Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Pub. Date: 21st September 2006
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Pages: 226
Readership: Young adult
Genres: Contemporary
Rating: ★★★★
Buy: Paperback
More: Goodreads

An Abundance of Katherines, what can I say? It’s written by John Green, the beloved and downright famous young adult contemporary writer, but it also seems to be his least liked novel. I haven’t seen many negative reactions to it per se, but it doesn’t seem elicit the sort of “enthusiastically tell everyone to read it and then proceed to quote it to death” reaction that his other novels have received.

So, what did I think? I have to follow the trend and say that it isn’t my favourite, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it’s more subtle in what it has to offer. I most admire John Green for never once underestimating and underappreciating teenagers. It’s quite a risk (as sad as that may be) to assume that teenagers will find enjoyment in complicated maths equations, anagramming, Arabic translations, and esoteric facts. One of the reasons why I sometimes cannot relate to contemporary fiction is because I feel many authors purely focus on a simple boy-girl relationship, not going beyond superficial attraction. John Green’s novels never feel like that to me; they are always thoughtful and intelligent.

I felt a little disconnected at first between the present story and the backstory regarding the abundance of Katherines. I really couldn’t work out the relevance except that it inserted more humour into, and give a reason for, the story. However, I soon realised that the story was just unveiling in an unexpected and usual way. By the time I was a little over halfway through, I loved the novel. How can anyone not love Colin, Hassan, and Lindsey, and wish they were with them in Tennessee, livin’ up the American road trip dream? I empathised with Colin and found it almost painful witnessing his inner turmoil.

An Abundance of Katherines is my fifth John Green novel. Five down, one to go. I love John Green’s books for being highlights in contemporary fiction, and this novel was no different. Even though it didn’t resonate with me as much as his other work, it still deserves immense praise and recognition. If you’ve not yet read John Green, seriously, what are you waiting for, you sitzpinkler?

11 thoughts on “Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

  1. This is exactly how I felt about Katherine’s. I might give it another go as its been a few years since I’ve read it. Glad to find another John Geen fan! :)

  2. Great review! Very funny.

  3. This isn’t my favorite John Green book either, but I still enjoyed it. Great review.

  4. P.S. Check out the book reviews on my blog; I read a variety of genres too :)

  5. […] Insurgent by Veronica Roth The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (Classic #4) An Abundance of Katherines by John Green Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (Classic #3) The Snow by Adam Roberts New Girl by Paige Harbison […]

  6. […] shared their opinions of the book online, why don’t we check those out? The Garden of Books Pretty Books Books Devoured Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  7. I’ve just read this book,, it’s being promoted alot in my local bookshop, my name’s Katherine and so I thought there wasn’t really any better reason to read a book! I really liked it, and having never read any of John Green’s other books I wasn’t clouded by that. Even better it actually made me laugh, but not in a “this is so bad it’s good” kind of way, like lots of other YA novels do. All the characters have enough about them to keep the book going and even though he is really annoying I found myself really like Colin and his story! I

  8. […] for Alaska ● Paper Towns ● An Abundance of Katherines ● Will Grayson, Will Grayson ● The Fault in Our […]

Leave a Comment

