Old Books

If I had to choose between the smell of old books and new books, as book lovers often like to debate, I’d pick new books. Although I understand why people love the ‘old book smell’, I find it a bit too strong and pungent and I enjoy the clean, fresh smell of a brand new book more. But when I take a day trip to a little village or antiques market or shop, I love to discover little treasures in the form of musty books. I love to come across children’s books, old boarding school stories and books with little messages to the previous owners, especially when they were written in 1921! And especially when they only cost a few pounds. I love that there is often no blurb or description. How did people decide which book to read? How did anybody know what they were about? How would you find out, without reading it? I assume decisions were based mainly on the title or the author, since the covers are often plain or patterned. Here is my little collection:

Old Books

Old Books

Old Books

Melbourne House by Elizabeth Wetherell, 1921.

Old Books

Happy Hours Story Book by Enid Blyton, 1964.

Happy Hours Story Book by Enid Blyton, 1964.

Old BooksOld Books

Girls of St. Augustine's by Margaret H. Ironside, 1924.

The Girls of St. Augustine’s by Margaret H. Ironside, 1924.

Old BooksOld Books

The Railway Children by E. Nesbitt, 967.

The Railway Children by E. Nesbitt, 1967.

Old Books

The Heir of Charlecote by Mark Dallow, 1955.

The Heir of Charlecote by Mark Dallow, 1955.

Old Books

The Children of the New Forest by Capt. Marryat, 1950s?

The Children of the New Forest by Capt. Marryat, 1950s?

Old Books

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell, 1932.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell, 1932.

Old BooksOld BooksOld Books
Have you bought or inherited any old books?

11 thoughts on “Old Books

  1. Looks like you’ve got a great selection of books. I haven’t bought any old ones before. I do prefer the smell of new books, even though I like going in to old bookstores.

  2. I am new books all the way. Mostly because I’m a clean freak. But I love finding inscriptions in old books and the history of them.

  3. Love the inscriptions!

  4. When I was a little girl, my parents bought me books from antiques (secondhand trade ). They saved a lot of money and i adored the smell of old books. It became a passion to find the first edition. Nethertheless, today, i prefer the smell of new books since I had problem with my lungs.

  5. They look amazing! Your so lucky, there is no way I can find any of those where I live, and I’d never been given any, since both my parents don’t read English books :L

  6. I have a few old books in my collection and if there was a fire those would be the ones I’d save first, but in general I prefer new books too. I like knowing that I’m the first one to turn its pages.

    You have a lovely collection of old books! Thanks for sharing them!: )

  7. I have a few of those Enid Blyton books which belonged to my Mum when she was little. I love the illustrations that they have on the spines, it is a really nice touch.

  8. I’m due for another old book post. My mom just keeps finding them and giving them to me. Not like I”m telling her no or anything crazy like that. The children’s books from the 50’s are quickly becoming my favorite. The colors are normally so nice and the stories so adorable. Also, finding writing in books is really my favorite thing!

  9. I love the smell of new books (because old ones make me sneeze) but I love the look of old ones! I think there’s something great about books that look like they’ve been read over and over, as well as finding the lovely inscriptions in them. It’s like you’re being granted a piece in that person’s life story.

Leave a Comment

