Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Readers

BBAW

Day 4: Readers
1. Have you discovered books you never would have apart from book blogging?

Running a book blog has meant that I’ve become a lot more open minded about what books I pick up. It showed me that I shouldn’t judge a book by its genre and so now I try to base my decision to read a book on the plot rather than its genre. Previously, I most likely would not have picked up books such as Hereafter and Paper Towns but I ended up really enjoying them! I have also recently discovered that I am able to appreciate children’s/middle grade fiction such as A Monster Calls, Liesl & Po, and Eight Keys.

I also would have hated to miss out on the young adult dystopia (and post-apocalyptic) trend since it has become one of my favourite genres.

However, I’ve been neglecting adult fiction lately. There so much great young adult fiction out there that I’ve been unintentionally dedicating all my time to it. However, I’ve named October “Adult Fiction Month” and so hopefully I’ll get to catch up on some of the wonderful adult fiction books I’ve been missing out on.

2. How has book blogging affected your book acquisition habits?

My book acquisition habits have changed in two main ways: I am now lucky enough to receive review copies of books, and I now own a Kindle and so buy ebooks as well as receive eGalleys for review.

I am extremely appreciative of the fact that publishers take book blogger seriously enough to provide us with advanced copies and final copies of books to review. It means I get to enjoy fantastic (and anticipated) books in advance in exchange for telling others about it. What’s not to like about that?

eGalleys are also one of the reasons why I bought a Kindle and I’m so glad I did. I debated buying an ereader for 6 months before I eventually did, and I was instantly impressed; e-ink is amazing. Although I will never stop buying print books, I find ebooks much easier to read on public transport during the busy rush hour.

I also base most of my purchases on other people’s recommendations and reviews, which I rarely did when I was younger. These recommendations are mainly from other book bloggers and Goodreads. I now have 135 books on my “to read” list and 205 on my “wishlist” and I’m getting through books like never before. I’m currently reading my 73rd book of the year and this is something I would never have achieved without a book blog.

4 thoughts on “Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Readers

  1. I have read a lot of books I never would have because of book bloggers. John Green is a perfect example!

  2. I’ve been neglecting adult fiction too! YA books have kind of taken over my to read bookshelf at the moment.

  3. It can be hard not to neglect one genre when you get really into another, especially if you have limited time! And the recommendations can pile up so fast that you find yourself buried in them. Not that it’s a bad thing :-)

  4. I like how bloggers have expanded my horizons.

Leave a Comment

