My New Year’s Bookish Resolutions

My New Year's Bookish Resolutions
I rarely make New Year’s resolutions, but this year I think I’m in need of some bookish ones:

1. Use libraries more
Now, considering I do not have a well-stocked library near my house, I’m not too sure how this is going to work out, but I shall try. I’m envious of people who are able to borrow stacks of books for free while I’m buying every book I read. Do I need to own every book? No, I do not. Libraries are wonderful things so I need to make more of an effort to go to them in the event that they disappear from society completely.

2. Read one “classic” book per month
I could easily have many similar resolutions (read more adult fiction, read more children’s fiction, read more non-fiction) but one I want to do the most is read more classics. Honestly, I’m fed up of feeling ashamed when people talk about their love for a classic book and I just nod and smile because I have no idea what they’re talking about. I’m not going to read a book just because it’s a classic, but there are many already on my wishlist and “to read” list. I’ve already chosen my first two: Lord of the Flies and Rebecca.

3. Do not buy books unless they’re going to be read
I have an awful habit of buying books and not reading them for months. And those months sometimes turn into years. This is unacceptable. Stacey, the books aren’t going anywhere. So, unless a book on my wishlist is insanely inexpensive (and it’d be ridiculous to ignore it) then I’m not going to buy a book unless I plan on reading it within the next month.

4. Buy books without looking up the reviews first
Ever since joining Goodreads, I’ve been unable to buy a book without looking up the reviews/rating first. For once I’d like to purchase a book because I like the synopsis, or the book cover, or the title, or because I just feel like it, without having to take everyone else’s opinions into account.

5. Reread books
Although I’m excited about many new releases in 2012, I really want to reread some of my favourite books as well as ones I do not feel I appreciated enough the first time round. Some of these include The Book Thief, A Great and Terrible Beauty, the Wicca series by Cate Tiernan, and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

6. Keep a reading journal
I often think about what I’m going to say in a book review while I’m still reading the book. Unfortunately, these thoughts tend to disappear as soon as I attempt to write the book review. I was given a pretty notebook for Christmas in order for me to keep track of these brilliant thoughts and prevent them from going AWOL.

7. Read less, enjoy more
Now, I don’t actually think I’m going to be able to read that much less since I have a ton of review copies to review, but I would like to enjoy reading more. I’ve realised over the past few months that I’m always thinking about what I’m going to read next while reading a book. I’m always worrying about my reading schedule and worrying that I won’t be able to write a good review. This isn’t what reading is about and I’d like to go back to the days when I enjoyed reading for reading’s sake. This is going to be quite difficult, but I hope I’m able to do it.

So, that’s quite a lot of resolutions and some even contradict each other. Is there any bookish resolutions that you guys want to adhere to in 2012?

7 thoughts on “My New Year’s Bookish Resolutions

  1. I love #2. Classics are nearly all I read. “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte is my absolute favorite.
    I follow you on tumblr as well – it’ll be neat to see what you think of the classics! I’ve read the two you listed.

    • I’m really looking forward to it, but I also find it a little daunting! It’s a proper challenge, I suppose.

      Jane Eyre might be one of the classics I read this year since I already own it. I really enjoyed the latest movie adaptation. I’m also currently watching the new BBC Great Expectations adaptation.

      • The recent Jane Eyre adaptation is the best, in my opinion, at staying as true to the book as possible. Phenomenal.

        I’m from the US, but I’ve seen clips of the new BBC Great Expectations and it looks to be staying very true to the book as well. My suggestion for how to read a Dickens book: don’t read it in one sitting. It needs to be spread out across several months. He was a serial writer, each chapter was published separately from one another, weekly, like TV episodes. If you read Great Expectations or David Copperfield in one sitting, characters and plot become annoying. But if you take your time across several months (reading other books in-between several chapters), it’ll become a great read.

  2. Great goals! Number 7 is spot on for me.

  3. Completely agree with number 4! I spend alot of time on Goodreads and have gotten into the shameful habit of completely dismissing a book if it has less than 4 stars without even reading the synopsis. I have now added this to my list of resolutions, thankyou for making me realise my problem :D

  4. I know what you mean about the library! It’s crap! I actually went and donated a load of books to the library recently. But… if they haven’t got enough shelf space, they give them away to charities :I I suppose that’s not so bad, but I had some pretty good books there – doubles and popular books I just wasn’t interested in. They should clear out the shelves. Pfft.

    Also, a reading journal would be awesome! I never thought of that. I might have to look into it myself. :)

Leave a Comment

