Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)

Here’s a bunch of books I purchased over the past two months. I’ve had to split this book haul into two parts because otherwise I’d have taken a ton of photos! Come back next week to see the books I acquired through other means (sounds ominous, but it’s not…!).

The Midnight Picnic: A Laura Marlin Mystery by Lauren St. John
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Girl with a White Dog by Anne Booth
Trouble by Non Pratt
If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch
Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell
Resistance by Owen Sheers
The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

I went on a bit of a book-buying spree this month. I bought Trouble, If You Find Me and Rooftoppers on World Book Day from Waterstones Islington. I have already read Trouble, but I wanted to own a lovely finished copy. If you love YA contemporary, you’ll want to read this one. If You Find Me and Rooftoppers are both shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Prize, so I thought I’d give them a shot as they’ve both received immense praise from reviewers and booksellers.

I went to Waterstones Gower Street yesterday, which I think is my favourite Waterstones (it’s old and like a maze), and I bought The Midnight Picnic. It wasone of the £1 World Book Day stories and Dead Man’s Cove is the first in the series, which I really want to read – it’s a children’s Famous Five-type mystery series. I also adore the covers – they’re just perfect. I then bought Girl with a White Dog as there’s been a bit of an online buzz about it. It was published this month and Jim in particular has been pushing it onto everyone! I’m not one to be left out of the loop, so I thought I’d buy it as it’s my sort of middle grade novel, about a little girl who starts learning about Nazi Germany at school. I also picked up The Remains of the Day as it’s been on my wishlist for a while. It totally counts as a modern classic, right? And because you all know how much I love Vintage Children’s Classics, I purchased The Secret Garden to read as part of my 2014 Classics Challenge and add to my collection. I’m really enjoying it so far and it’s made me get out the movie!

And lastly, I spontaneously bought The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks after reading We Were Liars (review coming soon!). E. Lockhart is hailed as one of the best writers of YA contemporary, so I wanted to finally read her most popular novel. And I bought Resistance because the pretty cover attracted my attention and because it’s a ‘beautifully written and powerful story set during an imagined occupation of Britain by Nazi Germany in World War II’.

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)I also purchased some eBooks…

Take Me Home by Daniela Sacerdoti
Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah
A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson
The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

I’m one of those people who downloaded The Shock of the Fall just after it won the Costa, sorry not sorry. I bought it back in January, but I forgot to include it last time. A Boy Called Hope is a beautiful middle grade novel that I had been following via social media and I also bought Firefly Lane, about two friends growing up in the 1970s – and Kristin Hannah’s most popular novel – as well as Take Me Home, because I already have Daniela Sacerdoti’s other novel, Watch Over Me.

Stay tuned for Part 2 next week! edit: Here it is!

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)

Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)

19 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / February & March Book Haul (Part 1)

  1. Jaden (Booklol16)

    You got some great books i really went read rooftopppers the cover loooks beatfuil.

  2. As always, your pictures are fantabulous and your books even more so. I wish we had a Waterstones here in the Philippines. I always see UK bloggers and booktubers raving about it and it makes me so jealous! Your edition of The Secret Garden looks terrific! I just love the movie and how it hints at a Mary/Dickon relationship (heh). They will always be my biggest ship, apart from Jo March and Laurie Lawrence from Little Women. I also need to check out Kazuo Ishiguro’s works. I’ve been meaning to buy one of Ishiguro’s books but I just never get around to doing so!

    Happy reading, Stacey! Can’t wait to see part 2 of your haul. :)

    • Waterstones is the only chain bookshop we have here in the UK since Borders shut down a while ago. But there’s plenty of indie bookshops of course, which reminds me – I need to start blogging about them again. But thank you, Kayla :D I’m liking Dickon. I don’t remember him from the film (or much about it at all really) but I’ve just ‘met’ him in the book. I’ve read Never Let Me Go, but The Remains of a Day seems very different. I hope I enjoy it – my colleagues persuaded me to read it.

  3. I own that exact edition of The Secret Garden – it’s beautiful, isn’t it?

    Have you read The Shock of the Fall yet? I purchased a paperback version a towards the end of last year and devoured it rather quickly. It’s packed with emotion and very moving. I have a review of it on my blog, in case you was interested.

    I’ve a new edition to my wishlist from your haul – A Boy Called Hope.

    Thanks for sharing!
    :-)

    • Yes! I need to get Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea next, but they keep publishing more and more!

      I haven’t read The Shock of the Fall yet. I hope I get to soon. I find it harder to start reading eBooks because I can’t see them on my shelves. I’ll check out your review!

      I hope you enjoy A Boy Called Hope if you get to read it :)

  4. Rooftoppers! A great choice :)

  5. All of these books have such gorgeous covers and spines! I particularly love that edition of The Secret Garden, it looks like it conveys the story perfectly.

  6. What a lovely haul, everything is so colourful and well designed. I’m currently reading The Shock of The Fall and really enjoying it.

    And I have the same edition of The Secret Garden! :)

  7. What camera do you use to take pictures of books with?

  8. prisailurophileblog

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks is excellent! :)

  9. I always love your pictures of books, so beautiful, clean and pretty :)
    I can’t waiy to devour Frankie Landau-Banks too, it seems fun but I just haven’t time to read it yet. Happy reading, Stacey!

  10. […] posted February & March Book Haul (Part 1) last week, where I shared the books I bought over the past two months, but here are the books I […]

Leave a Comment

