Behold the Pretty Books!

Here are all of the books I bought, borrowed, received, and downloaded over the past month:

Behold the Pretty Books!

The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
The Chrysalids by John Wyndham
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
Geek Girl
by Holly Smale
This is What Happy Looks Like
by Jennifer E. Smith
The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead
Stasiland: Stories from Behind the Berlin Wall by Anne Funder
On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves
Wool by Hugh Howey

I took a trip to two London bookshops with a friend last month, as part of my A Tour of London Bookshops feature, the first of which you can read about here. In the second, I bought two John Wyndham books and In Cold Blood, which were all on my Adult Fiction wishlist and are appropriate for my classics challenge!

I was loaned Stasiland by a colleague because I loved Nothing to Envy, and On the Island by my mother, who has just finished it and liked it a lot.

I received Wool, The Indigo Spell and This is What Happy Looks Like for review purposes and I’m pretty excited about all of them (although Wool turned up looking like a corner had been chewed – odd!). And lastly, I attended a fabulous Geek Girl party last week, where I was given a physical copy of the book and asked Holly (who is extremely lovely) to sign it. You can read my review here.

Behold the Pretty Books!
And I downloaded these:

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki (e-galley)
Awakening by Karen Sandler (e-galley)
Quicksilver by R.J. Anderson (e-galley)
Butter by Erin Jade Lange (e-galley)

I did not quite realise when requesting A Tale for the Time Being that it has had quite a lot of press already, and that Canongate is publishing an edition that has an interactive front cover, which is incredibly cool. Awakening is the sequel to Tankborn and Quicksilver is the sequel to Ultraviolet, so I’m looking forward to reading those. And lastly, Butter is a young adult contemporary novel about a teenage boy who is bullied for being overweight – it sounds like it could be quite controversial.

All in all, lots of fantastic books this month!

12 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books!

  1. I loved Geek Girl so much! It’s definitely one of my favourites. I haven’t heard of many of the others but I’m sure they’re great. Happy reading! :)

  2. I hope you enjoy A Tale for the Time Being! I really want to read that one too. It’s on my list of books I’m excited about. Enjoy your books Stacey!

  3. Great haul! I cannot wait to start on Wool series, seems like a good one.

    Happy reading!
    My haul

  4. Enjoy your books :) The cover (and spine of the second) of the Wyndhams are really nice.

  5. I’ve been meaning to pick up those John Wyndham novels since Sanne reviewed them on booksandquills over on youtube. I wonder if you’ll enjoy them as much as she did.

  6. A Tale for the Time Being :)
    Enjoy reading all these books!

Leave a Comment

