TBR Book Mug

I’m sure most of you know, but if you’re not a frequent acronym user, ‘TBR’ means ‘to be read’. The TBR Book Jar is where you write down titles of books you own but haven’t yet read on little slips of paper and put them in a jar (or whichever container you deem suitable!). You then pick them out randomly to decide what to read next. I believe it was started by Alex, but I’ve seen lots of book bloggers and vloggers talk about it this year. I first came across it on Katy’s channel and then I saw Lauren use a mug instead of a jar, which sparked the idea to use my Marauder’s Map mug!

I thought I’d start my own because until this year, I used to plan what I was going to read in advance. I realised that I wasn’t enjoying it at all so now, for the most part, I pick up books randomly. I figured this would be a fun way of choosing my next book!

TBR Book Mug

TBR Book Mug

TBR Book Mug

TBR Book Mug

TBR Book Mug

TBR Book Mug

TBR Book Mug
At the time of this post, I have 219 books on my ‘to be read’ list. I actually began to think that I wasn’t going to be able to fit them all in, but luckily they do fit – just about! It took me a couple of hours to make, which is clearly a sign that I should stop acquiring more books…

Update 01/14: Whoops. It seems that my TBR Book Mug has spilled over into two mugs. Let’s see if I can get it back down to one in 2014!

TBR Book Mugs

Do you have a TBR Book Jar? Show us!

46 thoughts on “TBR Book Mug

  1. Reblogged this on Modern Damsel in Distress and commented:
    I WANT THIS!!)

  2. YOUR MUG IS AWESOME OMG

  3. I am very jealous of your Marauder’s Map mug! Also love this idea :D

  4. Um, LOVE THE MUG! I love this idea, but I know if it was me, I would cheat too much haha. I’m a mood reader so I would pick a book and then keep picking until I got to one I wanted LOL. I just stare at my shelves instead :)

  5. This is such a great idea… Thank you very much for this :)

  6. I think I might be too neurotic to always rely on this for what to read next (mood reader and so on) but this feels like just the thing for those times when I have no idea what to pick up next. Now to just get an equally awesome mug…

  7. What a fab mug! Great idea – think I’d probably cheat though and put back titles if I wasn’t keen!

  8. I cannot believe I haven’t heard of this idea! Love it. I think I’ll need a “super-sized” mug to handle my TBR pile. I can’t wait to do this. . .love the idea that It’ll be a surprise what I’m reading next;-) It’s almost like opening a present.
    Monique

    • It is!! It’s quite exciting not knowing what you’ll pick out. I suppose you can’t really tell from the pictures, but the Marauder’s Map mug is actually pretty large – definitely much larger than your average mug! There’s no way I could use a normal one, ha.

  9. So creative! I am loving the TBR mug! I really just love the paper that you used <3 I use regular paper for my TBR mug…cup? I have no idea what it is called! I'm thinking of getting a clear jar though xD

    • I wanted to use a blue Mason jar, but it’s quite hard to find them in the UK. I think it works pretty well! I’ll probably switch if I come across a nice clear jar though. Plus, I may actually need the mug in the winter months ;)

  10. I made one too! I just loved the idea of reading books by randomly drawing them. (and it’s super pretty :D)
    http://crini-allaboutbooks.tumblr.com/post/50352359476/i-made-a-tbr-book-jar-starting-in-june-im-gonna

    • Lovely!! I LOVE your idea of using different colours for different genres because that way you’re more likely to choose something you do actually want to read.

  11. I love this idea so much! Right now I’m a planned reader since I’ve been doing Goodreads challenges in the groups I belong to. Maybe I should give this a whirl… :)

  12. I don’t have a TBR book jar/ mug, but I think I’ll be making one now. What a great idea! I think I might make a similar thing for movies.

  13. This is a great idea! And I love your mug, wish I had one. :)

  14. Reblogged this on Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews and commented:
    My TBR pile is out of control somewhere in the neighborhood of 454 books give or take. I love this idea it’s so pretty and making my own TBR management system would allow me valuable procrastination time, finding the right container, listing and printing the selections on the right paper in exactly the right font. However despite the appeal of this plan ultimately I am very much a reader who makes selections based on the side of the bed I woke up on that morning, the barometric pressure, my commute and the thoughtful advice of the cat, all of which I then disregard and read what I want. If I abandon this arbitrary yet finely balanced system I often feel very downtrodden and persecuted if I am not reading exactly the “right” book at the time.

  15. Adore this idea, reblogged on Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews. Looking forward to seeing how this goes for you. Love the mug.

  16. Your mug is adorable !

  17. This is so cool! I love the TBR mug idea and love that you’ve put so much effort into yours with the nice quality paper etc. :)

  18. That mug is so gorgeous! And what a great idea.

  19. *squee* It looks so pretty! Glad you managed to fit them all in, still need to finish mine though so its definitely a task of mine to do once I get home tomorrow.
    Thanks for the mention c:

    Lauren x

  20. I will jump on this ban wagon when the semester starts. Right now, I am reading a few ARCs, but I really do want to do this as well. I need to go to the craft store so it will be super cute. :)

  21. What a fantastic idea! I need one :D

  22. What do you do about series books i.e. Harry Potter, Wheel of Time, Sharpe etc?

    Do you just put in the next book you’ve to read like Wheel of Time book 4, but leave out 5+ ?

    Love the idea of this, and I also used to plan out my reading for the year as you did, but random sounds better. Recently I pick up 10 books I want to read next as in a mix of stuff and my wife would select the order so that its not like-for-like book but a mix with no two similar books in a row.

Leave a Comment

