Classics Challenge 2012

2012 Classics Challenge
2012
Classics Challenge
I’m aiming to read one classic book per month this year. I’ve been wanting to read more classics anyway (I only read two in 2011) and I think that a quantifiable goal will help me achieve it. As per usual, I will be reviewing each book, but I’d like to emphasise that they won’t be detailed, analytical essays. I didn’t take an English Literature degree for a reason! I’ll be talking about whether or not I enjoyed the book.

I’m really looking forward to this challenge because there’s quite a few books that I’ve been meaning to read but ‘didn’t have time’ or chose genre fiction instead, whereas now I have a good excuse to fit them into my reading schedule. The first classic I will be reading is Lord of the Flies by William Golding.

Classics Read in 2012

Lord of the Flies by William Golding
★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
★★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Sketches From a Hunter’s Album by Ivan Turgenev
★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
★★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Betsy-Tacy by Maud Hart Lovelace
★★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

What Katy Did by Susan Coolidge
★★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
★★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
★★★★★ • GoodreadsBuy

Check out the 2013 Classics Challenge and 2014 Classics Challenge.

23 thoughts on “Classics Challenge 2012

  1. I loved Lord of the Flies. Frankenstein, Dr Jeckyll and Mr Hyde and Jane Eyre are all good. I have a few to read for uni so I’m reading classics anyway. Good luck!

  2. Oh, what Katy said! Frankenstein, Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, and Jane Eyre are among my favorites! (I know I’ve stated this before in a previous post comment.) My home library is nearly a classics-only library. My brother, 16, jokes if he ever needs a book for school, he’ll just go to my room and grab it.

    Looking forward to your review of Lord of the Flies! I was surprised how much I liked it when I read it. As far as analytical essay v personal opinion/enjoyment – don’t worry. I’m studying literature and analytical essays are COMPLETELY different from personal opinions. Literature academics could praise a book up and down and then state that they did not like it, regardless. I did it all the time for class :)

    • Hopefully I’ll get time to add Jane Eyre to my list! I might have to read it over 2 months, perhaps?

      I added in the personal opinion v essay part mainly for Tumblr because the people who come across my reviews on their dashboard might not realise what they’re for, so I’m going to link back to the Classics Challenge post. I just want to avoid comments like “YOU DIDN’T ADDRESS THE MAIN THEMES”, ha. I’m not expecting to get any criticism on WordPress really since bloggers will probably not expect an essay anyway!

  3. […] Faber & Faber Pages: 223 Readership: Young adult (Contentious!) Genres: Dystopia Challenge: Classics Challenge – #1 Rating: […]

  4. […] Gemma Malley All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (Classic #3) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins […]

  5. […] Publisher: Virago Press Pages: 448 Readership: Adult fiction Genres: Mystery, romance Challenge: Classics Challenge – #2 Rating: […]

  6. […] Vintage Classics Pages: 288 Readership: Adult fiction Genres: Science fiction, dystopia Challenge: Classics Challenge – #3 Rating: […]

  7. […] 180 Series: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (#1) Genres: Science fiction Challenge: Classics Challenge – #4 Rating: […]

  8. […] 3rd September 2007 (1939) Publisher: Harper Pages: 317 Readership: Adult Genres: Mystery Challenge: Classics Challenge – #5 Rating: […]

  9. […] (1852) Publisher: Penguin Books Pages: 267 Readership: Adult Genres: Russian Literature Challenge: Classics Challenge – #6 Rating: […]

  10. […] it’s the best book-to-movie adaptation I’ve seen). I’m also keeping up with my 2012 Classics Challenge. I’ve read one classic per month this year! My next one will be Fahrenheit […]

  11. […] Harper Voyager Pages: 192 Readership: Adult fiction Genres: Science fiction, dystopia Challenge: Classics Challenge – #7 Rating: […]

  12. […] October 1847 Publisher: Smith, Elder & Co. Readership: Adult fiction Genres: Gothic Challenge: Classics Challenge – #8 Rating: […]

  13. […] I was meant to have read double the amount I actually read! I’m also two books behind my 2012 Classics Challenge and four books behind my 2012 Goodreads Challenge (appropriated nicknamed […]

  14. […] 1940 Series: Betsy-Tacy (#1) Readership: Children’s fiction Genres: Classic Challenge: Classics Challenge – #9 Rating: ★★★★★ Buy: The Book Depository More: […]

  15. […] 1872 Series: Carr Family #1 Readership: Children’s fiction Genres: Classic Challenge: Classics Challenge – #10 Rating: ★★★★★ Buy: The Book Depository More: […]

  16. […] 1872 Series: Carr Family #1 Readership: Children’s fiction Genres: Classic Challenge: Classics Challenge – #10 Rating: ★★★★★ Buy: The Book Depository More: […]

  17. […] with the ‘challenge’ this year. You can see all of the classics I read in 2012 here. I’ll also link back to this page when I complete each classic this year. First up, The […]

  18. […] Adult fiction (classic, contemporary) Challenge: Classics Challenge – #11 Rating: ★★★★★ Buy: The Book Depository More: […]

  19. […] Anne of Green Gables (#1) Shelved: Children’s fiction (classic, realistic fiction) Challenge: Classics Challenge – #12 Rating: ★★★★★ Buy: The Book Depository More: […]

  20. […] challenge’ this year, alongside the 50 Book Challenge. You can see the books I read in 2012 here and in 2013 here. I’ll also link to each book review I write this year below. I now have a […]

  21. […] this year, alongside the 50 Book Challenge. You can see the classics I read in 2012 here and in 2013 here. I’ll also link to each book review I write this year below. I now have a […]

  22. […] began the Classics Challenge back in January 2012, when I read Lord of the Flies. As much as I wanted to, I didn’t love this famous […]

Leave a Comment

