On Pretty Books in January

I love reading other bloggers’ monthly wrap-up posts. I’ll admit, I don’t check Bloglovin’ every day – or even every week – so these posts encourage me to read more blogposts because they’re all linked in one place! Here’s what was on Pretty Books in January. I think I’ve had a pretty good reading and blogging month considering how busy it’s been at work, but I was hoping to read 10-12 books this month. I’ll work on it! January’s an odd month because it still feels like 2013 yet suddenly it’s February. Although I’m daunted by how huge my ‘to be read’ pile is, I’m also incredibly excited by all the fantastic books I’ll get to read this year. I want to read more classics, middle grade, adult fiction, non-fiction, and young adult genres that I love, but don’t get to read as much. Yes, all the books.

Books Read in January
Fortunately, the Milk… by Neil Gaiman
Champion by Marie Lu
Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
You Are the Music by Victoria Williamson
Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie (Classics Challenge #1)
One Hundred Great Books in Haiku by David M. Bader
The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee

I have read 8/100 books so far this year!

Book Review: Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

Favourite Book(s) Read in January
Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead. I aiming to read more middle grade fiction this year and Liar & Spy was one of the first I picked up and gosh, has it set high standards! Liar & Spy is so incredibly sophisticated and smart – heartfelt and moving, but still incredibly enjoyable. It has a wonderful host of characters that Rebecca Stead imagines brilliantly and realistically. I would also suggest checking out When You Reach Me. Rebecca Stead is now one of my favourite middle grade authors and I cannot wait until her next book!

Added to the Bookshelves
Behold the Pretty Books / December & January Book Haul
An eBook Haul

On Pretty Books in January
Book Review: Champion by Marie Lu
Book Review: The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead
Book Reviews: When You Reach Me and Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead
Book Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
Book Review: The Lost Daughter by Diane Chamberlain
Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
Top 10 / 2014 Débuts I’m Excited For
Top 10 / Things On My Reading Wishlist
2014 Classics Challenge
An Abundance of John Green
2013 End of Year Survey

Currently Reading
I haven’t chosen what to read next, but I’ve just finished Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh and absolutely loved it. Will it be my favourite book read in February? You’ll have to wait and see!

On My RadarOn My Radar
I own all of these books, which are all fairly new, so hopefully I’ll get to read them this month – but I don’t like to plan what to read in advance, so shh, you never heard me. (Although I do want to read The Book Thief before the adaptation is released here later this month…).

Bird by Crystal Chan
Sleuth on Skates by Clementine Beauvais, illustrated by Sarah Horne
A Room Full of Chocolate by Jane Elson

On Pretty Books the Tumblr
Yes! If you don’t know, Pretty Books started on Tumblr. In January, I posted quite a few of Powell’s #LetsTalkBooks illustrations, which I love and they always get me thinking. I’ve added my responses in the tags! I posted my two overflowing TBR jars and this wonderful animated illustration of a girl reading on a rainy day. That’s me lately. Of course, I had to share The Fault in Our Stars trailer. And I’d love to see more book covers that have a little short story on the front plus a photograph of my new The Babysitter’s Club book sparked a round of nostalgia on Tumblr! I also love this alphabet of books.

Beyond the Books
As I said, it’s been a super busy month! If you’re new to Pretty Books, I work for a book publisher. It’s now February, which means I’ve spent the past month getting our catalogue together, ordering fun (and sometimes edible) goodies for our sales representatives, coordinating marketing campaigns, writing lots and lots of sales points and updating 6 months’ worth of metadata! I can tell you now that publishing does not involve sitting around reading books all day, no siree. But when I’m not at work, I’ve been attending YA blogger parties (read more about that here!), watching Frozen (and getting Let It Go stuck in my head all day), and visiting William Curley’s Dessert Bar with Cait, Daphne, Faye and Debbie. It’s exactly what it sounds like! And on Netflix, I’m watching Orange is the New Black, Breaking Bad, Bomb Girls and a few movies.

Tell me about your month!

You can also sign up to receive a monthly email containing a selection of posts from Pretty Books on Tumblr and WordPress!

6 thoughts on “On Pretty Books in January

  1. Metadata. Of course you do that at work — it’s reflecting on your blog! You’re doing a great job.

    Also, FROZEN. Did you hear? It’s going on Broadway, and I seriously hope Idina Menzel will play Elsa for the opening cast. “Let It Go” is going to be another iconic Disney song. I proudly blast it in my studio — the neighbors probably don’t like it ;)

    • It suddenly hits me that, as a Goodreads Librarian, I update metadata for FUN. It’s absurd, but I also cannot help myself. Thank you, Laura :)

      I did hear! I wish I could see it again, but I saw it quite late and it’s not really showing any more. I’ll be eagerly awaiting the DVD.

  2. I also watched Frozen in January. I found it okay, but I didn’t love it. I love Let It Go though and have head Do You Want to Build a Snowman in my head all week. In English, and Polish! Confusing!
    Sleuth on Skates looks like so much fun and it looks like something that will be so exciting to read.
    I should also read The Book Thief this month. I’ve started it. Just need to finish it now!

    Sounds like you had a great January, Stacey! :D

  3. I’ve been wanting to read Liar and Spy for ages! I adored When you Reach Me :) I managed to see Frozen twice because my 3yo loved it so hard, now we get to be heard yelling ‘Do you wanna build a Snowman?!’

Leave a Comment

