Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Community

BBAW
This is my first time participating in Book Blogger Appreciation Week as I only created this blog in August 2011. It’s still a baby! Nonetheless, I’ve participated a lot in the book blogging community since I also run a Tumblr blog. I’m hoping that creating this WordPress blog, and participating in events like this, will enable me to interact even more with fellow bloggers!

Day 1: Community
Today you are encouraged to highlight a couple of bloggers that have made book blogging a unique experience for you. Stay positive and give back to the people who make the community work for you!

First of all, I’m going to name some of my favourite Tumblr blogs:

/bookshelves
Although I don’t think we’ve ever spoken, bookshelves was my inspiration behind creating a book blog. It was the first Tumblr book blog that I ever followed. I just thought to myself “Oh! That looks like something I’d love to do”, and 1 year, 9 months later, we’re both still going.

/thereadables
Priscilla’s a wonderful YouTube book blogger (er, vlogger!) that I only really began to appreciate properly recently. I’m an impatient person and long book review videos were not something I’d ever felt the urge to watch, but Priscilla’s are extremely enjoyable. Every time I watch one of her videos, I feel like I’m getting a mini lesson on how give succinct yet thorough book reviews. She’s also very funny and probably the only person I’ve ever actually been able to identify as Canadian and not American.

/theYUNiversity

Although I read a lot of books, my grammar isn’t perfect. The YUNiversity is a fun way to improve your grammar. If it weren’t for them, I still wouldn’t know how to correctly use “John and I” and “John and me”.

/noseinabook
Emma’s one of my favourite book bloggers on Tumblr because we have such a similar taste in book photographs and quotations as well as books themselves. We always seem to indirectly get book recommendations from each other. Although we’ve not spoken much (Tumblr does not offer much in the way of conversation), her blog is one of the ones I actually make an effort to visit daily.

And as for non-Tumblr book bloggers:

/lvngbooks
Daph is one of the first (non-Tumblr) book bloggers that I began following and one that I communicate with frequently. She’s extremely easy to talk to and I enjoy following her on Twitter and commenting on her blog posts. If I have a book-related question or issue, she’s the one I go to. We also share a love of dystopian novels!

/presentinglenore
Luckily for me, I discovered Lenore’s blog mid-way through Dystopian February. I was absolutely thrilled to discover a blog dedicated to one of my (new) favourite genres. Lenore fuelled my love of dystopian and post-apocalyptic fiction and for that I am endlessly grateful.

I also, of course, love each and every Tumblr, WordPress and Blogger blog that I follow. I never imagined I’d be able to participate in a community where reading and a love of books was valued instead of mocked.

9 thoughts on “Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Community

  1. Only one month old and already participating! I love it. Welcome to the community. I can’t wait to go explore your site.

  2. not aware of any of these, so a big thanks for the introduction.

  3. Always wanted to visit London, England. What a dream vacation that would be. Sounds like great blogs you’ve listed.. I’ve never heard of any of them. But that gives me a chance to check them out. Thanks for sharing and introducing them.

    Happy BBAW!

    Hope to stay connected.

    New follower.

  4. all of the blogs you mention are new to me-the book blog community is just so huge now

    Hi, I am stopping by from the Philippines to visit your blog via the list of posts for Day one

    Please Stop by My Blog if you Like

  5. Love your blog! I don’t follow any tumblogs (is that even a word?), so I’m glad that you are spotlighting some of them! I’m off to check them out!

Leave a Comment

