Book Review: Dead Inside: Notes from the Zombie Apocalypse

Dead Inside

Genre: Adult fiction, horror.

Review:
I read Dead Inside on cold Friday evening, tucked up in bed with a warm blanket, during the middle of October. I should’ve probably waited until nearer Halloween to start reading, but I just couldn’t wait. The book begins with a timeline explaining to us how the zombie apocalypse began with a super flu that spread throughout the world. The book is made up of scraps of paper and photographs that a survivor collected throughout the epidemic.

After I had finished reading Dead Inside I finally understood the comparison with Post Secret and World War Z. The scrapbook has a combination of confessions and documented events, both in written and photograph form, that are often bloodied, burned, ripped or waterlogged. The confessions are honest, and sometimes heartbreaking, notes written by survivors for their loved ones, as well as maniacally-written threats from those-turned-zombie. The other scraps are notes, letters and warnings that document what it is like living in fear, being quarantined, and hiding from the zombies. I didn’t realise that some of the notes would be from the same people, telling us their story throughout the book. The notes also seem to be in chronological order, so you get real insight into what a zombie-infested world might be like. It told a sad story about what it was liking living in a world where you could trust no one.

I had assumed that the book would be aimed at young adults, probably due to the influx of zombie titles lately, but I think it’s actually aimed at adult readers as there’s a large amount of swearing (understandable, given the situation). The book is a mix of horror and humour, which worked really well. One of my favourite pages was both gruesome and hilarious at the same time. The only little problem I had with the book was that there were quite a few intentional grammatical mistakes and spelling errors. I understand that, given that the survivors probably had more pressing issues than the quality of their writing, there would be the occasional error, but it seemed too forced to feel realistic. Nonetheless, this didn’t impair my enjoyment of the scrapbook too much.

Dead Inside is a wonderfully chilling scrapbook that would make a fantastic gift for any zombie fan!

Thank you Chronicle Books for sending me a copy of this book to review.

Rating: ★★★★

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Dead Inside: Notes from the Zombie Apocalypse

  1. […] non-fiction ← Upcoming Young Adult Dystopian Titles Book Review: Dead Inside: Notes from the Zombie Apocalypse → […]

  2. The cover caught my interest. This reminds me of the Walking Dead, and as someone who watches the series, and loves horror stuff, I’m very much interested in reading the book. :) I can’t say I read through your review though, because I don’t want to know what the story’s about. But thanks for sharing this, I’m going to look for this book, see where I can purchase it locally.

    • Haha that’s OK! I sometimes skim to the end of reviews to just see what the person thought of the book overall. I should probably tell you it’s a scrapbook and not a novel though, in case you didn’t catch that.

      • Interesting! So if it must be like an epistolary novel, then much better! :) I love those kinds of novels. Now I really want to get my hands on this book.

Leave a Comment

