Behold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book Haul

Here are the books I acquired over the past two months!

The Babysitters Club Collection (#1-3) by Ann M. Martin
Ottoline and the Yellow Cat by Chris Riddell
Ottoline Goes to School by Chris Riddell
Ottoline at Sea by Chris Riddell
Bird by Crystal Chan
A Room Full of Chocolate by Jane Elson
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
Burn by Monica Hesse
Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
Salvage by Keren David

I was talking about The Babysitters Club with Debbie on Twitter last year and I don’t think I’ve actually ever read the books, so I decided to buy this omnibus secondhand. (And she bought the first 45 books in the series!). I was also given a few books (Bird and A Room Full of Chocolate) by two lovely publishing friends, Helen and Cait. Bird featured on my Top Ten / 2014 Debuts I’m Excited For and A Room Full of Chocolate sounds like just my kind of middle grade novel.

Waterstones had a 20% off everything sale this weekend, so I bought a few books that had been on my wishlist for a while. Chris Riddell’s Ottoline novels sound adorable – and you may remember that I bought Goth Girl recently too. Ready Player One had been on my wishlist the longest, almost two years! I hope it’s worth the wait! As I love ‘all the things’, I had to buy Hyperbole and a Half, which I’m reading at the moment and loving. I finally tracked down a copy of Hollow City, the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. And lastly, I received Burn (sequel to Stray) and Salvage for review. Salvage turned up unexpectedly so I don’t know too much about it, but it’s receiving a lot of praise so far from fellow bloggers!

Behold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book Haul

Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts by Mary Gibson
The Tin Snail by Cameron McAllister
Season to Taste or How to Eat Your Husband by Natalie Young
The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler
Sunrise by Mile Mullin
Boy in the Tower by Polly Ho-Yen

As always, I cannot seem to stop buying/downloading eBooks. (I wrote about my recent eBook haul). I downloaded Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts because it sounds like a sweeter, safer version of the TV show Bomb Girls, which I loved – it’s about a group of girls who work in a bomb factory during WWII. (It’s available on Sky and Netflix! Go watch it!). At RHCP’s recent blogger event, we were told about The Tin Snail (a delightful children’s novel set during the 1940s), The Forbidden Library (perfect for the bookish) and also Boy in the Tower (which was compared to The Day of the Triffids!) so I had to download review copies. I want to purchase a finished copy of The Forbidden Library, especially as it’s a beautiful book. And I’ve been curious about Season to Taste or How to Eat Your Husband since Daphne bought it on one of our many bookstore trips, so I downloaded that review copy too. I loved Ashfall, so I really need to catch up with Ashen Winter and Sunrise.

Behold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book Haul

Just One Day by Gayle Foreman
Just One Year by Gayle Foreman
The Key to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson
Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher
Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
One Hundred Great Books in Haiku by David M. Bader
Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead (not pictured as I’ve already read it and taken it back!)

Aaaand I’ve also been going to the library a lot more lately. I wouldn’t have requested so many, but I thought it’d take a while for them all to come in. It didn’t… I’m most excited to read Just One Day & Just One Year plus Skulduggery Pleasant, which is one of Cait’s favourite middle grade series. I’m hoping I can read all of these without having to take them back!

And, of course, I have to share with you pretty photos of pretty books…

I’ve also been lucky enough to attend YA blogger events at Simon & Schuster, Walker Books, Faber & Faber, Hachette, Random House & Oxford University Press Children’s recently, so I’ll link to other bloggers’ write ups below so you can see the books we were given and the upcoming books we were told about. I’ll update this post as they appear!

Faber Children’s
The Pewter Wolf
We Sat Down
Luna’s Little Library
Readaraptor!

Random House Children’s Publishers
We Sat Down
Luna’s Little Library
Writing from the Tub
Readaraptor!

Simon & Schuster Children’s
Bart’s Bookshelf

Walker Books
Readaraptor!
Sister Spooky

OUP Children’s
Death, Books and Tea
Eventide Reads

Phew! 2014 will be a busy year.

Behold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book Haul

35 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / December & January Book Haul

  1. Super awesome book haul! I’ve heard nothing but great things about Ready Player One. I’m hoping to grab a copy for myself soon :D Let me know how it is :D

  2. I own Just One Day. I sure hope it isn’t the same old YA romance type thing. Great haul. :)

  3. I’ll go ahead and say that Bird looks really, really pretty. I haven’t heard of it before, but it does look beautiful! I,too, bought lots of books in December and January. I hope you enjoy most –if not all– of them! :D

  4. Those books are SO PRETTY!!! I am definitely jealous right now :) I’ve been wanting to read Ketchup Clouds for a while, since I’ve heard that it’s a great book. There’s something about the winter months that makes me want to buy books, and I’ve definitely felt that way this year! Great book haul!

  5. Awesome haul, Stacey! Sooo many books! I had an omnibus of the first three Babysitter’s Club books when I was younger. I really enjoyed them back then! I received Bird this week, and I’m so looking forward to reading it! I really, really want to read Ready Player One, and I have Skullduggery Pleasant to read, which my whole family rave about. Just One Day! I neeeed to read that! So many good books! Happy reading! :)

  6. Jaden (Booklol16)

    Skulduggger plesant is the best book ever and did knew if stere at Hollow city loooks creepy thank should not took pic of the cover (P.S read skulduggery pleaset now)
    reviewed skuldugger pleslanet on my blog.

    http://booklol16blog.wordpress.com/2014/02/01/skulduggrey-plesanet-by-derek-landy/

  7. The cover of Bird is really beautiful.

    I keep seeing brand new copies of Chris Riddell in the oxfam bookshop that I volunteer in because magazines and newspapers donate them to us. It is getting increasingly harder not to grab them for myself.

  8. I found Ready Player One the other week and didn’t buy it, so when I went back for it today it was gone. Typical! I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts, and if it’s worth it. It does seem so!
    I loved Salvage so much, and I hope you do, too! Let me know once you’ve read it so we can discuss!

    Happy reading, Stacey! :D

  9. You’ve never read The Babysitters Club?! I used to love those books as a child.

    I got Salvage recently too, I’ve heard good things about it. I’ve not read anything by Chris Riddell, but I think his illustrations are amazing.

    Enjoy your haul.

  10. wow, so many good books! They all look really good, you’ll have to let us know how they are.
    You’re so lucky to be invited to YA book events as well, that sounds awesome!

    Happy reading!
    Nat x

  11. Adore your hardcover of Bird! Such a fantastic haul and pretty photos :)

  12. love your book haul! happy reading!! :D

  13. I love the cover of Bird! Really hope you enjoy A Room Full of Chocolate and that you get the chance to read Skulduggery Pleasant which, yes, is one of my fave middle grade things ever

    Cait x

  14. Yay for pretty books! I’m glad you bought Season to Taste and you finally got your hands on Just One Day. Let me know when you want to start the buddy read!

    Also, I’m so glad you’ve picked up The Babysitters’ Club series. This was one of my true middle grade favourites so I hope you enjoy it!

  15. So many books …so little time…

Leave a Comment

