Behold the Pretty Books!

Behold the Pretty Books! - Christmas

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! Here are the books I either bought or received over the Christmas period:

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
by Betty Smith
Jane Eyre
by Charlotte Brontë (Clothbound)
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (Deluxe)
Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill
Vortex by Julie Cross
Eternally Yours by Cate Tiernan (not pictured)
Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie (not pictured)

You may remember some of these from my On My Wishlist: It’s Nearly Christmas post. You can read about why I want to read them here. I was very happy to receive them for Christmas! Tempest was a surprisingly enjoyable read for me in 2012 and so I’m really looking forward to Vortex and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn will be one of my classics for 2013. I bought Death on the Nile when I visited my first bookshop of the year. Check back to see the first A Tour of London Bookshops post!

Behold the Pretty Books!

I also got some ebooks for my Kindle:

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson
Bright Young Things by Scarlett Thomas
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: The Trilogy of Five by Douglas Adams
The Reapers are the Angels by Alden Bell
The White Lie by Andrea Gillies
My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher
How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr
Fire Spell by Amy Laura Schlitz

I featured The Hundred-Year-Old Man and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series in my recent On My Wishlist: Adult Fiction post. I went a bit crazy in the 12 Days of Kindle promotion and bought a few ebooks. I’m probably most looking forward to reading Fire Spell (also known as Splendors and Glooms) and How to Save a Life, but the majority of them were already on my wishlist so I’m very happy that I now can read them.

Behold the Pretty Books!
Kiss River by Diane Chamberlain (e-galley)
The Burning Air by Erin Kelly (e-galley)
Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion (e-galley)

I requested the above e-galleys before I decided to accept fewer review copies (let’s see how that goes). I’m looking forward to reading Warm Bodies in particular and watching the adaptation.

What books did you receive for Christmas?

25 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books!

  1. Wow you got a lot of books :) I hope you enjoy all of them. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Meant to Be. How to Save a Life sounds really good too. Happy Reading Stacey and Happy New Year!

    • I know! I didn’t quite realise until I listed them all :| I only actually spent £9 on the ebooks and £5 on Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie, so I didn’t actually go too crazy money-wise!

  2. I recently ordered “Meant to Be”. These edtions of “Jane Eyre” are so beautiful, I always see the deluxe one displayed at Shakespeare & CO tempting me haha.
    I have a question about “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”: Is it a saga/series? And if so, is this edition, http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/Hitchhikers-Guide-Galaxy-Trilogy-Four-Douglas-Adams/9780330492041?b=-3&t=-20#Fulldescription-20 or the one you bought as an ebook contains all of the titles? You see I always get confused with the “Trilogy of Four” “Trilogy of Five” and whatnot.
    Btw I can’t wait for the tour of London bookshops post. It would be really helpful for my next trip there (Not that it’s even close of being planned or considered but oh well!) :)

    • It’s an collection of five books. I linked to a search for the series in general, but I suppose that’s not super helpful so I’ve changed it to link to this now, which is what I purchased. I’m sure I’ve seen a box set in the shops, but I cannot remember whether it had four of five books.

      I’m not sure how many bookshops I get to visit, but it’s something I really want to do :) It’ll be more of a series of posts rather than one post with lots of London bookshops featured, but hopefully you’ll still find it helpful!

  3. Your two new copies of Jane Eyre look amazing, I already have the Penguin Classics one but still want the clothbound version.
    And I think Tempest might be worth a second look.

  4. So many great books! I’m jealous of your copies of Jane Eyre, and I’m looking forward to your thoughts on How to Save a Life – I see it everywhere but still haven’t read it yet. Nice haul!

  5. I JUST finished Fire Spell (or rather Splendors and Glooms) yesterday and it was so amazing. The cover for Fire Spell is gorgeous but I think Splendors and Glooms cover is more reflective of the story. Enjoy the book!

  6. Behold the pretty Jane Eyres!

  7. Great haul this week, I am in love with the clothbound book, its gorgeous!!!!
    Enjoy all your books

    My haul

  8. I love the clothbound editions of classics, I own a fair few in paperback and just can’t justify buying the ‘prettier’ versions.
    I’m hoping to read some Agatha Christie this year, she was an author of mine I resolve to read in 2013, I’m not sure where to start just yet though.
    I hope you enjoy all your books.
    :-)

    • Thanks Jade! I own four Agatha Christie books now but I’ve only read one so I better stop buying them until I definitely know that I like her books, ha. And Then There Were None was one of my favourite books of 2012 though!

  9. For Christmas I got the first Wheel of Time book “The Eye Of the World” and “The Dragonbone Chair.” I’m trying to read much more fantasy fiction this year so this puts me to a good start along with reading the rest of A Song of Ice and Fire. I also got 1984 by Orwell which I already had so I swapped it for A Clergyman’s Daughter, two vegan recipe books and a Game of Thrones tie in for the TV show book. I purchased a couple of books from the 12 Days of Kindle sale too. I wish I’d have bought more now!

  10. So so many pretty books!!! I hope you enjoy reading them all. :)

  11. I got to read Warm Bodies over Christmas (my friend got it), and I totally bought Kiss River at the airport! I love Diane Chamberlain! She’s my go to for a quick engrossing read! We seriously need to meet for a cup of tea at Nomad Books in Fulham! =)

  12. I just stumbled across your page and as I love reading I thought that I might give some of your titles a try. I read at least 40-50 novels every year and at a young 63 I have much more reading to do. I also teach young children and read to them constantly.
    Christine

Leave a Comment

