From My Bookshelves / Books for Winter

From My Bookselves / Books for Winter

From My Bookshelves / Books for Winter

I love reading wintry books in winter – and if they’re festive, that’s a bonus. I’ve mostly picked books from my bookshelves or books that I have read, so let me know in the comments if you have any other books to suggest! I’ve put an asterisk (*) next to the books I’ve not yet read. (Why not listen to some festive music while reading this post!).

Young Adult Books
Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by Maureen Johnson, John Green & Lauren Myracle
Falling Fast & Burning Bright by Sophie McKenzie*
Unlocked Christmas Collection by Various*
Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer
After the Snow by S.D. Crockett
Ashfall by Mike Mullin

I think Christmas YA would be one of my favourite kinds of books to read, if only there were more books to choose from! Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares and Let It Snow are the two that everyone reads – and for good reason – but I’d love to see more. If you love young adult post-apocalyptic fiction, I’ve added three – Life as We Knew It, Ashfall After the Snow) – that are especially wintry. And there’s loads more novels that seem perfect to read in winter, like How to Save a Life, The Tragedy Paper, Winter Town, Blankets, and Lovely, Dark and Deep, that I’ve not read.

From My Bookselves / Books for Winter

Fiction
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
Round the Christmas Fire: Festive Stories by Various* (I’ll be reading this one soon!)
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey* (And this one!)
The Snow by Adam Roberts
Sister & Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton
The People’s Act of Love by James Meek*
Winter Wonderland by Belinda Jones*
The Secret of Happy Ever After by Lucy Dillon*
The Christmas Bake-Off by Abby Clements* (A free Christmas short story.)
Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan*

I find that the majority of winter/Christmas books are women’s fiction, so I’ve picked out a few that are a little different, such as The Snow, a science fiction novel in which only 150,000 people in the world survive an epic snowstorm, and Sister, a psychological thriller in which Beatrice talks to her missing sister through letters and attempts to find out the truth surrounding her disappearance.

From My Bookselves / Books for Winter

Children’s Books
The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper*
The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken*
His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild* (I cannot remember whether this takes place around Christmas, but I watched the BBC adaptation starring Emma Watson around that time – which I need to re-watch again this Christmas – and so it feels festive to me. I’d love to buy a beautiful edition.).

I’m sure there’s many more wintry children’s books out there!

From My Bookselves / Books for Winter

The Snow Child

From My Bookselves / Books for WinterFrom My Bookselves / Books for WinterFrom My Bookselves / Books for WinterFrom My Bookselves / Books for WinterFrom My Bookselves / Books for WinterFrom My Bookselves / Books for WinterFrom My Bookselves / Books for Winter

14 thoughts on “From My Bookshelves / Books for Winter

  1. Beautiful post! I recently wrote a review of The Snow Child on my blog. It’s a new favorite of mine and I’m sure it will become one of yours. I’d love to know what you think of it once you read it. I too enjoy reading books that reflect the current season, so thanks for the great suggestions. Happy Reading!

  2. Some really great books on your list with quite a few I haven’t read/heard of that are now on my wishlist. Can’t wait to see what you think of The Dark Is Rising as it’s one of my all time favourite books and I recommend it to everyone! Hope you enjoy them all :)

  3. Your book choices all sound so amazing! And your copy of Jane Eyreis to die for! :)

  4. All of these look brilliant! I am so glad you included The Dark Is Rising on there! I always read it around this time of year because it suits the weather so well. I hope you enjoy it. Another favourite of mine for the children’s section is The Snow Spider by Jenny Nimmo.

  5. Oh my, the cover of Round the Christmas Fire! And the writers! *swoons*

  6. You have a lovely blog! The pictures from your books are brilliant. It’s a really nice list of Christmasy-books. In fact, I ordered yesterday “Let it Snow” and I would love to hear your opinion on it and also, I’ve been thinking for quite a while to buy “The Snow Child”, would you recommend it..?:)

  7. What a great list! There definitely needs to be more festive YA. I’ve recently added Winter Town by Stephen Emond to my list for next year.

  8. […] I have voiced my concern many, many times about the lack of Christmas YA. (I also wrote a blogpost: From My Bookshelves / Books for Winter). I’ve read Let It Snow and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, but then there’s not […]

Leave a Comment

