Behold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book Haul

Behold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book Haul
It’s been a while since my last book haul, so here are the books I bought, received and downloaded over the past two months.

Model Misfit by Holly Smale
Every Day by David Levithan
The Secret Hen House Theatre by Helen Peters
That Burning Summer by Lydia Syson
The 100
by Kass Morgan
The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
Fearsome Dreamer by Laure Eve
Cruel Summer by James Dawson
World After by Susan Eee
More Than This by Patrick Ness

I attended two brilliant author events recently: Patrick Ness (his first event for More Than This) and James Dawson (for the launch of Cruel Summer), plus David Levithan is this week. Patrick Ness’ event was one of the best I’ve been to – so witty but incredibly thoughtful. (We were also given cupcakes with mini book covers on. Always appreciated.). I cannot agree enough with the view that children are very good at self-censoring. If they are uncomfortable reading something, they just won’t read it.

Books Are My Bag, a nationwide campaign to get people using bookshops, launched on 14th September. Cait and I headed down to Foyles, Charing Cross Road, that day to do a little book-shopping. We both ended up buying The Miseducation of Cameron Post, which I’ve had my eye on for a while.

As I want to read more children’s fiction, I bought The Secret Hen House Theatre as I really enjoy realistic fiction for ages 9-12. I also received The 100, That Burning Summer (by the author of A World Between Us), World After (sequel to Angelfall) and This Song Will Save Your Life for review, so I’m very much looking forward to getting stuck into those, as well as Model Misfit (sequel to Geek Girl) and Fearsome Dreamer, which I’ve read already and very much enjoyed.

Behold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book Haul

I also downloaded a few books:

Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggach
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple
Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff (e-galley)
Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan (e-galley)

As I’ve nearly finished Every Day, I’m very much looking forward to checking out Boy Meets Boy. Picture Me Gone is also high up on my list. It has received extremely high praise and I enjoyed How I Live Now as an actual teenager and The Bride’s Farewell a few years ago. I also couldn’t resist buying several eBooks. I especially want to read Attachments, seeing as I enjoyed Fangirl. I’ve seen many people talking about Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, so I thought it was about time to see what I’ve been missing out on!

I’m now technically on a book-buying ban with Cait until 31st October! We were allowed 3 vetoes, but I ended up buying three of the eBooks above!

What books have you bought, received or downloaded recently?


Behold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book HaulBehold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book Haul

 

17 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / August & September Book Haul

  1. I just bought More Than This. I can’t wait to read it – what a cool cover :)

  2. Very lovely books! I’m looking at the number of books I bought in September and I have to join you in the book buying ban :) Attachments is a good one, and Bernadette is calling my name too. That Patrick Ness event sounds epic!
    Happy October :)

  3. Yay for all the books! I hope you love Attachments and Boy Meets Boy as much as I do

    Cait x

  4. I’m really looking forward to your texts about More Than This!

  5. You make it so hard for me not to spend all of my non-existent money. Must resist.

  6. I know I always say this, but your photography is so awesome :). Your cover for Every Day is really interesting :). It’s so different from the version I have. I’m debating if I should read Geek Girl or not. I know you really enjoyed it and it seems like it would be a fun read!

    I also hope you enjoy More than This. It’s got such a great cover. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it!
    Enjoy your books Stacey!

    • It’s VERY bright!

      You should definitely read Geek Girl. It’s the sequel that I have (and have just finished). If you like the sound of a funny, contemporary, British YA novel then I say give it a shot :)

      More Than This is my next book!

  7. I read Where’d You Go, Bernadette a few months ago and it skyrocketed into one of my favorite books of the year. It is laugh out loud funny and heartwarming, I read it in just one day. I hope you enjoy it!

  8. I am reading 1984 by George Orwell lately. So dark while it gives me a lot of inspiration about scrutiny by the government.

Leave a Comment

