jones

I have lovely friends who gave me a few books. Cait gave me Gargoyles Gone AWOL and Scam on the Cam as I loved Sleuth on Skates – I cannot wait to snuggle up with a blanket one Sunday and devour them both. Jim gave me By Any Other Name and Severed Heads, Broken Hearts (also known as The Beginning of Everything in the US), two YA contemporary novels that had been on my wishlist.

I received Don’t Look Back (YA thriller), Boys Don’t Knit (humour/contemporary), The Madness (YA historical) and The End of the World as We Know It (YA science fiction/humour) for review and they all sound fantastic. I heard T.S. Easton read from Boys Don’t Knit recently and it was very enjoyable and very funny. I also love this GIF of the American cover for Don’t Look Back:

Don't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

A colleague gave me a beautiful copy of Little Women, which hopefully I’ll get to read this year, and I borrowed The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry from another colleague, which I included in 25 Books for Book Lovers. I cannot wait to get stuck in as I love books about books. And lastly, it’s my birthday today (I’m writing this in advance!) and I received Tired of London, Tired of Life because I love exploring London. It’s perfect timing too as I don’t really enjoy walking around London in the winter!

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)And I downloaded a few digital review copies as per usual…

Poppy by Mary Hooper
Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski
Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens
Smart by Kim Slater
Half Bad by Sally Green
Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu

I’m probably most excited about Half Bad (I need to see what everyone’s talking about!) and Murder Most Unladylike (1930s + boarding school + mystery = perfection), but they all sound like just my sort of thing. Don’t Even Think About It, Say What You Will (also known as Amy & Matthew) and Life by Committee are three YA contemporary novels and Smart is a contemporary middle grade mystery while Poppy is Mary Hooper’s latest novel, set during the First World War.

I’ve also been to another blogger event, this time at Hot Key Books, so I’ll post links to write-ups below when my fellow bloggers post them, so you can see which books we were told about and given!

Hot Key Books
A Day Dreamer’s Thoughts (and video)
Luna’s Little Library

And last, but not least, here’s some pretty photos of books…

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)
Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)
Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)

15 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 2)

  1. Lucy @ Queen of Contemporary

    I must read the Sesame Seade books soon – they look and sound awesome!
    Amy & Matthew is a really gorgeous book and I loved it when I read it last month. I hope you enjoy it, Stacey!

    Happy reading! :D

  2. Murder Most Unladylike has my interested – I hope we’ll be hearing your thoughts on that one. Also, that’s a lovely edition of Little Women – I have the World of Stories edition but I’d mostly definitely happily swap it for this vintage look edition.

    I would have loved Tired of London, Tired of Life, as a gift whilst living in London – I have since moved from my hometown to Wales and so the present would kind of being silly now.

    Enjoy your books – and I hope you had a lovely birthday.
    :-)

  3. Love all the YA books here – glad you got to acquire them from a variety of sources! On a random note, the bed sheet background really enhances the aesthetic appeal of the books in your pictures. (:

  4. Once again, great books! And I just love your edition of Little Women. It’s so…so…so fetch!

  5. Can’t wait to see what you think of Half Bad.
    Smart is on my TBR list too – don’t you just LOVE that cover?!

  6. Yay for Sesame Seade! I think you will LOVE Murder Most Unladylike & hope you love DETAI too as I thought it was FAB

    Cait x

  7. happy birthday ! you’re one of my favorite book blogs. i hope you have a great time :)

Leave a Comment

