Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

I’ve only written one blogpost in August, whoops! Well, make that two posts now. I came across the A to Z Bookish Survey on Jamie’s blog, The Perpetual Page-Turner. Do you remember in the early 2000s when everybody completed surveys on MySpace or their blog? I hadn’t completed one in a very, very long time and I was surprised to discover that I really enjoyed reading through Jamie’s (and apparently so did 100+ other bloggers!), so here is mine, along with some bookish photography! And here’s when Goodreads comes in handy…


A
uthor you’ve read the most books from:

Goodreads tells me Cate Tiernan (22). Jacqueline Wilson (21), R.L. Stine (19) and Enid Blyton (17) are from my childhood. Next up, unsurprisingly, is Jodi Picoult (15). And as I adore A Series of Unfortunate Events, Lemony Snicket (13) is sixth.

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

Wicca/Sweep series by Cate Tiernan


B
est Sequel Ever:
I’m going to have to be really obvious and pick Catching Fire. I tend to prefer standalone novels to trilogies or series, but I thought Catching Fire was even better than The Hunger Games. And that’s saying something.

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

Currently Reading:
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan & The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (for #readchaos).

Drink of Choice While Reading:
Water! I know, boring. I’m not really a hot drink sort of person, unless I’m visiting a coffee shop or if it’s winter, when I have hot chocolate. Yes, hot chocolate (specifically, Green & Black’s) and marshmallows is my favourite drink to have while curling up with a good book!

Ebooks or Physical Books?
I adore both and I think they both have their place (I’m actually planning on writing a blogpost on ‘Why I Own a Kindle’ at some point), but if I had to choose, I’d pick physical books. I just wish I had more space to store them. It’s my dream to have my own library!

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:
Etienne St. Clair, who I bet is a popular choice! I also quite like Roger from Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. I definitely would not pick Jason from Meant to Be!

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:
The Book of Lies by Mary Horlock, set in Guernsey. I nearly didn’t read it because of negative reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. It ended up being one of my favourite books.

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

The Book of Lies by Mary Horlock


H
idden Gem Book:
Out of the Easy and Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. More people need to read these wonderful books.

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys


I
mportant Moment in your Reading Life:

Starting Pretty Books on Tumblr. I’ve been running it for over 3 and a half years. If I hadn’t started the blog, would still love reading as much? Would I have a ton of bloggers as friends? Would I enjoy YA? Would I even work in publishing (and would I have even got the job?)? I’m genuinely unsure, which means it’s had a huge influence on my life, and not just my reading life.

Just Finished:
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
I really do try not to limit myself to any genre, and I think I do a pretty good job. I probably wouldn’t pick up your stereotypical romance novel, but I’m happy to read novels with romance in them. I tend to not gravitate towards fantasy or paranormal, but there are plenty of exceptions. I’m extremely sceptical about New Adult, but I’m willing to try it! I think I’ve come a long way as a few years ago, you wouldn’t have found me specifically wanting to read classics or science fiction (I had no idea this is where all the good books were kept!).

Longest Book You’ve Read:
According to Goodreads, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (766 pages), Breaking Dawn (756 pages, oh why), Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (636 pages), Eclipse (629 pages, and The Host (619 pages). I see a pattern here. (Goodreads counted Balefire by Cate Tiernan, 974 pages, but this is a bind-up of four short books, which I read separately).

Major Book Hangover:
I still think about Nothing to Envy: Real Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick.

Number of Bookcases You Own:
Two, but they both have 5-6 shelves, with 2-3 rows of books on each. I posted a little tour of my bookshelves here.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
The Time Traveler’s Wife, which is one of my favourite books and I’ve read it four times. I’ve also read the Harry Potter and Wicca/Sweep series quite a few times.

Preferred Place To Read:
I love to read in bed and on public transport. And also in the garden, but not when it’s too hot – or too cold. Tricky!

Quote:
I really love bookish quotes and I have way too many favourites, but I particularly love ‘Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.’ – Lemony Snicket, Horseradish: Bitter Truths You Can’t Avoid, and ‘Books have to be heavy because the whole world’s inside them.’ – Cornelia Funke, Inkheart.

Reading Regret:
I read a lot as a child and as a teenager, but I regret not reading more. I wish I had read more children’s books because I don’t think I can appreciate them – or will ever appreciate them – as much as if I had read them when I was really young. I also wish I’d not been so afraid of classics because they’re not so bad after all, like Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre.

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Series You Started and Need To Finish:
I actually don’t have many cases where I’ve started a series and not finished it even though all of the books are out. Go me! I’d like to finish St. Clare’s series by Enid Blyton, which I started reading a couple of years ago.

