2013 Bookish Resolutions: How Did I Do?

At the start of the year, I came up with seven bookish resolutions that I wanted to keep during 2013. So, how did I do? Check out the original post to read the reason why I picked each resolution and go here to see which resolutions I picked for 2014.

2013 New Year's Bookish Resolutions

1. Buy fewer books online and more from bookshops
I think I’ve done incredibly well this year. I went from being someone who bought nearly all of their books online to someone who buys the majority of them from actual bookshops. It’s a little tricky to keep track of, but I think I’ve purchased 8 books from online stores (I’m counting my Roald Dahl box set as one, okay?), 23 from bookshops, and 6 from other kinds of shops (secondhand bookshops, etc.). Of course, this doesn’t include the many eBooks I bought.

2. Visit more London bookshops (and then blog about them)
I have been to so many bookshops in London this year. I cannot imagine saying that ‘I rarely go to bookshops’ like I did last year. I know I’ve visited Waterstones Piccadilly at least ten times.

As you may know, I’ve been running A Tour of London Bookshops over the past year. It’s been such a fun experience. I’ve blogged about Skoob Books, London Review Bookshop, Daunt Books, Marylebone, West End Lane Books, Daunt Books, Hampstead and Keith Fawkes. Although it wasn’t part of the tour, I also blogged about Foyles. I think it’s safe to say that I failed during the second half the year as no blogposts went up, even though I visited loads of bookshops. I’m going to make much more of an effort next year and have one scheduled so far to be posted in January!

I started A Tour of London Bookshops mainly because I thought it would be a good thing for me to do so I’m surprised at the amount of messages I’ve received about it. I’ve had people tell me how much they’re enjoying the tour (and that they’re among their favourite blogposts), that it helped them so much when they visited (or will be visiting) London, and it has encouraged people to go on their own tour, such as Laura from The Girl and Her Books who is blogging about bookshops in New Orleans and Diana from Project Read who lives in Canada and started her own tour as well as a bookshop directory.

I said last year that ‘I know books tend to be cheaper online and I know it’s more convenient, but it’s just not as fun‘ and I still stand by that. Why not join us and visit your local bookshops instead of buying books online? It’s easy to forget why bookshops should exist until you actually step inside one. Books Are My Bag launched this year to remind people of that.

3. Do not buy books unless they’re going to be read
I won’t give you a bunch of excuses. I failed (although not completely!) and I’m not too surprised about it. I just love buying books and I cannot seem to read at the same pace. I read 16 books that were bought this year (including 3 Roald Dahl books). I’m going to try much harder next year!

4. Read one ‘classic’ book per month
I read another twelve classics this year! It’s been another enjoyable experience and I really would encourage you to have a go if you’re someone who is intimidated by classics, like I used to be. I’d say my favourites this year were Mary-Mary, Matilda, I Capture the Castle, The Day of the Triffids and The Picture of Dorian Gray.

5. Read more that isn’t young adult or children’s fiction
Last year, I felt that I had been neglecting to read books that were not young adult or children’s fiction, so I wanted to read more adult fiction this year. I actually forgot about this resolution and so did not consciously try to follow it, but I’ve read 17 ‘adult fiction’ books this year and 4 non-fiction, so not too bad considering I will have read 64 books by the end of the year (that’s around 33% of the total!).

6. Read books I already have (especially books I purchased myself)
I didn’t do too well with reading books that had been sitting on my shelves for years, but looking at my 50 Book Challenge, most of the books I read were acquired that year, which shows I’m getting better! Although my ‘to read’ list last year had 170 books on it and it’s now up to 236. I’ll leave you with that.

7. Remember that reading is fun (so read what I want, when I want)
I’ve enjoyed reading a lot more this year, although I still feel pressured sometimes if a review copy hasn’t been read yet or when I look at my massive ‘to read’ pile. But I accepted fewer review copies, scrapped my reading schedule, and even though I challenged myself to read fewer books, I read more because I wanted to rather than because I felt I had to. I think this has been a success.

I’ve read some fantastic books this year, as always, have attended some brilliant events, and visited some beautiful bookshops, but my favourite part of 2013 was having blogger friends. I’ve been friends with book bloggers for quite a while and I always looked forward to hanging out with them at events, but now I have a little group of people who I meet up with regularly, in particular Caroline, Debbie, Caitlin, Daphne and Faye. We’ve had custard ice cream at the Shake Shack, went to see Matilda the Musical, almost got kicked out of an American Diner, went on roller-coasters at Winter Wonderland and much more. I’ve also enjoyed hanging out with Casey (in particular at her birthday tea party,with so many lovely bloggers and vloggers), having fun at the Geek Girl party with many bloggers including Bella and Cicely, and of course introducing Asti to our British ways. I’m looking forward to 2014!

See which resolutions I came up with for 2014!

Did you come up with some bookish resolutions for this year? How did you do?

20 thoughts on “2013 Bookish Resolutions: How Did I Do?

  1. My aims for this last year were simple.
    1. Read more books: tick.
    2. Buy more books: tick.
    3. Review more books: tick.
    4. Recycle more books: half a tick, as I’ve ended the year with more books than ever.

    In 2013 #4 goes to the top of the list…

  2. Excellent idea! Hadn’t thought of bookish resolutions before (also I only started my blog in February of this year.) I love the idea of reading one classic novel per month…might be borrowing it :)

  3. What a novel (ha excuse the pun!) idea! Definitely something I want to take up for 2014. I’ve really enjoyed your tour of the bookstores, such a lovely way of generating interest in physical books – I must admit I’ve bought more books via the Kindle purely for quickness and accessibility (not to mention it being less harsh on my bank account!) – I have been reading at least one classic lit book alongside something else I would be reading, which I think is a really nice habit to keep up!

    Nell at And Nell Writes

    • That’s so lovely to hear, thank you, Nell. Do not worry, I’ve also bought a lot of eBooks. (I buy way too many, but it’s easy when they’re 99p. I figure I’ll just buy the physical copy if I read an eBook I absolutely love). I think it’s definitely a nice habit to keep up – I hope you do! It’ll be nice to see other bloggers talking about classics too.

  4. Aww, the Geek Girl party! Such fun, haha :D Congrats on all your goals, you did a lot better than I did :) Wishing you an even better 2014!

  5. I would say you did pretty well with meeting your goals for 2013! Well done Stacey!
    Will you be posting any bookish resolutions for 2014?
    :-)
    Bits & Bobs

  6. And your bookshop tour is helpful because I am coming to London. :)

  7. Well done with your 2013 resolutions :-)

  8. I didn’t know about your book shops tour. I think it’s a great idea, and I’m definitely going to check out the posts you put up, and hopefully visit a few of those shops now that I work in London.

  9. It was lovely getting to know you too :)

  10. Thanks for all the blog recs!

Leave a Comment

