27 Comments

Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Published: 3rd September 2007 (1939)
Publisher: Harper
Pages: 317
Readership: Adult
Genres: Mystery
Challenge: Classics Challenge – #5
Rating: ★★★★★
Buy: Paperback
More: Goodreads

I chose And Then There Were None as my fifth classic of the year because it’s ‘the world’s best-selling mystery’ with ‘over 100 million copies sold’. Who hasn’t heard of Agatha Christie? I love reading books that have puzzling plots yet I’ve read so few, and so I thought it was time to pick up a mystery classic (which had, shall we say, two not so politically correct previous titles).

I rarely come across a book that I am able to summarise in so few words, but here it is: And Then There Were None is the story of ten individuals who are invited to an isolated house on Soldier Island, Devon. During their first dinner together, a recorded message accuses each of them of a terrible crime. One by one, they begin to die. One of guests must be the killer, but who is it? The idea for And Then There Were None is so simple yet it must’ve been extremely difficult to execute. Agatha Christie does it brilliantly and the book deserves its praise and critical acclaim.

I read And Then There Were None in three hours without putting it down; a completely terrifying and thrilling experience. I loved reading about each of the characters at the beginning. I made a note of them – who they were and how they ended up on the island – and crossed them off as they died, which initially was done to aid my memory, but it made the reading experience much more exciting. The deaths are not at all gruesome so if you’re worried about that – don’t be! I made a guess as to who the murderer was – I was wrong. It has an absolutely brilliant, surprising ending that I can’t imagine anyone would figure out themselves.

I’ve only given one other book this year so far the 5/5 rating. And Then There Were None may not be a book I’ll treasure forever but after reading it I wanted to enthusiastically recommend it to everyone I knew. It has those moments that make you sit up and gasp, and wonder how you didn’t notice them before. I genuinely had chills running down my spine – as cliché as that may sound. It’s extremely well paced – not too fast, not too slow. The story has lots of detail and yet the chapters feel quite short. It all adds to the eerie atmosphere.

And Then There Were None is a compelling introduction to the mystery genre that constantly kept me on edge. It’s clever, gripping, and was a wonderful surprise. I’m now really looking forward to checking out some of Agatha Christie’s other books, in particular, Murder on the Orient Express and The Mysterious Affair at Styles.

27 comments on “Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

  1. This is not a book I would normally pick up but it definitely sounds interesting. I may just give it a go!

    • I saw that quite a few friends on Goodreads had given it a good review, and so that was very encouraging. (I also really liked the cover…). Definitely give it a shot!

  2. Three hours? That’s crazy! Sounds really good, and it was smart of you to have a list of the characters and cross them off as they died. Very clever.

    • I know! That’s soo unlike me. It is quite a tiny book though. If it were normal size it might be about 250 pages, although I still rarely read that fast these days.

  3. I first read this in French (as you do) and I loved it! I need to read it in English! It’s so brilliantly simple yet complex at the same time!

  4. it was a very good book

  5. One of my favourite books! So thrilling, creating tension

  6. [...] Roth Starters by Lissa Price (e-galley) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews (e-galley) And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Love, Aubrey by Suzanne [...]

  7. [...] Detour by Morgan Matson Londoners by Craig Taylor Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (Classic #5) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (reread) Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (reread) [...]

  8. If you really enjoyed this book, try the Westing Game by Sharon Creech.

  9. [...] on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie I read And Then There Were None earlier in the year and loved it. (I also love the matching covers!) Just after midnight, the [...]

  10. [...] by George Orwell And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie Brave New World by Aldous Huxley Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury House Rules by [...]

  11. THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ

  12. IT WAS THE WORST AGATHA CHRISTIE BOOK I HAVE EVER READ .
    MANAGING TEN CHARACTERS WAS REALLY DIFFICULT PLUS THE POEM AT START OF THE CHAPTER MADE STORY REALLY PREDICTIVE .

  13. I really like this book and i am very happy to mention here about Prettybooks your bolg is very fascinating it give more depth and insight about the book which some readers miss …great work keep going :)

  14. we are reading the book in class we are gonna read the last one tomorrow. CANT WAIT!!!!!!!!

  15. [...] by Agatha Christie Nothing screams ‘Christmas’ like a good ol’ murder, eh? I have And Then There Were None and Murder on the Orient Express already. I’m trying to build my Agatha Christie collection! [...]

  16. [...] And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie What a surprise this was! I had absolutely no preconceptions about Agatha Christie, but I knew that everyone knows who she is. I chose this because it’s her most popular and well-known book. I read it in three hours. That says it all. [...]

  17. [...] And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie ★★★★★ • Goodreads • Buy [...]

  18. [...] And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie I actually own this but I forgot to include it in the bookstack photo. Gah! I read this book in three hours, and I cannot say that about many books. And Then There Were None is the story of ten individuals who are invited to an isolated house on Soldier Island, Devon. During their first dinner together, a recorded message accuses each of them of a terrible crime. One by one, they begin to die. One of guests must be the killer, but who is it? I wrote down the name of each guest and crossed them off as they died. Absolutely brilliant mystery novel. [...]

  19. […] And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie I mentioned And Then There Were None in Top Ten / Books to Read in a Day, but how could I not list it here? It’s the classic of its genre! […]

  20. […] Published: 1953, originally 1st November 1937 Publisher: Penguin Classics, but edition pictured published 2011 by HarperCollins Pages: 416 If you liked: And Then There Were None […]

  21. I liked the book, even though i don’t usually read mysteries! I have to read it for my summer reading and have to write a book review..By the way- you have a great book review!

  22. This is the greatest Christie novel I have yet read, by a long way. As you get closer to the end, it seems impossible, that there can be no answer. But the answer makes pefect sense when it is revealed right at the end, there are no holes in it whatsoever. The amazing thing is that when you read it a second time, there are lots of excellent clues throughout. But I challenge you to work it out before you read the last chapter!

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,689 other followers