Three of your All-Time Favourite Books:
The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Book Thief… and then I’m not sure. I’m going to go with The Hunger Games purely because it made me realise that I did still enjoy YA and it was when my love for dystopia and post-apocalyptic fiction began. Maybe I can only love books beginning with ‘the’…

Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

The Hunger Games, The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Book Thief

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
Young adult fiction. I genuinely feel sorry for people who think they’re above it! They’re missing out on so much. (Although I feel the same way about ‘adult’ fiction and children’s books… All the books!).

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:
More Than This by Patrick Ness and Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephenie Perkins. Oh and John Green’s next book. OBVIOUSLY.

Worst Bookish Habit:
I rarely lend books out. I feel bad about it, but I like my books in perfect condition and I just do not trust other people to keep them that way (or give them back!). I used to make up an excuse as to why I couldn’t possibly lend you this book, or say yes and then just not give it to them, but now I find it’s easier to say NO SORRY BYE.

edit: I think it’s quite telling that I forgot to mention my absolute worst habit: acquiring new books when I already have over 200 unread. I’M NOT ADDICTED I SWEAR.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
I was too lazy to start at the very back, so I just picked from the front rows: The American Boy by Andrew Taylor.

Your Latest Book Purchase:
I bought Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggach and The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes on my Kindle.

ZZZ-Snatcher Book:
I stayed up late reading Heart-Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne. It’s just brilliant.

21 thoughts on “Bookish Answers to Bookish Questions

  1. I love The Book Thief, it’s easily one of my favourite YA books as well. Roger is definitely a contender for the book boy I’d be most likely to date when I was in high school as well. Great answers! I’m probably going to post mine tomorrow.

  2. I never lend books either! I used to explain to people why, but their love for books wasn’t that strong and they didn’t quite understand it. Now I have to be creative and make up excuses.

    • It’s always awkward when they don’t understand… I worry about people thinking I’m selfish! But I really don’t like anything I loan being lost/damaged/forgotten about, and I’d never ask somebody to buy a new copy.

  3. I love this! I might try to do it at some point :-)

  4. No way! Someone else who actually knows about the Wicca series!!! We seem to be a rare bunch. This is so funny, because I’m just about to post a blog about them today.

    This A-Z thing seems really fun. :)

    • Ha, awesome! I’m looking forward to reading your post on the Wicca series. It was one of the first series of books I really, really loved. I was a member of a Cate Tiernan message board and I’m still friends with one of the people I met there, 10 years later.

  5. First of all I love the fact that you used photography in your post! Your pictures are so beautiful. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was also on my list as the longest book I’ve read. I actually started to read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour but a part of me was so terrified to read it for some reason that I just ended up returning it to the Library.

    I’m not sure if I regret not lending out books to people to be honest. I don’t get them back which really upsets me :(. I lent my Five-Find-Outers mystery books to a friend of mine and she lost them and offered to pay me for the books. I was even more offended by that because the books aren’t in print anymore I think. It’s a Catch-22 situation. It’s funny you mentioned perfect conditions when it comes to books because I donated so many books to the Library this past week and the Librarian just looked at me in shock and said “wow your books are in really really good condition.” and I said I take really good care of my books lol.

    I knew The Time Traveler’s Wife would definitely make your list ;).

    • Thanks so much Savindi :) Oh no, I hope you do give Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour a go at some point. It’s one of my favourites.

      I would really hate for somebody to lose one of my books, especially if it was out of print!

  6. Great post! Might have to do the same (perhaps a holiday project??).

  7. My book club is reading Nothing to Envy for next month. I haven’t started yet but it sounds fascinating.

  8. Lucy @ Queen of Contemporary

    I did this survey today, too, and found it so much fun! As always, I have to say how amazing you are at photography. I love reading your posts to see all of your pictures!

    Great answers!

  9. Yay for Wicca! I love that series so much. I love that Lemony Snicket quote as well and the fact that you are basically the opposite of me in that I always lend my books out (and never get them back) and half my books are totally bashed up, either from being lent out, or from being moved around so much, or from being lugged about in bags.

    Cait x

    • Ooh I didn’t know you liked Wicca too! We shall have to chat about it ;) Oh gosh, I really hate it when books get bashed up! I haven’t taken Chaos Walking out because of it. I’m only reading it at home.

  10. Very interesting meme, i will be doing this soon. Thanks for finding it.

    I have The Hunger Games trilogy on my overflowing shelves somewhere. All the love you’ve given them in this post makes me want to read them soon!

  11. […] found this A to Z Bookish Survey on theprettybooks and thought I’d give it a […]

Leave a Comment

