Top Ten / Things On My Reading Wishlist

I participate in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week the theme is Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist. I picked ten things I’d love to see more of in young adult and children’s fiction, but you know, not too much because we all saw what happened to dystopia…

More Southern states…
I have a slight fascination with the American South, which likely started with Taylor Swift. I know, I know, I’m sorry. I probably have a completely warped view of what it’s actually like, but if Carrie Underwood and Hart of Dixie are anything to go by, I really need to read a YA novel set in the South. I also cannot think of anywhere else in the US that’s so completely, culturally different to the UK. And so I’m intrigued.

Top Ten / Travelling in Books
More road trips…

I will be surprised if I don’t see ‘road trips’ on many more lists today! It’s also another alien concept to me because if you have a road trip in the UK, you won’t have to travel very far before you reach Scotland. And then you’ll have to turn around again. I love Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, Picture Me Gone, Paper Towns, The Probability of Miracles – the isolation, the journals, the music, the conversation, the adventure, the diners. I also get car sick, so good luck bringing me along. (I’m also up for more travel).

More boarding schools…
Again, I’ve never attended boarding school. I actually don’t think I would’ve enjoyed it much, but I guess I’ll never know, so I’ll continue to live vicariously through novels set in boarding schools. Looking for Alaska, Night School, Girls at St Clare’s and Malory Towers, New Girl… Apparently, you’ll either have a blast or someone will try to murder you. What’s not to love?

From My Bookselves / Books for Winter
More Christmas…

I have voiced my concern many, many times about the lack of Christmas YA. (I also wrote a blogpost: From My Bookshelves / Books for Winter). I’ve read Let It Snow and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, but then there’s not too much left. Well, Stephanie Perkins has listened to us and My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories will be published in October. David Levithan, Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor… I. Cannot. Wait.

North Korea?
No, really. I’m serious. If you love dystopia, how can you not be fascinated by North Korea? One of my favourite books is Nothing to Envy: Real Lives in North Korea, which is about six people who we know eventually defected from North Korea into China. It’s perhaps a little too premature for a YA novel set in North Korea to appear, but I don’t doubt that it will eventually and I think it’d be an excellent way to educate more people about this secretive country.

Beautiful Books
It’s no secret that I love beautiful – or, pretty – books. I’d love to see more lovely book covers, elaborate production methods, and generally just more attention paid to book covers. I also think it’s something that’ll become essential (if it’s not already, which I think it is) as more people turn to eBooks. Of course, we all know the story is most important – I don’t doubt that for a second – but I love buying special editions that I want to pick up and flick through, share on Pretty Books, give as a gift or just treasure. From Vintage Children’s Classics to Royal hardbacks, books do not necessarily have to be extravagant to be beautiful.

More Than This

London!
As a Londoner, I love reading books set in my city. I love it even more when they feel authentic. How about taking a trip to east London? Or jumping on a bus? Or eating a Creme Egg? If it’s set in London, I’ll want to read it. The Day of the Triffids, Londoners, Meant to Be, The Picture of Dorian Gray, The Name of the Star… I don’t mind what it’s about.

World War I and II
It’s the 100th anniversary of the First World War this year, so I’m sure loads more books will pop up. I’ve watched Bomb Girls and Downton Abbey. I grew up watching Dad’s Army and I’ve been reading Code Name Verity and Stay Where You Are and Then Leave. I finally picked up Maus last year. It’s a period of history that’s not ready to be forgotten, so I’d love to see it appear in more children’s and young adult fiction.

And also just more middle grade in general (especially contemporary and mystery)
Of course, there’s a ton of middle grade – I just need to discover the books that I’ll love! It was one of my 2014 Bookish Resolutions to read more middle grade this year and I cannot wait to get stuck in. I’ve already read Fortunately, the Milk... and I am currently reading (and loving) Liar and Spy. Who said children’s books are just for children? Not me!

Behold the Pretty Books! / October Book Haul

Books about us!
Seeing as you’re reading this, you’re likely a ‘bookish person’ and an ‘internet person’. I’m not saying that these labels have to be all that you are, just that they are likely to be a tiny bit. It’s why you love Fangirl and The Book Thief so much. I love books about the geeky and the nerdy and the bookish and the shy. It’s perfectly fine to be all of these. It’s great, in fact. But it’s just nice to have a book confirm that you’re not the only one.

What would you like to see more of?

36 thoughts on “Top Ten / Things On My Reading Wishlist

  1. “I’m serious. If you love dystopia, how can you not be fascinated by North Korea?” North Korea fascinates and scares the hell out of me- what’s more is the ignorance of some people about the Country itself. Not so much about them not knowing what goes on but when they are told they just blink and shrug and say “not my problem”. Scary.

    Yeees I plan on looking for some WW1 type of books for this year! It’s one of the periods in history I’m interested in so I’ll be wanting to read some stuff about it for the anniversary.

