‘Read the best books first, or you may not have a chance to read them at all.’


I shared with you a selection of my favourite YA books a little while ago and today I thought I’d share some adult fiction titles.

It’s funny, I never would’ve used the term ‘adult fiction’ before I started blogging – it was just ‘fiction’. Yet today, because of the rise and rise of young adult fiction, there ‘needs’ to be a distinction. Why? I’ll never really understand how people can say they ‘don’t read young adult fiction’ and equally when people say they ‘don’t read books for adults’. Both are so broad, and so diverse, that I cannot possibly believe that there isn’t something for everyone. Consequently, I love both (and more recently, children’s fiction). I’m sorry to say though that I haven’t read as much ‘adult fiction’ over the past two and a half years. It’s something I really want to get back into as I know there’s a ton of books I’m missing out on, such as Kate Morton, finishing reading my collection of ALL Jodi Picoult’s books, and the modern classics that have been on my ‘wishlist’ forever.

But here’s a selection of my favourites:

1984 by George Orwell
And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
House Rules by Jodi Picoult
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
Pure by Julianna Baggott
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde
Sister by Rosamund Lupton
The Book of Lies by Mary Horlock
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Series)
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

What is some of your favourite ‘adult fiction’?

8 thoughts on “‘Read the best books first, or you may not have a chance to read them at all.’

  1. I love quite a number of these myself! Shades of Grey may have to be my favourite though. But the Thirteenth Tale is so close….

  2. Since writing a YA book blog, I really haven’t read as much adult fiction as I used to. My favourite books used to be The Power Of One by Bryce Courtenay and Exodus by Leon Uris. I used to read books by Paul Auster and Haruki Murakami and Margaret Atwood. And now I don’t. I really should have another look and sneak in a couple of adult books more often. I still enjoy them, I just don’t read them.

    Some of your favourites are also my favourites! I loved Rebecca and Fahrenheit 451 and Oryx and Crake and the Time Traveller’s Wife..

  3. I think part of the issue with “I don’t read YA” is that it is the current trend of vampire, paranormal, etc, that has cast a veil over so much other YA that a lot of people who don’t read it just see the most famous titles. Because there is so much YA that could easily be adult fiction, and also fiction that you don’t really realise is YA until it’s noted (especially classics).

    • Yes you’re right. I suppose someone who really doesn’t know much about YA will perhaps stereotype it as being all about Twilight etc. A friend of mine hadn’t read much YA but then I loaned her some books and she was surprised by the diversity.

  4. A few of those are my favorites too :)

Leave a Comment

