On My Wishlist

On My Wishlist

I usually do ‘themed’ On My Wishlist posts (‘usually’ meaning ‘my two previous’) like Zombies! and YA Contemporary, but today I just decided to pick a few that are currently sitting on my Goodreads wishlist shelf, some new, some old.

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
I read And Then There Were None earlier in the year and loved it. (I also love the matching covers!) Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift… Isolated by the storm and with a killer in their midst, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer amongst a dozen of the dead man’s enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again…


Fire Spell by Laura Amy Schlitz
Sounds very Neil Gaiman. It begins with a girl in London, 1860. The closest thing to friendship Clara has experienced was a brief encounter with the two ragged children who work with the puppeteer in the park. For her birthday she asks to see them perform in the drawing room, and her father, to her surprise, allows it. The puppeteer, Grisini, kidnaps Clara and uses his sinister powers to imprison her body and mind in the form of a marionette to add to his theatre.

The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop by Lewis Buzbee
I’ve posted a few inspiring bookish quotations from this book previously. A former bookseller and sales representative, celebrates the unique experience of the bookstore–the smell and touch of books, getting lost in the deep canyons of shelves, and the silent community of readers.

The Templeton Twins Have an Idea by Ellis Weiner, illustrated by Jeremy Holmes
I adore the cover and it sounds very Lemony Snicket. Dean D. Dean and Dan D. Dean kidnap the Templeton twins and their ridiculous dog in order to get their father to turn over one of his genius (sort of) inventions. Yes, I said kidnapped. Wouldn’t it be fun to read about that? Oh please. It would so.

Mothership by Martin Leicht & Isla Neal
There’s an influx of YA science fiction lately but this one stands out to me; it looks hilarious. Elvie Nara was doing just fine in the year 2074. But then she had to get involved with sweet, gorgeous, dumb-as-a-brick Cole—and now she’s pregnant. Getting shipped off to the Hanover School for Expecting Teen Mothers was not how Elvie imagined spending her junior year, but she can go with the flow. That is, until a team of hot commandos hijacks the ship—and one of them turns out to be Cole.

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
This classic been on my wishlist for a while; I really want the new Vintage Children’s Classics edition. I Capture the Castle tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cassandra and her family, who live in not-so-genteel poverty in a ramshackle old English castle.

What one new and one old book is on your wishlist?

14 thoughts on “On My Wishlist

  1. Murder on the Orient Express was one of my favourite Agatha Christie books. I really enjoyed that one. I read a lot of her books before I started university in 2008 and I don’t think I read one which I didn’t enjoy! So I hope you like this one :).

    • Oh excellent! I was so surprised at how much I enjoyed it. What are your other favourites?

      • To be honest I don’t remember a lot of them ( I know it’s horrible considering that I only read them four years ago), but I remember Five Little Pigs was one of my favourites! There’s another one that I read and I liked it a lot, but I can’t remember the name. But I remember the plot, so I’m on wikipedia trying to find the name. When I find it I’ll let you know which Poirot book it was!

  2. I really enjoyed “Murder on the Orient Express”, I’m sure you will, too :)
    I’ve already heard about “Mothership” and it sounds pretty hilarious, I think I could give it a try.
    And huge huge thanks for letting me discover “Fire spell”, which seems AWESOME. A lot Gaiman-ish, as you wrote!

  3. Now that’s confusing, I read a book years ago that belonged to my mother, called “The Templeton Twins!” Couldn’t help but look twice at the book cover you posted. I just finished I Capture The Castle a week ago, and highly recommend it. If it’s been on your list for a while go and pick up a copy because it really is as good as it sounds :)

    • Haha! Yes, looking at it on Amazon does bring up another book published in the 80s. I Capture the Castle will definitely be one of the next books I purchase! I’m thinking of buying it when The Casual Vacancy is published.

  4. I Capture the Castle is a beautiful book! I read it a couple of months back. It was one of those spur of the moment pick ups in a bookstore and I’m glad of it. It was the cover that drew me in, the one I have is beautiful, I actually prefer it to the Vintage Children’s Classics that were recently bought out. But regardless of the cover, buy the book! P.S. A review of The Casual Vacancy would be great when it comes out.

  5. I read Murder on the Orient Express and it wasn’t my favourite book or in a style that was familer to me so I never read anymore Agatha Christie book. Though perhaps I should read another before I make a final judgment.

  6. […] Check out my previous On My Wishlist posts: Zombies!, YA Contemporary, On My Wishlist. […]

  7. […] out my previous On My Wishlist posts: Zombies!, YA Contemporary, On My Wishlist #1, It’s Nearly […]

  8. […] out my previous wishlist posts: Zombies!, YA Contemporary, On My Wishlist #1, It’s Nearly Christmas, Adult […]

Leave a Comment