  2. Lots of my friends have recommended me to read middle grade books, they say it’s a great alternative when you’re feeling bored with YA. I think I would make it one of my goals to venture into this genre, it seems promising :)
    I also love your idea about boarding schools! Would love to see more of it in contemporary YA <3

  3. I love that you like the South. I am a Southerner who lives in England- such a strange coincidence. I was obsessed with England when I was young, and now here I am living here.

  4. I love books that are set in London. Great list :-)

  5. I think it’s amusing you find the South so culturally different. They’re actually the most traditional of the states to old school England, old school Europe. The manners, honor-bound mentality, back-handed compliments, etc. The North (specifically NYC’s East end) has the high class stereotypically snooty approach, but the South maintains the old traditions. US cultural history is fascinating.

    • That’s interesting! Maybe it’s our traditions that no longer hold instead.

      Anyway, I’ll try not to comment on somewhere I’ve never been!

      • Oh I’ve only been once, and I have several Southern friends so this is merely an observation, but by no means am I an expert on the South. Only a Southerner can tell you about their culture :) It’s vastly different from the rest of the US, for sure.

  6. Thanks for your North Korea recommendation! I was checking out books set in “oppressed” areas but aren’t dystopian (lol, this was a little too specific) and I was initially thinking of the Soviet Union but I think I’ll go with Nothing to Envy first as it’s more…er…recent.

    And you know how much I love World War II historical fiction so I’m definitely recommending The Boy in the Striped Pajamas to you. I know, I know, I’ve already told you about this book but STOP BEING SCARED OF IT!! It’s super, extra, really good! And also Annexed by Sharon Dougar. It’s a historical fiction account of Peter Van Daan’s POV of The Diary of Anne Frank. I haven’t read it yet as I just recently ordered a copy online but a lot of people seem to like it. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult is also a heartbreaking World War II historical fiction. I cried a lot while reading this book. :)

    Hmm, as for middle grade, have you tried The Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch? There are 5 books in the series and they’re quite an enjoyable read.

    Happy reading, Stacey!

    • You are welcome! I think you’ll enjoy it. If enjoy is the correct word!

      (I’ll stop being scared of it eventually. I’ve also read The Storyteller).

      I haven’t heard of The Secret Series – I’ll look it up!

  7. I love boarding school books, too! I’ve read a ton and I’m always looking for more. Have you read Maureen Johnson’s Shades of London series? It’s a twofer–boarding school setting and it takes place in London. As an added bonus, they’re fantastic.

  8. My boarding school story obsession started with Enid Blyton too. Goodness, I loved Mallory Towers!

  9. A couple of books to look forward to, coming out in 2014, from the first thing on your list.

    Wildflower by Alecia Whitaker http://www.amazon.com/Wildflower-Alecia-Whitaker/dp/0316251380

    Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins http://www.amazon.com/Rebel-Belle-Rachel-Hawkins/dp/0399256938/

    I’m so excited to read both of these!

  10. Wow, the North Korea one sounds interesting. I never thought of a book about them. I would love to see more WWII books, especially young adult. I am very close to my grandparents and they were near London at the time. They told me countless stories when I was younger. The topic is something I haven’t really read about in fiction, but I will have to start one soon. I was thinking The Book Thief as a read-along with my little sister.

  11. Great list! I love books about bookish people, it’s part of the reason I loved Obsidian so much – the main character is a book blogger. I love road trip stories, especially Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, I’d definitely read more road trip books.

    My TTT :)

  12. I love reading about boarding schools and Southern states as well. I remember reading Mary-Kate and Ashley books in elementary school and they were set in boarding school and I loved it!

  13. I like reading children’s books too, it started because I’m a teacher and wanted to find good books for my kids but I soon learnt they are great to read as an adult too. You might like the ‘Once’ series by Morris Gleitzman. It’s about a Polish Jewish boy during WWII – one of my favourites from what I read last year.

  14. […] Το θέμα αυτού του post, είναι όλα αυτά τα βιβλία που θα ήθελα να διαβάσω περισσότερο φέτος. Είδη λογοτεχνίας που έχω παραμελήσει, όπως τα classics, και που πολύ θα ήθελα να τα έχω στην φετινή μου λίστα των διαβασμένων. Την ιδέα πήρα από το αγαπημένο μου book blog της Stacey: ThePrettyBooks. […]

  15. Yes for roadtrips! I really need to read Amy & Roger. And of course Christmas books and definitely pretty ones. And I think books about books are just every book lovers dream. Luckily it seems we’ll be getting a few this year!

  16. I like to read books set in boarding schools too! And I haven’t read that many yet which confuses me because one of the things I hear lots of people complain about are that they are getting bored by this setting/that this is one of those typical YA settings (easiest to get rid of the parents I guess :D)
    And I would love to read more books set in London too! I love that city and It’s so much fun to read a place I actually know

  17. I love that your first one was more Southern states. :) I can recommend a few if you like. Though, I don’t know of many YA set in the South.

  18. For your interest in the American South, you might like The Help, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, and the Pulitzer Prize winning classic Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. :)

Leave a Comment

